We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and harbour view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Johnson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 5H7, Canada (Formerly Kingston Waterfront Hotel) (Downtown Kingston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location and harbour view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast not included, but there are several places to walk out to and the hotel's aptly named AquaTerra restaurant serves excellent french toast. Quick elevator service; fridge, coffee maker and Bodum kettle in the room; two fast, large screened computers in the business centre and free daily newspapers added greatly to the enjoyment and comfort of our stay. Wonderful view of New Year's Eve fireworks and ever changing harbour are most memorable. Would return to Kingston just to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    72
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
70
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a suite for me and my 3 sisters. The 2-bedroom suite suited us perfectly. We had lots of choices for shopping and dining - all within walking distance. One of us loves to swim, so the indoor pool was a big hit. All told, a great weekend at a good price.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delta has done a wonderful job of turning this former Ramada on the most scenic vantage point in Kingston into one of the best hotel experiences in Eastern Canada. I stayed at the Ramada 20 years ago and always appreciated the location. Delta's touch has made the room quality just as good as the view. This is where Lake Ontario meets the Rideau River and the path of the St Lawrence begins. The rooms are now immaculate and well designed. There are a few other Kingston waterfront hotels but none have the best combination of view and room quality. Easy walking distance to many amazing restaurants and attractions. My one beef is the $18 daily parking fee (this is Kingston and not Toronto/ Ottawa/ Montreal).

Room Tip: South side has the best lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got snowed in in Kingston while en route back to Toronto from Montreal; booked through a third-party website yielding a pretty impressive room rate. Upon check-in we were informed that due to being low-staffed on New Years Day we would have no options in room selection, upgrades, etc... though the king-sized bed upgrade would be $10 (seems silly).

Room was clean, bathroom was gorgeous... harbourfront view wasn't anything spectacular as apparently only first and second floor rooms were available. Bed was comfortable and the cable channels came in handy as a solid alternative to battling the snow outside.

Bartender in the lobby bar was disappointingly ill-informed when it came to details about beers on tap - local/microbrews, tasting notes, etc - he did know a lot about training dogs, though! Emily, restaurant management, was super helpful in suggesting an alternative drink / late night food stop just across the street.

Rooms aren't very well sound-proofed.... neighbouring kids' shrieks were an unpleasant alarm clock.

Room Tip: Choose an end-unit on a higher floor with a view of the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times and just spent New Years Eve In a flex room with a Murphy bed. We have always been thrilled with our accommodation but found this stay unpleasant. We could not have the fireplace on as it was broken, the TV would not go down into its compartment once it was up so it interfered with the view of fireworks. The rug had stains all over it which was unsightly! The room looks worn out and needs updating. The staff are absolutely wonderful and helpful. The pool area was very dirty looking and not inviting. Hopefully the changes get made to update and freshen the rooms as the view in the rooms is second to none.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaKingston, General Manager at Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tina C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us New Year's Eve.
I am very sorry to hear that you encountered issues with the fireplace/t.v. and that you found the room and pool area in need of attention.

We take our guest's comments and concerns very seriously and I can assure you that we are addressing the concerns that you have brought to our attention.

I am delighted, however, to hear that you continue to recognize what exceptional staff we here at the Delta Kingston and I truly appreciate you mentioning that in your feedback.

I am confident that on your next stay with us you will once again be 'thrilled' with your experience.

Sincerely,

Greg Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Company Christmas party was a winner from the beginning: parking was convenient and you couldn't ask for a better location, great for last minute browse downtown while my husband went for a swim. Then back to the Hotel bar which has been recently updated and is very classy.

Our party room was comfortable with a fantastic view of the harbour! the food was amazing and the staff was friendly and there when you needed them. Slept like a baby - would recommend this to anyone looking for accommodation in downtown Kingston!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

the newly renovated Radisson Kingston is now the Delta Kingston Waterfront. as the name implies this is right on the waterfront which gives a nice view but the hotel is not high so the view is not far. very modern and clean. the location is prime, near the busy pub/restaurant district. walkable to the Grand Theatre as well. full restaurant and bar open late although I did not try it while I was here. the bathrooms are big and the room size is generous. HVAC is digital and not too noisy. media block in the desk has various connections to the television. WIFI is free with a passcode. hallways are wide and rooms were quiet. only two elevators but not a lot of floors so the wait was average. fridge in-room. front staff was friendly and professional. breakfast is continental or order-only, no buffet and not included in room rate. The pattern in the room carpet (rm124) was already worn out, maybe it hasn't been replaced from the Radisson. The only inconvenience is the parking. the lot is under construction and there are not a lot of spaces. the spaces are tight and large trucks and SUVs need to park up front (if there are spaces). we walked back at 10:30pm on a Saturday and the lot said full. not sure where someone would park because I did not see a parking lot or street parking nearby. once the parking is finished and sorted out this hotel will be near perfect. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 1 Johnson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 5H7, Canada (Formerly Kingston Waterfront Hotel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Downtown Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#6 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Hotel
Radisson Kingston
Kingston Radisson
Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.