We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of General Wolfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added General Wolfe Hotel to your Saves list
General Wolfe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1237 Main Street | P.O.Box 100, Kingston, Ontario KOH 2Y0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

Well, I can not believe this place is still operating. We were interested in finding a quant place to stay on Wolfe Island for the weekend. When I talked to "Mustaffa", the owner, he definitely played up his establishment. We originally planned to stay at the Brown's Bay Inn (an excellent choice), and decided to try The General Wolfe based on "Mustaffa's" glowing review of his place. If you read the other reviews on this hotel/dump, I have to agree. The registration desk is in a smokey bar, where you have to try to find someone to serve you...and hopefully they aren't drunk! The people in the bar are definitely the "dreggs" of Wolfe Island. The room..pathetic. Really tacky decore, down a dark hallway. My wife refused to stay. I agree with the other review, I was worried about my car being stolen from the parking lot. I called the Wolfe Island Tourism Office and suggested they remove him from their web site as this is really not a hotel they would want to represent Wolfe Island. The web site is a blatant misrepresentation. With regards to the food at the restaurant, I saw the person prepaing the food....hygiene was not high on their list of importance!! Avoid this place and tell all your friends about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
6
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

This is a mixed review on our stay at the General Wolfe. The first impression was terrible. You register in the smokey bar area and have to hunt for someone who knows what they are doing. Then we were led down several dark corridors to our room. The room was very clean and modern except you can't drink the water and the management charges $1.40 for bottled water! The next morning, we wanted to check out and catch the first ferry at 7:45 am but couldn't find anyone and all the doors to the bar, restaurant were locked.
We tried the restaurant for supper and once again, had mixed reviews. The rolls were so salty that they were inedible. The meal was good, service was very slow-1 hour before we got the entry. After the meal, I checked the bill and found that they charged us 75 cents for each glass of water. After complaining, that charge was removed.
We will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, president at General Wolfe Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2004
We have not promised the Ritz for an average room rate of $80, we don`t have crystal chandaliers or marble floors,bell boys, elevators or even a reception desk for our nine rooms.However these rooms are superbly furnished and very clean, with a spectacular view of the St. Lawrence river. As far the bottled water is concerned, a customer will have to pay for it, not only at this establishment but everywhere else as well.
The general Wolfe is famous for it`s cuisine and to eat there you should distinguish between an entry and an entree. while your food is being prepared just sit back and enjoy the beatiful sunset and the Kingston skyline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to General Wolfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Wolfe Hotel

Address: 1237 Main Street | P.O.Box 100, Kingston, Ontario KOH 2Y0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — General Wolfe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your General Wolfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Wolfe Kingston
General Wolfe Hotel Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Wolfe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.