We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to eat in Kingston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Right Spot

Right Spot
171 Wellington Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3E3, Canada (Downtown Kingston)
+1 613 5460767 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 369 Restaurants in Kingston
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Kingston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Mom and pop place. Do not miss the great food. The place has been open since 1977 and the prices are from that time. We had a great breakfast and paid less for the five of us than anywhere else in Canada for just one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, ON
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Extremely good value, but a dismal little spot.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have a friend who eats at this decrepit little diner several times weekly and swears by its Greek food and dessert offerings. The prices are extremely low, so for a daily lunch option its certainly affordable.

I've been a couple of times and enjoyed the dolmades and Greek salads. But the sandwiches are dull - straight from the 50s and the whole place feels in need of a good clean.

Takeout Greek food is probably your best option if you're keen to try their food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nothing to do with food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The ranking has nothing to do with the food, but with the fact that this place is a living museum of what Canadian (Kingston) restaurants used to be. Same menu, same decor, same mom and pop owners for decades. And maybe even same prices; previous reviewers correctly point out that the breakfast is a great deal.
The flowers in the window have always lost their petals, there are few customers, but those who cherish having a look at how things were should reward the owners by patronizing this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and delicious breakfast food....under-priced menu....very low”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I took my family here for brekfast and was surprised by the cozy feel. The decor is outdated, but the business has been run by this friendly married couple for years. They were very friendly and the food was delicious. We $4...no joke! Very inexpensive. We will be going back. Lovely feel.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old Family Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Old Snack Bar Style restaurant with a feel of family. This place is owned and operated by a very nice greek couple who after the first visit will remember your name. They will take your order and remember it to the "T" without ever writing it down. Meals/Food are all hand prepared and fresh. Always friendly and polite. The Front of the restaurant offers some home grown herb plants and flowers for sale as well as offer a nice fresh and realistic scenery.
Prices are very inexpensive (80's) and her Pies are the best I've had.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Right Spot also viewed

 

Been to Right Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Right Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.