We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arigatou gozaimashita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sima Sushi

Sima Sushi
66 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A5, Canada
+1.613.542.8040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 347 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Arigatou gozaimashita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My first time at Sima (the upper Princess St. location) and enjoyed a wonderful katsu chicken bento box for lunch. Excellent price, excellent service, delicious lunch. I will definitely be back for more, and will surely be bringing friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My favourite sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This spot is my favourite sushi restaurant in Kingston, hands down. The drawback really is that they have a tiny seating area, and they are almost always packed, so I usually get take-out. They've recently opened a second location called Sima Kitchen which I have yet to try out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good sushis and sashimis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Downtown Kingston, this restaurant is one of the best for sushis and Japanese seafood. We went for lunch and price was very reasonable. The fish was fresh and the way it was served was appealing. We will return for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Almost too good to share!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm reluctant to tell people about this restaurant because it's already popular, and if it becomes more so, it will be more difficult to eat there.

Sima is a small place, with tables for two and for four. Try to get one of the two window tables, and watch the world go by on Princess.

Students love this place because it is extraordinarily inexpensive for the quality of food served. On a recent visit I had miso soup (possibly from a mix); a perfect seaweed salad, and maki (six pieces) along with green tea, for a total charge of $10.06. That is unbeatable!

Sushi, sashimi, and teriyaki are the main foods on offer at Sima. All are excellently prepared. If you have a yen (so to speak) for more varied Japanese food, you won't find it here, but what Sima does, it does very well. The service is efficient, attentive, and unobtrusive. However, there is a tendency to try to move customers through the meal quickly, especially at lunch time. I assume this must be how Sima makes money, if it does: By serving customers quickly and making room for more.

There are several Japanese wines and beers on the menu, but if you want Western-style wine, you have a choice between only two reds and two whites.

Sima is very friendly and welcoming. I like the fact that even the cooks greet customers both as they arrive and as they leave. Sima is deservedly popular; if you like sushi or sashimi, don't miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Kingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sima's sushi is definitely the best sushi place in Kingston. The staff is friendly and the food is great! The Sundae roll is definitely my favourite!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sima Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sima Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sima Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.