We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant surprize” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peachtree Inn

Save Saved
You added Peachtree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peachtree Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1187 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very pleasant surprize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was neat and clean. Bathroom nice size. Staff was great. Great bang for the buck. We will definitely stay again when in Kingston! Location is a three minute drive from downtown. We prepaid and saved another 15 percent. Parking is plentiful and there are restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we value you opinion and have passed this onto our staff. We look forward to having your return to the Peachtree Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    43
    19
    21
See reviews for
40
38
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here in for two nights in early May. I initially had a room at the back but changed this as some of the lights weren't working, this done with no fuss at all and I had a room at the front of the hotel which was of a slightly better (and newer) standard. It's a no thrills stop gap type of place overall, it serves a purpose for one or two nights and that's enough, I don't think gives any illusion of luxuary but I've stayed in (a lot) worse places. The location was good for car drivers (plenty of parking), the breakfast buffet was pretty basic to be honest but there's nothing there would kill you if you eat it and the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly - booking a taxi for a 5.30am pickup was no bother at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, not at the rear of the hotel - they tended to be slightly better qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we value your opinion and take your comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was late at night and the Peachtree Inn was recommended to us by another hotel that had no rooms. It turned out to be great. Not only were the rooms clean and comfortable, but the free breakfast was delicious, the staff was kind and the rate was reasonable. It wasn't fancy, but we didn't need fancy, we needed comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we look forward to having you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I as well as one of my daughters and her family had occasion to stay at the Inn and we can say without any reservations it surpassed our expectations and we will definitely stay here again when we visit our other daughter who lives in Kingston. The staff were very, very friendly and accommodating. Our rooms were much more spacious than expected and while the bed was older it was still very comfortable. My only suggestion would be regarding the continental breakfast which is included. If you could add a waffle maker it would be very much appreciated. Other than that everything was fresh and plentiful. We also found the rate per room quite reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we value your comments and make sure we pass them on to the appropriate departments. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is by far the worst I have stayed in over my years of travel, whether it be sports teams or business. Walls were paper thin, management didnt handle complaints period. The room itself is the only marginal thing about this hotel. I set up a trip for a sports team. Each room had credit cards for each individual room and not a single noise complaint from anyone in the hotel. I was the go to if there was and nothing was forwarded to me, not a call not a knock on the door. NOTHING. I will also point out there was one other sports team in the hotel that night. Yet upon check out, reception tried to charge me for 3 additional rooms because they had so many complaints. I repeat, no calls were made, no complaints were made, and no other rooms were charged or called either for that matter. Management could not say what rooms were loud, not that it was even one of our rooms.

After several attempts this hotel is yet to return a call after numerous messages. Poor hotel, Worse management.

I hope this hotel closes, this is not what anyone should have to go through regardless of price.
Dispicable.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. Walls paper thin. Literally. Hear every word from every conversation in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
This guest booked a block of rooms for a rugby team and guaranteed and paid for the rooms with his credit card. On the second night of the stay the team became highly intoxicated causing noise disturbances throughout the hotel including a couple of rooms who were staying to attend a funeral.

Due to the unruly behaviour the team was asked to pay for two rooms that were unable to obtain any sleep despite the staff trying to control the drunken team.

The hotel
Manager was present at checkout and was told by the guest he would be calling a lawyer. The team leader continued to threaten legal action when contacted by the sales manager and the manager already having dealt with the situation would not be calling to be verbally abused.

At the Peachtree Inn unruly behaviour will NOT be tolerated without consequence so if you are looking for a hotel to party in this is not the place for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Expensive, $155.00 for a run down, dark, dingy room, and the sun was shining. Drapes hanging off the rod, stunk of damp, felt damp, window dripping water. From the first phone call I had an awful sense of what was to come. There were no other options, the city was booked up & mine was an emergency trip. There was no customer service. Not a thank you, how was you stay, please come again. Complimentary breakfast was less than sparse with no presentation. Stale muffins, bagels from the bag, fruit consisted of oranges cut in wedges. On the positive, the Best Western Fireside is next door with two great options for better and casual dinning. My daughter & I had a great meal together at the Bistro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we would really like to get to the bottom of the issues you had, as we have always prided ourselves with the Customer Service we offer. Please contact me

Betty Ann Desharnais
Sales Manager

613-546-4411
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second stay at the Peachtree. An older, a bit run-down hotel that is badly in need of an update. Certainly, excellent value for the money (we were given a fantastic rate for booking two successive nights). Breakfast (included!) was marginal - sort of what you'd expect in your own kitchen if your stove was broken. (Toast, bagel, jam, peanut butter, cereal, coffee). Very old & noisy in-room HVAC; ancient TV (with funny colours); poor in-room lighting; incredibly old and uncomfortably soft beds. On the bright side, an absolutely excellent shower! (Very important to me.)

The hotel is located not far from the centre of town and includes in-door parking. Given the much higher costs of other Kingston hotels, I'd certainly return - but hope that they soon replace those dreadful mattresses!

As I said in the headline, it *was* clean! Old - but clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we value you comments and are taking corrective action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peachtree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peachtree Inn

Address: 1187 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Peachtree Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peachtree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peachtree Hotel Kingston
Peachtree Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peachtree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.