We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, and the price is low” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peachtree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peachtree Inn to your Saves list
Peachtree Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1187 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, and the price is low”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have probably stayed at this hotel twenty times over the years, and every time I check out, I tell myself I'm not coming back. But I come back, because it's very handy to my destination and because the rates are low. And, well, there's nothing absolutely terrible about it. It's just bleak and cheap and lacking in little comforts.

I know the management can't easily do anything about the steps up to the front door from the parking lot, or the awkwardly spaced pillars in the covered garage that leads into a shabby hallway to the elevator. But so many of the other failures could be different without pushing up the cost, especially if the improvements resulted in a little boost in what's generally a very, very low occupancy. There could be bathroom fans that don't sound like jet aircraft revving up. There could be a banana or an apple with breakfast, even if meat and eggs are out of the question. There could be lamps on both sides of the bed (and somewhere in the room there could be a light bright enough to read by). There could be an extra outlet or a power bar so it's possible to have the coffee-maker and a computer plugged in at the same time. There could be a comforter on the bed that looks like a soft comforter. Maybe there could even be higher bandwidth for the wifi.

And surely something could be done to send a jolt of adrenalin through the people and systems responsible for registration. I'm not sure I have ever gone through a stay at the Peachtree without some small problem in that department, from reservation software that didn't work to arbitrary changes in the loyalty card program.

Most of all, when people send comments to the management -- especially in response to an e-mail survey that asks for comments -- the management could consider responding.

So: it's mediocre. And yet I know I'll be back. It's nearby, it's cheap, and I have to stress that it's clean (except for the heating and cooling unit in the room I occupied this visit, ecch) and the hot water is hot. Maybe the Peachtree has an inferiority complex because the Best Western is right next door?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and we are taking your comments to heart and are always working on improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed here in the summer for 2 nights. Our room was very clean and confortable. The staff was very helpful at all hours. We needed extra towels late one night and the front desk gentleman was very helpful. It was also a bonus to be able to have breakfast at the hotel each day!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy that we were able to offer you a Great Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We got a great price to stay one night at this hotel through online bidding. If we had paid full price, I would not have considered this hotel to be any kind of value at all. It was hard to get luggage up the stairs entering the lobby, to be fair, I did not ask for help, so I don't know if they offer any alternative to this. If there was a ramp, I didn't see it. Our room was O.K., seemed to be fairly clean, and the beds were just allright. The air conditioner worked fine, but the hallways were very stuffy and hot.The included breakfast was sparse. The hotel has alot of windows by the entry way that all could use a good washing. The staff at the desk were helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevator, as this is the only way to get off of the above floors. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umfoofoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We Thank you for taking the time to review the Peachtree Inn, we do offer a ramp in our under groud parking facility with elevators up to your floor, as well as staff being more then willing to help any guest in need, windows are done on a weekly basis and have been done as of yesterday. We will pass on your compliments to our Front Desk Staff, and take your comments with regards to breakfast and look at different options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the worst place i have ever stayed. I would have prefered to stay in my car it would have been more comfotable. The first room they gave us was dirty, bed not made towels on the floor. Next room shower didn't work light in bathroom took ten minutes to warm up, walls so thin you can hear every word from the rooms on both sides door lock only works when it wants so you spend ten minutes tryn to get in your room, the rooms smell like dirty hookers, the bed was broken and would make horrific noises when you roll over. If i worked here i would be emberresed and the manager Jennifer thats the biggest joke of them all she offered me ten dollars for my inconvience hahahaha ten dollars off on over 300 dollar stay in a roach hotel. Do yourself a favor stay somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Killerkrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I have waited for this review as this guest promised to "slaughter the hotel" on the internet after staying for three days with no issues presented until checkout and yelling and swearing at the staff and making a scene in the Lobby in a bid to get a huge discount.

An error upon check in was made and an uninspected room was assigned. This was corrected right away and no further issues were presented during the three day stay. Nothing was brought to the attention of the front desk or any staff including the housekeepers. While checking out a laundry list of issues were presented.

We are more than happy to correct and assist any of our guests with problems/issues they may have but it is difficult to do this if nothing is mentioned over the course of the stay.

To say the room smelled of dirty hookers is extremely unfair, this is a smell most people aren't familiar with.

At the Peachtree Inn we are a two star hotel providing for travellers on a budget. Our room rates are reflective of this. Our staff is more than helpful and jump at the chance to help any of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otranto, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The walls are paper thin; we could hear our neighbours talking even though they were not speaking that loudly. The air conditioning units are clunky and loud. Don't expect to sleep well.

Breakfast was a fiasco. The food was acceptable but they were woefully unprepared for the number of guests (they were sold out). People waited 15 - 20 minutes for coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are sorry you feel this way, at anytime we are more then willing to move any guest that has a problem with their room, we appologize for the breakfast, that is not our normal level of service. Your comments are taking serious and help us to improve. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again at the Peachtree Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room key working in the door and internet are unreliable. Breakfast was served in a very unappetizing room, killed my appetite.The bed had the two of us rolling into the middle, very uncomfortable. The windows do not open but the room was large. The staff was pleasant. We refer a hotel a little closer to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of our qualities and faults so that we may better serve you and our other guest next time.....room keys can be very tricky and if they get touched by a cell phone can be de magnitized which will affect the use of your room key and can be very frustrating to our guest, our Internet is run by Cogeco and some firewalls are set up that add on pages are not allowed which can affect access. We are very pleased to annouce that the Breakfast Room is recieving an over haul tomorrow and that is also exciting to us as well! We will pass on to our staff your very kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This is more an budgetmotel than an hotel. This hotel can use an update. Rooms are nice, but this hotel is situated to far from downtown Kingston. The hall for breakfast is more an canteen, without personnel. Didn't give you a warm comfortable place to have you're breakfast

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Peachtree Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, this helps us to insure our guest receive the best possible customer service. We are centrally located in Kingston and about 4 KM from the downtown and the waterfront. I am very surprised with you breakfast comments and will look into why there was no staff as we always have 2 staff members positioned in this room.
We are also pleased to inform you that our Breakfast Room is being tranformed with all new carpets and plants and wall hangings to offer you a warmer experience. Again Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Motel 6 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
#1 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Kingston
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Green Acres Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peachtree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peachtree Inn

Address: 1187 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Peachtree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Peachtree Inn Kingston! For your upcoming visit to the area, choose the most comfortable, well-appointed of all the hotels in Kingston. Here you will find meeting and event space, all the amenities you want and so much more - choose the Peachtree Inn! Our Kingston Hotel's Amenities Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary High-Speed Internet Complimentary Parking Pet Friendly (up to 200 lbs) In-Room Dining Area In-Room Coffee and Tea Maker Mini-Refrigerator We are located near downtown Kingston, putting you in the best possible location for business, leisure or a bit of both. You'll find copious dining and shopping spots, as well as entertainment options for the entire family. The rooms and suites of The Peachtree Inn are spacious, impeccably clean and perfect for your Kingston area stay. We also offer loft suites equipped with a fireplace for the relaxing Kingston hotel getaway you've imagined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Peachtree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peachtree Hotel Kingston
Peachtree Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing