We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Midtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Midtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1454 Princess Street (Highway 2), Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 37 hotels in Kingston
Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Value, Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our experience was overall good. Upon entering the non-smoking room we were assigned, we immediatly smelled smoke & found the window open. "Not a good start." Front desk staff were very appologetic & reassigned us another room. The second room was fine, but please note that the beds are extremely hard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    11
    11
    15
See reviews for
19
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel last weekend and found this hotel to be absolutely great. It was very affordable and our room was very nice. The staff were very pleasent too which was nice and went above and beyond to accomated us and make our weekend getaway a great one. I would recommend this to any traveller that is passing through the Kingston area. Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnMidtown, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to know that our location suited you and that you were well attended by our staff. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the Comfort Inn Midtown. Thank you
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

It's obvious the management and staff are working hard to make this "home away from home" better with each visit. From the new breakfast addition to the new flat screen TVs in the rooms, I couldn't have been happier. Add in a motivated, friendly staff who remembered me by name and went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed to be comfortable, and I'm not sure there's anywhere else I'll stay when I'm in Kingston. Thanks for great stay after great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnMidtown, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! I will be sure to give this review to all of the staff here as it is important for them to hear they do a great job from someone other than management once and a while! We aim to provide all the comforts of home and more to our guests. The next time you think to add a few more days to your say please don’t hesitate! We’d love to have you!
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have stayed at this motel no less than than 5 times over the past few years while visiting Kingston and have always found the staff to be very friendly , accomodating, helpful. It is an older hotel but I have always found the room to be more than adequate with clean bathrooms, adequate TVS, very firm mattresses and often with a small fridge at my request. There is free parking and if one needs extra towels or toiletries they are quick to comply. I think the breakfast is more than adequate with a variety of juices, milk, coffee, fruit , jams, toast as well as boiled eggs.The motel has converted one of it's guest rooms close to the breakfast area to a small dining area with tables and a tv and it's convenient to eat one's breakfast, read the newspaper, watch the morning news and meet other hotel guests. The motel does allow pets and often is a host to a minor sports team so at my request they give me a room which generally is not used for familes with pets or smoking areas.I have gotten to know the manager Lisa and enjoy her sense of humour as well as the other staff. I strongly disagree with some of the other comments which appear to be from people who stayed 1 time and got a bad impression. Yes the motel is close to some train tracks but Kingston is a small city and the motel just happens to be close to the Via Rail station which actually is a convenince. In addition the train tracks to the best of my memory are NOT the main train stracks for Via Rail but one that is seldom used and when it is used it is for some transport but I don't ever recall being awakened by any train noise. The motel is very close to conveniences such as Avis rent a car which is great when I came to Kingston from Toronto by train and rented a car for use in city. I also find I can negotiate a good rate whether it is Aeroplan, Or "choice hotel" and as well I can cancel if need be without my credit card being charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not used for familes who have pets or away from large groups. As a rule the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnMidtown, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the entire team here! We look forward to welcoming you back when you travel to Kingston in the future.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

In my humble opinion, this place looks like they rent rooms by the hour. Dirty, shabby halls, close to the train tracks. Just pick another place.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there are any good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Midtown. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our valuable guests and it is evident through your comments that we did not meet them. All hotels from time to time need to upgrade their furnishing and ownership is in the process of addressing this issue. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel while on training. It was not to far from where the training was. Very friendly staff. The hotel is a little older but still in good condition. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
The Comfort Inn Midtown appreciates your positive feedback. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your training in Kingston. We hope to have you as a guest again and in the near future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Am usually quite forgiving for problems faced in hotels but will make an exception here. This hotel is a disgrace. Yes I know its not the Ritzs but I do expect better than this. have stayed in other Comfort Inns and this was the pits.
The corridors smell of disinfectant and are dark and dingy. The room was ok in size but had very dated and damaged furniture and all the bed linen looked rather thread bare! The free breakfast was served in another bedroom as there was problem with some renovation going on.
The ice machine was broken and the security door to the hotel was also broken, so no need to use your room card.
Was very tempted to find another hotel but as was only there one night I could'nt be bothered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests had a less than perfect stay, we feel the comments such as yours allow us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements. Should you choose to return we encourage you to get in touch with us prior to your arrival so that we can ensure that everything for your stay is in perfect order
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown Hotel
Comfort Inn Midtown Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown Kingston, Ontario
Address: 1454 Princess Street (Highway 2), Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Midtown is conveniently located minutes from Kingston Memorial Centre, Fort Henry, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Boat Tours, Queens University, St. Lawrence College and the Royal Military College.Shopping is available at area malls, including Cataraqui Town Centre and Kingston Shopping Centre. This Comfort Inn hotel is minutes from the beautiful downtown harbour-front area where visitors can enjoy an assortment of restaurants and shopping at unique boutiques. With tastefully decorated accommodations, each guest will feel right at home at this Kingston hotel. All rooms feature flat screen cable television, ironing equipment, coffee makers and hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests are invited to take advantage of the attractive picnic area equipped with a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.