We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, quiet and comfortable place near the lakefront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada (Sydenham)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful, quiet and comfortable place near the lakefront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this wonderful hotel on our way from Toronto to Montreal. I fell in love with the place, it's so well kept and beautifully decorated with authentic period pieces of furniture! The building itself is a historical building and has been used as a hotel since 1920s, I believe. Our room on the second floor was big and comfortable, with a nice size shower. Service was outstanding. Every little thing we asked for was taken care of. David, a staff member, helped us up, and down, with our luggage - we didn't even have to ask. We usually have hot tea later at night, and the minute we mentioned it, there it was, and served with lemon, too, just the way we like it. They serve a continental breakfast between 7:30 - 11:00 a.m. The hotel is very well situated, a couple of blocks from Downtown Kingston and only about a block away from the lake. If, and when, we ever go back to Kingston, we definitely will make arrangements to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
47
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henrietta, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our third visit to Hotel Belvedere and definitely won't be our last. If we go to Kingston a thousand more times in our lifetimes, then we will stay at the Hotel Belvedere every one of those thousand times. Nowhere else in the area - or any other area - could hope to compare.

It is perfectly situated within a block or so of the lake, as well as the really nice downtown section of Kingston. We always enjoy an evening walk from the Hotel, down the quiet, dark streets, admiring the old houses in the area. Parking is limited--only four or five spaces in back, tight, in front of the nice-looking old carriage house. We've usually been able to find a spot to park in back, and only once or twice have had to park on the street. It's not a big deal.

The Hotel itself never fails to fuel my imagination. There's a bit of old country English in there somewhere...I always imagined I might meet Miss Marple one day when going up or down the staircase, and more recently, Downton Abbey comes to mind, because it is furnished with such tasteful, well-kept antiques that you can easily imagine you've gone back in time about a hundred years.

Beautiful, comfortable furniture; modern yet elegant bathrooms, and then there's the breakfast!! I look forward to that breakfast every time we plan another trip to the Hotel Belvedere. Crisply toasted English muffins, sharp Canadian cheddar cheese, strong Engish tea, fresh orange juice...ah, perfection.

Every time we stay here, we remark at how we love it even more than the last time, and we always can't wait to go back. When walking by the lakeshore, I look at all of the huge commercial monstrosities of hotels in their boring cement boxes, and think to myself how lucky I am that I have a room at the Belvedere instead.

Friendly service, gorgeous old-fashioned décor, and GREAT atmosphere. This one's a gem, for sure!

Room Tip: Each room is slightly different and has its own personality. The staff can help suggest something if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were in Kingston for a couple days, to attend a wedding. Hotel Belvedere is near the lakefront (about 1 block) and near the "cool" part of downtown Kingston (about 4 blocks). It is relatively inexpensive -- compared to the waterfront hotels -- it is very clean, and the people working there are infallibly helpful and nice. The included breakfast is very good and the free WiFi works well.

Tip: if you want to swim in Lake Ontario, turn left out the front door, walk to the end of the block, turn left again, walk down to the boat landing -- there is a ladder into the water that makes a good place for starting your swim -- only in the summer, of course!

There is a limited amount of parking in the back -- otherwise, you have to park on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great location, close to lake, Queen's and downtown. Room was very comfortable and immaculate. Shower had great pressure. Wi-FI is included. Staff very friendly and obliging. If you're accustomed to small breakfasts, you'll love this place. In the morning you specify coffee or tea (variety of flavours) then you are served a tray with toasted English muffins, cheese, peanut butter and raspberry jam, and orange juice. A fruit bowl is placed in the main dining room. You can eat there, in your room or in the patio/garden area. Loved this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Belvedere for our two-day 'minimoon' in August, and we had a great time. The location is prime - we lived in Kingston for quite a long time, so we can say this with certainty - and the bed was very comfortable. The room was spacious with a high ceiling and even a little kitchenette! It isn't quite as pricey as the other B&Bs in the area because it only provides a simple breakfast, but since we had already decided to walk to Morrison's and Pan Chancho, it worked out nicely. It is getting a little bit shabby and could use some sprucing up, but it is a beautiful heritage building and we enjoyed the feel.

Our one complaint is that we found a bug - what one of the people behind the desk called a "wood bug" - and when we presented it at the desk there was no offer of a discount. We didn't ask for one, but it would have been an appropriate gesture in my opinion.

Overall, we had a good experience at Hotel Belvedere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here one night for work. I had no say in where I got to stay. This is an older place – there’s no elevator, you get an actual room key, the bedroom furniture and washroom are dated and some rooms have an actual kitchenette in them. Some find this type of thing charming a it's got more of a b&b feel. I can’t say I feel the same.

Breakfast is included and served on the main floor right by the fire place. It was decent.

The service was ok as was the location. It's a relatively short walk to the area with restaurants.

However, upon returning home from this trip I had bites all over the exposed areas of my body. Thankfully, they were not bug bites, but some sort of other insect bite. And while I am not positive that they came from this hotel, I think it’s highly probable. As such, I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwbelvedere, Owner at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for giving us the benefit of doubt as we have never had a mention of an insect bite problem. We live in the hotel ourselves. The rooms have been thoroughly checked and we remain proud of our reputation for cleanliness, and of our charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well we were disappointed in this hotel (more like a B & B).. first of all the tree in front is so big it hides the sign. Inside... not too shabby..hotel clerk.. was accommodating but not overly friendly. There is no bell hop to help you with your luggage. We asked to be on the 3rd floor which the way the stairs are laid out was the 5th floor..? The room... yes it has character, creaking floors, small tubs, etc. but... no where to put your suitcase.. they go on the floor. Bed was great though i have to say.. they could turn air on a little or close the curtains so the blistering heat didn't heat up the room.. and it is a portable air conditioner which is noisy..(typical not their fault)... When we looked around it seemed to have some interesting furniture and pictures.. but just seemed to be lacking something..? We went into the B & B close by the Frontenac Club (I think it was called) and it was a similar type place but just had more wow.. about it - the guy gave us a tour.. even into one of the rooms and told us history of the place but not at the Belvdere. Breakfast consisted of two toasted english muffins, jam and butter and one slice of cheese and coffee... ok -but the other place had a full english breakfast? I think there is a lot of potential for this place. Good walking distance to downtown..... it's sad...actually.. would not go back the way it is!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: 141 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere is well located near the downtown shops , museums and restaurants. Only 5 minutes from the Queen's University and the 1000 Islands Cruises. A complimentary continental breakfast can be taken in the lounge, on the terrace or delivered to your room. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Kingston
Hotel Belvedere Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.