We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Hotel- Hotel Très Sale” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Midtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1454 Princess Street (Highway 2), Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Montréal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty Hotel- Hotel Très Sale”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Never Again...Sorry to say but this is the Worse Hotel of my Life... I'm a Choice Privilege card holder which means a stay in Choice Hotels (Econo Lodge , Confort Inn, Quality Inn ... a lot and this one is the Worse

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyrupert, Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Thank you for your review on the Comfort Inn Kingston Midtown, for it is through these comments we are able to focus on areas that need special attention. We are sorry that your room was not up to your expectations, and the impression it left on you.
We would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in our product and services. Should you choose to give our hotel another chance, we will do our best to make your next stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    11
    11
    15
See reviews for
20
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed in a smoking room because thats all they had left. Even the hallways stunk like smoke. The girl at the front desk said they would spray the room, so it would smell better. Well that didn't work. i don't think I would even stay in a non-smoking room in this hotel. They try hard, the room was clean and beds comfortable. You just can't get past the smell. The hotel needs a really good cleaning to get rid of the smell.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I had not planned to stay in Kingston, but our car broke down on the 401 on the way to Stratford. We were impressed by everyone we met and that helped us in Kingston. We ended up at the Comfort Inn at 5:30 pm and were somewhat depressed. Lisa at the desk was cheerful and helpful. She took endless messages for us as worried relatives found out where we were. She looked up many numbers for us and kept us laughing. The room was okay and I have no complaints. It was clean and had the basics, but it really doesn't matter. I would stay there again because the staff made us feel so at home. We were late leaving in the morning as there were no cars(Lisa called every rental in town) and the girls that cleaned the rooms were good natured and patient and we held them up by more than half an hour. What could have been a depressing visit was made cheerful. Thank you Lisa from both of us. If we ever do come to stay in Kingston I would stay at the Comfort Inn just to see you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We have stayed here twice this year because we have Pug dogs. They are accepted with no additional fee and there is plenty of green space for them to enjoy!! I love the sliding glass doors on the first floor for quick/easy outdoor access. I think a bit more care could be taken in cleaning the washroom but the linens were all clean and fresh. There are a fair number of smoking rooms so you can smell smoke in the corridors. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave, queen bed, desk, and pull out sofa. Guests included kids attending K-Rock concerts, out of town workers, business travelers, and folks on holiday. The weather was nice and lots of guest were hanging out side enjoying the sunshine. All of the guests and staff I ran into were friendly and respectful. They have a propane grill and some picnic tables and folks were grilling and eating outside. I found it very pleasant, family friendly, affordable and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

don't stay here. The room floor was wet. Hotel full of workers (road crews) who were up by 6 am and revving up their vehicles. Crummy breakfast. Sliding glass door gave outside access, but unsafe as there was no step down - more like a leap. Corridor smelled musty and overall a great disappointment. Expensive for what we didn't get.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

My stay at the Comfort Inn Midtown was great.I was in town for an interview, From check in, the staff made my stay extremely pleasant, the girl who checked me in (I believe her name started with a M, michelle, something like that) was very helpful, and gave me excellent directions to all the destinations I needed to be for my trip. The housekeeping staff were also very kind. Even though it is a chain, it has a mom and pop kind of feel, because everyone is so friendly! It's refreshing to meet people out there that really care about the customers, and don't act like your bothering them. The room was nice, they informed me it had just been renovated. I had a room on the first floor, so we actually could pull our truck right up to the door of our room! (having a patio door to outside was good for my smoker husband.) The evening was nice and quiet. I absolutley loved the breakfast in the morning, so much to choose from. I will come back for sure next time I visit Kingston!

  • Liked — The drive up patio door
  • Disliked — Paying for the bottle of water in the room (I thought it was free)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

we had three non-smoking rooms here over the weekend. 2 rooms were OK, and the third room had a terrible odour - kind of like mildew or mould. When we complained at the front desk we were told the foul smell was the new tv. One of the other rooms my father stayed in had a new tv and it did not smell. We changed rooms to the upper floor and was given the last room in the hotel. We were warned it was a smoking room, and preferred the odour of smoke over mould.

The room was very hot so we needed the air conditioning. the A/C unit was so loud i could barely sleep. I do understand this is a budget hotel, but I found it to be very uncomfortable.

All 3 rooms were very clean as were the common areas of the hotel. the staff were friendly and the rates were reasonable. This hotel is also pet friendly. Please keep in mind 2 of the 3 rooms were fine. i'm not sure i'd stay here again though.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Disliked — the foul odour in one of the rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Address: 1454 Princess Street (Highway 2), Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Midtown is conveniently located minutes from Kingston Memorial Centre, Fort Henry, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Boat Tours, Queens University, St. Lawrence College and the Royal Military College.Shopping is available at area malls, including Cataraqui Town Centre and Kingston Shopping Centre. This Comfort Inn hotel is minutes from the beautiful downtown harbour-front area where visitors can enjoy an assortment of restaurants and shopping at unique boutiques. With tastefully decorated accommodations, each guest will feel right at home at this Kingston hotel. All rooms feature flat screen cable television, ironing equipment, coffee makers and hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests are invited to take advantage of the attractive picnic area equipped with a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.