We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, courteous, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Oakes Motel

Save Saved
You added Seven Oakes Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Oakes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2331 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada (Waterloo Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, courteous, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good motel for Kingston. Friendly & very helpful staff; owners are very accommodating.

Good location, right on main thoroughfare close to many restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Motel was quiet & very clean. Good spacious room, overlooking quiet park/playground. Pool very refreshing, clean, not crowded, just perfect for the kids.

Price is afforadable, better than other hotel chains for similar rooms. Would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Seems all rooms are good & clean, we went with a group & saw other rooms. Entire property w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    21
    14
    21
See reviews for
51
55
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Have stayed here on a few occasions, the rooms are clean, lots of parking, close to breakfast spots and Timmies!! The owners are hard working and accommodating. Really good rates, rooms are very comfortable ... This is a real find!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

At around half the price of its rivals, we were very pleasantly surprised. The room is exactly what you would expect from a mid-range motel. The rooms were well laid out, the bathroom was functional. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were far enough from the road to maintain a modicum of quiet.
Negatives: The A/C was old and noisy - but not unmanageably so.
The TV was old, but we didn't use it.

Note: WiFi is available, but you need to ask for it.

Room Tip: Ask for WiFi - if you need it. Call ahead if you plan to arrive late
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

#be honest you get what you pay for and those who have given this place a bad rap, well its not the Hilton and its not 5 star ... but its cheap, cheerful, clean and the staff are helpful. I have stayed in many motels in my time and those in chains are some of the worst, this was a surprise... large room, full size fridge, nice bath, two sinks !

#there are things i would improve like more space to hang clothing, one rack was not enough, but i guess we were not here a week, but one night...

#one thing i did like was the bed. very comfortable.

#great being near a supermarket, when your on a budget with a family

Room Tip: not sure which a better, have to say i was surprised how quiet the place was ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

As everyone has said, good value for the money. Room was clean, everything worked and bed was pretty good, though perhaps a touch soft for my taste. Place doesn't look like much from outside, nor as one drives in. No ice machines. No amenities. No breakfast. No microwave. Way out of downtown, and traffic up and down Princess St. is terrible. But if you understand that going in, you'll be quite satisfied with what you get for the price. I would stay here again with no qualms at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently spent one night here, after an absence of a few years. In the past we have used this location on several occasions. The hotel owners are very hospitable and friendly people. This is a "Mom and Pop" operation. They take prode in their ownership and do their best to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are a bit dated, but functional and most importantly clean. If you want fancier furnishings with a large flat screen television... then look elsewhere and pay a lot more.... this is great value for the dollar, and is clean and quiet. The only negative comment is I wish the rooms had room darkening drapes... I do not like sunlight at five in the morning. The mattress was new and the most comfortable one I had slept on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Inexpensive, super clean, quiet and well kept, lots of place to organize gear. Bed was very comfortable with big pillows and wonderful, pressed, full coton pillowcases. Also loved having 2 sinks and fridge. Staff were really helpful. Not far from train station. Would stay there again and have recommended it to many other cyclist friends and family members.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Oakes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oakes Motel

Address: 2331 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Waterloo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Oakes Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Seven Oakes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oakes Motel
Seven Oakes Hotel Kingston
Seven Oakes Kingston
Seven Oakes Motel Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Oakes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.