We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boat trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston 1000 Islands Cruises

Kingston 1000 Islands Cruises
263 Ontario St., Kingston, Ontario K7K 2X5 , Canada (Downtown Kingston)
+1 (0) 613 549 5544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 activities in Kingston
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Fakenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“boat trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

a 3 hour trip with lunch, great if the weather is good, it was for us,try a reserve a table for lunch next to the windows to get the best views from this paddle steamer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    16
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Expected A Lot More...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We took the 90 minute cruise and felt that we paid too much for what was offered. Here's our take:

Pros:
- Saw surrounding area of Kingston shoreline and harbour especially Wolf Island
- Recorded commentary was OK, but rambled in some instances; is it too much to ask for a live person to give the commentary?

Cons:
- Way too expensive for what you get; no seniors discount except on weekdays
- Would have liked more live commentary from Captain; he came on once to tell value of a house for sale
- Tour should be called Kingston 5 Islands Tour since we didn't see much (granted 90 minutes can't go too far, but still...)
- Crew didn't manage boarding of boat; lots of members from a tour grouped jumped the cue
- Could not hear some of the commentary due to people talking

Tip: avoid the 1pm time slot on weekends as it seems to be the most popular. The 11am and 3pm didn't seem to have half as many people as the 1pm.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“If you like boat rides.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I took the sunset discovery cruise; which did not have the buffet. I wouldt recommend it, unless you really want to just sit and kill time. Probably it would be a better idea to skip this one. There was no guide or anything just an automated tape playing and taking us around some little island.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went on the 1000 islands cruise - lunch buffet included, 3 hours-ish tour last week. Service at the buffet was great. We had Tom as our server and he was at our care the whole time. There is no guide as they play an automated tape on the loud speakers as we go past the islands and fort Henry. Sometimes it was hard to hear unfortunately. I would definitely suggest the company to have a live tour guide to engage the audience more. The buffet was very basic - a salad bar, chicken, pasta, rice and stew beef. What I enjoyed about the buffet is that after the boat goes past fort henry, there is pretty much nothing until you reach the 1000 islands, so it is great to sit down and enjoy food and drinks. The second deck is reserved for the people who have the buffet, so if you are not looking forward to being under the sun for 3 hours, the second deck is a great spot to enjoy the ride.
There is a live music band which was pretty cool. They played great music but was a little bit loud. The facts about the houses on the islands were interesting. I would totally recommend this cruise.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If one visits the 1000 island area a boot tour is mandatory. There are several places to choose as starting point and probably Kingston is not the best, since it at the verge od the island area. Still we tookmthe 90 minute tour which was half river half lake and enjoyed it a lot. The guide was not live but from a tape. Still it was done very well, giving a good impression on the history of this area there Canada and USA border.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston 1000 Islands Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Kingston 1000 Islands Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston 1000 Islands Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kingston 1000 Islands Cruises to your Saves list