We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful House in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
73 Sydenham Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Kingston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beatiful House in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Secret Garden. I loved the central location in Kingston, the lovely old house with amazing woodworking details and stained glass windows. Staff were very friendly. They were very accommodating in letting me leave my luggage at the hotel before and after check in and out times.The breakfasts were delicious and the home-made cookies on Sunday were scrumptious. The gas fireplace in my room was a very nice cozy touch for the grey November days I was there.

Not everything was perfect about my experience, however. I was told on the phone that I could book the Victoria Rose, but then I got an email a week later saying I was in Angel's Watch. I was a bit disappointed to not get the four poster bed and the claw foot tub. Also, luckily I noticed that she had made an error on the price, forgetting to give me the discount for a single person.

Just a few details need attention in the Angel's Watch room. There were chips on the veneer of the TV stand and some broken handles on a chest of drawers. The tiny TV was impossible for me to turn on, even following the four-step procedure on the written instructions by the TV. I guess I should have asked for help, but it wasn't that important for me to watch TV.

Overall, I'd recommend the Secret Garden, but would try another room next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice words about my staff, who are wonderful and always helpful and welcoming! If you had pointed out the problem with the TV it would have been addressed immediately.
I am sorry you did not get your room of first choice but glad you enjoyed beautiful Angels Watch with it's sleigh bed and gas fireplace...
I would like to note that the TV stand you mention is an antique sewing machine table, part of a collection at the Inn and, as such, has earned it's small bruises. That said, I apologize for the broken handle on the antique chest of drawers. We are currently looking for an appropriate replacement.
Best, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    17
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
77
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted it to be special. We had never stayed in a Bed &Breakfast before so we were a little apprehensive about trying one for our special weekend. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the inn.The home is beautiful and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Victorian room and slept like babies. I will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Secret Garden for your special occasion. We love to help celebrate by providing a welcoming, comfy and calm venue close to everything you need... I hope you do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would like to begin by thanking Kathy and Shirley for being so welcoming and friendly. The house was absolutely beautiful, cozy and clean. The breakfasts were superb with the choice of 8:00 or 9:00 am sittings and afternoon tea was such a nice touch after sight seeing all day. I was actually more relaxed after two nights at Secret Garden then I was when I returned from Cuba in April. Everything was also in walking distance, downtown, Queens University and both hospitals.

You don't have to leave Ontario to have a wonderful holiday. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We all appreciate it. It was great to see you enjoying the porch swing... definitely a relaxing spot. I look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just spent one night at this lovely B&B this past weekend and it was definitely not long enough. It is ideally located for walking into Kingston's downtown, which we did, but I would have been happy to remain on the large front porch, swinging on the porch swing for the entire stay. The rooms were delightful, we stayed in Angel's Watch and had absolutely no complaints. The beds and the pillows were the kind that make you want to stay in bed. Breakfast was wonderful. Compliments to Cathy for her baked fresh peach pancakes and her willingness to hand over the recipe. Cathy is a delightful hostess, who was open to all questions and requests. We were thrilled to hear some of the stories about the inn and it's past and present intermingling. We will definitely return!!! Thank you Cathy!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a delight I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
You are so welcome and thank you for your comments. It's always nice to be appreciated! Do come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We came to Kingston at the most inconvenient time ( summer, lots of events going on in town... hotels were busy) We did not have a reservation anywhere, so we drove around and checked 6 places. Each had one room left at a price from 150 to 275 dollars per night.

Place #7 was the Secret Garden B&B. There was one last room left. We were completely charmed by interior, exterior and the hostess ( Cathy) . Price was $149, breakfast included.

Our room ( Angel's watch ) was small, but we only came there to sleep. It was clean, nice, there were magazines to read, all necessities in the bathroom.

The house inside was so nicely decorated, and outside you could sit a read a book by the running water by the a pond.

Breakfast was tasty, nice, almost fancy, a bit small, but coffee was never-ending and we were fine. Good company of other travelers made it very interesting. In the afternoon, tea, coffee and cookies were waiting for us,

We will definitely come back. This is an experience; and for the price less than that of chain hotel with cookie-cutter interiors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I'm glad the 7th stop was the one! As I recall it was a beautiful evening, perfect for our porch and koi pond sitting. There are many reasons to return to Kingston... hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This review is a bit late in coming, however our stay here was amazing! We stayed in the Retreat room on the third floor which was just beautiful and even though our bathroom was down the hall it was completely worth it for the tub! Everything about our stay was fantastic, the room, the food and the hosts were out of this world and I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again... we love return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our third visit to Kingston this year and our fourth stay at the Secret Garden. We took advantage of a special run at the Inn for New Year's Eve and took our adult daughters for a small holiday. We were not disappointed. As with our previous visits, the rooms were warm and very clean, the bedding was beautiful and smelled so nice, the breakfasts were beautifully made and filling. Afternoon homemade chocolate chip cookies and warm drinks were a very welcome addition to the day. The special included a bottle of bubbly and fantastic cheese tray with an amazing array of food, as well as party hats and favours. Kathy even took time out of her evening to take photos of our family. At this point I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting the Kingston area. Our dinner reservations were arranged by Kathy and she even helped us find out where the movie we wanted to see was playing. This is a lovely experience for anyone seeking a short break from reality in a beautiful place. Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much Kathy!

Room Tip: We stayed in Theresa's Room which has a beautiful and very comfortable king-sized bed. The girl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
So nice to have you here again and for such a happy holiday! Always great to see guests enjoy the house at New Years. All the best and hope to see you all again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 73 Sydenham Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Inn is fully restored and historically designated, was built in 1888 in the Queen Anne Victorian style, and is located in the heart of Kingston's historic district next to downtown. Features gorgeous principal rooms, 7 exquisite guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, queen or king beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, onsite parking, and award winning gardens. Enjoy our complimentary gourmet style breakfast that has made us famous! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Bed And Breakfast Inn
Secret Garden Hotel Kingston
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.