We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sima Sushi

Sima Sushi
66 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A5, Canada
+1.613.542.8040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 369 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Sima Sushi is a great restaurant. The service is always warm and friendly. The portions are good and fresh. I really love this place. I can confidently say that they have the best sushi in Kingston for sure (been to many many sushi places in Kingston and Sima is the best).

Yum!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was looking for great suishi and I found it. I personally found the rolls / portions a little large, but hard to complain about too much. Service was excellent. I will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fast, Fresh and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I found ourselves coming back to Sima many times during our two week stay in Kingston. We initially weren't expecting much as we lived in Japan for 7 years and finding fresh sushi and sashimi outside of Japan is not a given. We were pleasantly surprised at Sima however. Everything is incredibly fresh, the service is friendly and attentive (tea is regularly topped up and the timing of the soup, salad and main are perfect) and the atmosphere is cosy. We especially liked how the rice that they use for the nigiri sushi is portioned perfectly--not the massive rice balls that you often find at North American sushi restaurants. The lunch menu is excellent value. We would highly recommend you try this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I have now been here several times, with various friends from Ottawa, Toronto and Montreal, and everyone is very pleased with the experience here. The food is excellent, great quality fish and nice presentations. You can get very good value for you money here and eat very well. The staff are really excellent, wait staff are friendly, polite, attentive even when it gets busy which it does. The sushi chefs are skillful and friendly, and make sure to thank them out loud when you leave if you enjoyed their skill. I always look forward to going back to Sima, you won't go wrong there either. Not yet up to the standard of Guu in Vancouver, but I'm totally satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Kingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic sushi/rolls/sashimi. Quick, efficient and friendly service. Nice atmosphere and great location. Sima Sushi is hands-down our favourite Japanese restaurant in Kingston. They are very welcoming of children and families. The owners are opening a second restaurant - Sima Kitchen - that will focus on "cooked" Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sima Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sima Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sima Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.