We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - Highway 401 to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Warne Crescent, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
329 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a great check-in by David! He was very helpful with dinner suggestions also! Our room was clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well, we had a great stay! There are many restaurants nearby and also shopping!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
It was truly a pleasure for us to read your review and we feel as if you summed up our hotel perfectly. Thank you for your kind words about our front line employee. I have passed along your comments to him. If you are ever back in the area, we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    21
    17
    9
See reviews for
29
36
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is a basic Comfort Inn. We drove from US to Canada for summer vacation, and we stayed at different hotels (seven totals). We checked into this hotel on the way to Montreal. This is the only hotel that I give a 1 star. Even the front desk personnel don't smile nor even greet. I emailed them and inquired about the charges, but they don't even bother to response.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its' team for your stay and the billing issues that seem to have occurred. If possible, could you contact the location again directly with any specific billing issues so that we can take care of this problem? We apologize if there was an email previously sent that did not get responded to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was ok - nothing special, but clean and comfortable. Our problem was with the price which was comparatively high (150+) and with the breakfast which was absolutely unappetizing.. When we were driving away, another guest getting into his car randomly commented about how bad the breakfast was, so it wasn't just me who thought it was sub-par.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to write a review of your stay with us. Reviews such as yours help us to identify areas which we may need to concentrate on improving. Breakfast has indeed popped up a few times as being an area we could do better on. Please accept our assurances that we are working to correct this issue. Please accept our apologies and we hope you'll give us another chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although renovations on the hotel were completed in May 2014, I was not impressed. The renovations appear to be nouveau cheap. Its like the difference between hardwood floors and laminate. Laminate always looks cheap and looks even worse after a short period of time. Bubbling wallpaper, nail holes unfilled in trim, no shelf space in the bathroom, the same 30 year old clunky/noisy wall mounted hvac unit, are just some examples of a cheap renovation. The breakfast room is too small and is equipped with tiny tables. The "hot breakfast" consisted of powdered eggs. On the plus side the room was clean and quiet (when the ac was shut off). For the same amount of money there are nicer hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room without an interior door to the adjacent room. We were first placed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
First I would like to thank you for using TripAdvisor. By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas that are in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. We are sorry that our decor wasn't to your taste. We sincerely hope that other aspects of your stay were more to your liking ad we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We checked into the hotel and found hair in the shower and mold / water in our ice bucket. The room was poorly cleaned, even found leftover food at the side of the bed from the last guest. We tried to have a shower at 5pm and the shower did not work, when we called the desk we were told that too many people must be having showers and we needed to try again later. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Scott and Dianne,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding our recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Keri Robinson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn- Hwy 401
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
829 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't let the fact that the Comfort Inn is located just off the 401 scare you away from staying here when visiting Kingston. While it would be preferable to stay right downtown, the savings alone ($103/night on the CAA/AAA rate at the Comfort Inn) would pay for a very nice dinner downtown (we found the downtown accommodations to be ridiculously overpriced). Kingston is also a small city so the drive downtown is less than ten minutes and there's plenty of parking. The hotel is near a large movie theatre complex, factory outlet stores and other shopping so there is stuff to do nearby.

The hotel was recently renovated so the rooms are clean and comfortable (no weird smells!). The staff were also most helpful and the free WiFi and breakfast are nice bonuses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experiece ensures we are doing just that. Many thanks for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay, reasonable price, and staff would do anything for you.
It's location is great if just stopping over, but not near the tourist hub of downtown, however it's walking distance to lots of shopping and restaurants, and driving around Kingston isn't difficult.
Next time we need accommodation in Kingston, we won't think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Many thanks for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our convenient location. Please do come back and enjoy our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Address: 55 Warne Crescent, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Highway 401, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.