We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Oakes Motel

Save Saved
You added Seven Oakes Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Oakes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2331 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada (Waterloo Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good budget motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here and don't understand the bad reviews. We paid very little for the room and were very happy with everything. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and there was a fridge in the room. Only criticism was no coffee making facility in the room or alternatively in reception, but only a five minute walk to Tim Hortons for coffee. The owner was very helpful and is obviously proud of the hard work needed to keep the motel running well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    21
    14
    21
See reviews for
51
55
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

the place is simple but the staff is extremely helpfull and nice. helped us with a booking problem we had and were kind and very nice.the place is not at the center but has restaurants and supermarket nearby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Ideally we were looking for a place in Gananoque we couldn't find vacany. Seven Oakes was the next closest location for us and it served its purpose: didn't break the bank, was clean and we had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Visited Sept 1st and Sept 7-8.

This is a very nice motel, run by very nice people.

They call themselves "the personal touch motel" and it's true. Depending on the person, this can be seen as an advantage or as a disadvantage. If one is accustomed to large hotel/motel chains whose rooms and furniture are all absolutely identical to eachother, they might feel this motel is out of sorts. But in reality, I found this place to be very clean, the housekeeping and reception services to be just as good as at a more expensive motel, and the rooms overall comfortable, spacious and accomodating.

Amenities:
- medium-to-large sized television
- refridgerator
- air conditioning unit
- sink inside and outside of bathroom

The only thing I would have liked to see is a coffeepot or water kettle, but that's something I can live without. I recommend this as a place with good rates and as someplace that is within a ten minute's drive, but away from the noise and commotion, of the downtown Kingston area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just spent a night here on Sept. 1st 2012 and we were pleasantly supprised with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, and the PRICE of the room. Our room was very clean, towels were a bit aged but clean none the less, and they soaked up the water off my skin as they were intended to do. These people crying about old furniture and sand paper towels need to quit crying and go rent a room for $300 somewhere instead of being cheap and paying $100. FOR THE MONEY our room was absolutely great and we WILL be returning on our next trip to Kingston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

During my stay I was quoted one price and charged another, I was told I was wrong/lying, and charged this new price anyways. It appears this happens a lot!

This motel is just plain shabby, and there seems to be a language barrier in regards to communication.

I felt very defeated by all of the above mentioned, and headed home a day early.

The floor of the pool is cratered concrete and the crevaces are brown...lined with dirt, you could easily cut your foot. There was a rotten grape in my sink, I killed an ant, the towels are like sand paper, the floor was dirty, and although the mattresses were new, NO TOP SHEET!

The customer is always right simply does not apply at this establishment, overall... A disappointment

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

When I called to book she assured me a "special rate for you". $99.00 a night for a jacuzzi suite....

Upon arrival she lost my reservations, I had to wait 45 minutes for my room and the price was jacked up to $119.00!

Should have turned around there, but in we went. Here's a list of the Rooms finest points:
Thick white film over tiled floor
Ancient jelly bean under desk
Missing lightbulbs
No fitted sheets, flat sheet instead ( woke up on the filthy mattress)
Dirty mirrors
0.5 ply toilet paper
Dirty light switch covers/lampshades
Cigarette holes in bedding

The pool was dirty, and I mean dirty. We didnt swim, and that was something I was really looking forward to.

It's far removed from the city centre, but close to the mall.

Hated it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7OakesMotel, Manager at Seven Oakes Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hello JLBHES,

It appears that you have made a mistake. We never rent any Jacuzzi rooms for $99. Our lowest price for a Jacuzzi, during any season, is $119. We also did not lose your reservation. When you arrived at the office, we allowed you to check in right away. You did not have to wait 45 minutes.

As to concerns over the mattress and the pool, our beds are brand new. We have recently replaced the majority of our mattresses. Our pool is also very clean. During the summer, a lot of people were very happy with our pool.

We're sorry to hear your stay was not pleasant.

Seven Oakes Motel
The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Oakes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oakes Motel

Address: 2331 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Waterloo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Oakes Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Seven Oakes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oakes Motel
Seven Oakes Hotel Kingston
Seven Oakes Kingston
Seven Oakes Motel Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Oakes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.