We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location by the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L3B1, Canada (Downtown Kingston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Part of the Sheraton chain of hotels, this hotel was located near the water and many historical buildings. Close to tons of restaurants with outdoor patios and bars. Indoor parking for $14, great for motorcycles! Rooms were clean and maintained. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast option is great, not your standard hotel buffet concept. There is a nice bar located in the hotel, perfect for late night cocktail and they will deliver to your room. Not far from the Penitentiary Museum (about 10 blocks, go by car) and historical city hall building is close by. Great spot for your holiday in Kingston. Staff was very helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: You can negotiate for an extra breakfast voucher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Cdntravelfamily,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to know that you found our rooms comfortable and our location convenient. We hope to be your hotel of choice when in the Kingston area.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    151
    76
    25
    18
See reviews for
103
100
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel was very excellent with free wifi. this was our second time coming to this hotel and so far we haven't had any problems. When we came back from Montreal it was kind of a problem because we had to move 3 times around the hotel. The 1st room was right across from the pool we didnt like because of the smell and the loudness. 2nd room smelled like someone smoked in the room with no microwave. 3rd room had no microwave but smelled like smoke but at least we opened the window and they gave us a microwave. Otherwise the hotel was excellent

Room Tip: Don't get any rooms located across or near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear

Thank you for writing a review about your experience at Four Points by Sheraton Kingston. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and I’m delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. I regret your initial frustration, but I am delighted to hear that we made things right. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we appreciate your continued patronage.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place has great potential. Beautiful location with renovated rooms but...

Only 3(!) cribs available. I had to sleep on a fold up bed while my wife and baby share a queen sized mattress. Cant say there where bed bugs for sure, but next morning I woke up scratching all over... When first arrived, soap in the washroom dispenser was missing and only got refilled after our third request. Card for underground parking only worked after second time coding.

Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Eitan B,

We are pleased to hear from you. Proving you with a pleasant stay is our highest priority; I’m sorry we disappointed you. I appreciate you taking the time to write to let us know where we succeeded and areas that need improvement. We take any issues of pests extremely seriously and performed a thorough inspection upon receiving your feedback. The results were negative, but we did take extra precautions to ensure the room does not contain pest of any kind. Your comments serve as encouragement for our associates and enhance future stays. For that reason, I hope we will see you again.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in a two room Junior Suite on the 9th floor. There was one Queen bed, a pull-out couch (comfy enough) and the staff provided us with a crib for our 3 y/o daughter. There was a (very) small balcony in the bedroom and a large window facing north and providing an excellent view of the city, the (Rideau) river, the harbour-front, RMC and Old Fort Henry. Nevertheless, if you are interested in what downtown Kingston has to offer, then the best feature of this hotel is its location because it's close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear CaptBlack,

We are pleased to hear from you. Proving you with a pleasant stay is our highest priority. I appreciate you taking the time to write to let us know we succeeded. Your comments serve as encouragement to our associates who work hard to make our guests feel at home. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pet-friendly can be a blessing or a curse depending on your situation. My wife is sensitive to cats and dogs , so we were unpleasantly surprised to find that this facility is pet-friendly. When we made the booking we were not asked or told about this and the place was full so we couldn't change rooms. Of course, this could be a bonus for many.

However, the room we had was quite nice - a junior suite with a separate bedroom and living room, both small, but entirely adequate. We were traveling with our daughter and son-in-law and their room just down the hall was similar but different in that the bedroom was a little bigger and the living room narrower, making it feel a bit cramped. It was clean and fresh (other than residual pet hair, which the cleaning staff made extra effort to remove for us), with a small empty fridge (very useful), a coffee maker with lousy coffee, a 32" wide-screen TV (but not HD service), a sofa-bed, one chair and a work desk. Free wi-fi provided.

The room was pretty quiet considering the hotel is located in the heart of downtown, but the AC unit was very noisy and they should install quiet-closing doors to avoid the typical door slamming noises. Windows can be opened for fresh air. Everything is a bit scuffed and scraped, but workable.

They have a large, clean, indoor pool and hot tub as well as a reasonably equipped exercise room. Parking is $14/night and is deep below the hotel in a dank, narrow access parking lot. Be careful around the corners because there is not much room to pass.

The hotel restaurant, Sizzlers, which I'll review separately, provides room service.

This is a great location in a great City. It's an easy walk to a LCBO and a large grocery store. It is surrounded by pubs and restaurants, shopping and lots of history. It is a great spot for history and architecture buffs. Just around the corner from the Hotel, you can take the sight-seeing trolley, which I recommend. For about $30 you get a 90 minute bus tour of the City and you can hop on and off for 24 hours. Take it first to orient yourself. Make sure to visit Fort Henry. Just next door is the Kingston Brewing Co. with good micro-brew beer (I'll review it too).

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor and above have better views of the City and harbour. Rooms number 06 to 09 (5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ian G,

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your detailed review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious suites, amenities and location at Four Points by Sheraton Kingston, and we're glad to have been a part of your trip. My sincere apologies for the pet hair found in your room, but I’m happy to know our housekeeping staff was accommodating. I’m sorry for this interruption to your trip. I'm glad you liked the area and felt well taken care of by our staff. Please make plans to visit us again.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A perfect business or pleasure escape in downtown Kingston.
Some rooms have a water view and a balcony.
Hotel is clean and newly renovated, rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Staff are great and an asset this hotel.
Gym is ok, no water machine and limed equipment.
Large pool (indoor) also on property.
My favourite choice in Kingston

Room Tip: Ask for a non adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are so appreciative of your kind review. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed our clean modern hotel and friendly service. Your remarks serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please visit us upon your return to the area.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed in a King suite with my family for one night in July. Being a Four Points, the furnishings are not particularly fancy or the room luxurious (nor should anyone expect them to be), but it was clean, comfortable, not at all run down or worn, and perfectly fine for a family trip. In fact, it is arguably more than you would expect from a Four Points.

The king bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very spacious. Even though we were near the elevator (on the 9th floor), which I normally avoid, we were not disturbed by any hall noise. We actually slept quite well, which is not always a given for me in a hotel room!

My only complaint is that the living room and patio door didn't not have proper curtains, so my children were exposed to whatever the outside light was. Given that there is a sofa bed in the living room, there really should be proper curtains on those windows.

Having an indoor pool is a great option when you have kids. We used it twice. Again, nothing fancy and isn't a full=length wave pool, but there are big washrooms right beside the deck and a hot tub. We're glad it was available.

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear sjkski,

We’re happy to hear from you, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Four Points by Sheraton Kingston. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us while visiting the area. I’m pleased to hear we were well suited for your family travels. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon for more family fun.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston

Address: 285 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Downtown Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Kingston offers guests a hotel with a great view of Kingston and Lake Ontario. We have 171 guest rooms and suites located close to 1000 Islands and Queen's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Four Points Hotel Kingston
Four Points Kingston
Kingston Four Points
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.