We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - Highway 401 to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Warne Crescent, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Ashton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is an excellent mid priced one. Clean,comfortable ,friendly staff . Close to 401 and Division st.The heater worked both quickly and quietly and thermostat worked flawlessly . There were many shops and restaurants nearby. The pillows were so comfortable that we tried to take them up on their offer and buy 4 (unfortunately none were available ). The only things we would have liked in the room were a frig and a coffee table. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us. We are fortunate to have a great location just off Highway 401 and are happy you found the service and amenities of our hotel to be to your liking.
I sincerely hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    18
    15
    7
See reviews for
26
27
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had to stay in this hotel because of the snow storm. The room give had an heating system that makes loud noise. Loud is so lound that I measured the sound using an app in Android and it was between 70 and 80 db. Since that is thermostat operated, all of a sudden in the night it starts with loud nose. Boy, I will never want to stay in the hotel. Also while checking in the lady at the front desk seemed to be very impatient and rude.

I have taken a video of the room with the loud noise. I wish i could post that video here.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay and we are sorry that this stay did not meet your expectations.
I would like to apologize that the heating system did not operate correctly and ruined your stay with us. We have investigated the unit and believe we have solved the issue. I am also sorry to hear that service at our hotel was not up to expectations. We have taken your feedback into account and have addressed this with the team as a matter of urgency.
Although you have mentioned that you would not return to the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401, I do hope you reconsider and allow us the opportunity to show you our normally high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this hotel using the no name Priceline feature as I had a brief stay in Kingston and just wanted a clean economical room with free parking and free breakfast. Priceline choice this motel which I stayed in years ago and found more than adequate. I immediately called the hotel and requested a non smoking room with a fridge and microwave. I checked in nice and early at 1 pm(other hotels have 3-4 pm checkin) and the front desk staff was very cheery and helpful. The room was more than adequate with fridge, microwave and I see it was updated from years ago with a new flat screen tv and larger bathtub with safety bars. We had a quiet night's sleep although the hotel is close to the highway exit but but only 10-15 minutes to downtown Kingston. The best part of the stay was the fantastic breakfast buffet which is the best breakfast I ever had for a 2 star property. I would definately stay here again. There was no pool/gym but none was needed and it was much cheaper than a hotel of it's value usually is

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker as I am ask for non smoking room in a quiet area(2nd floor) also ask for fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
What a pleasure for us to read your review from your stay at the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401 and we feel as if you summed up our property perfectly. It appears that you were able to take advantage of our newly upgraded amenities in our rooms and our fantastic location. We appreciate your comments about our new Hot Breakfast program. We are pleased to offer our guests a complimentary hearty hot breakfast. The Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401 is one of the few hotels with a free breakfast that offers so much.
It is our hope that you will return soon and thank you again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location, service, price. Nice cozy room, with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and everything in it. Right on the highway. Breakfast was the best for 2 star hotel so far, - fruits, juice, eggs, bacon, bagels etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our highway location and that you found our complimentary Hot Breakfast to be a benefit to your stay. It is a delight for us to hear how well your stay went and we hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Further to my last review, I must say that ina non-smoking room, it is a very pleasant stay. The room offers a large screen TV, is clean and the bedding much better. Although we still smoke, we stayed in a ground floor room with sliding doors and smoked outside. The breakfast now includes scrambled eggs and bacon, as well as the usual continental breakfast items. The girl at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful and we will stay here again, under these circumstances.

Room Tip: If you smoke, pick a ground floor non smoking room and smoke outside rather than a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write another review of our hotel and we thank you for raising both positive and constructive comments, we will ensure we use your comments to improve areas which may be letting our guests down. I am very pleased that we provided you with a pleasant stay with our location and most importantly, our service.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

the room was small but clean. For a nights stay it was great. it is really close to shopping and restaurants as well. It was nice to have a patio door with access to the car, made moving in and out easy. Wouldnt want to stay for long as it was really small but for a night it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401. We appreciate that you took the time to share both positive and negative aspects of your stay as this allows us to know whats working and identify areas for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had to find a place to stay in Kingston for a family emergency. I needed to get a good nights rest, but this hotel could not provide that for me. Indeed I was placed in a room that was at the same end of the hall as an entire hockey team from Quebec. They partied, slammed doors, talked loudly all night - between the stressful situation I was dealing with and these noisy people, and thin walls and doors - the "sleep" was worthless.

Room Tip: They offer a breakfast, but it was a messy eating area and I couldn't find any milk for the coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Address: 55 Warne Crescent, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Highway 401, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.