We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in the middle of downtown Kingston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada (Sydenham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in the middle of downtown Kingston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Belvedere for our two-day 'minimoon' in August, and we had a great time. The location is prime - we lived in Kingston for quite a long time, so we can say this with certainty - and the bed was very comfortable. The room was spacious with a high ceiling and even a little kitchenette! It isn't quite as pricey as the other B&Bs in the area because it only provides a simple breakfast, but since we had already decided to walk to Morrison's and Pan Chancho, it worked out nicely. It is getting a little bit shabby and could use some sprucing up, but it is a beautiful heritage building and we enjoyed the feel.

Our one complaint is that we found a bug - what one of the people behind the desk called a "wood bug" - and when we presented it at the desk there was no offer of a discount. We didn't ask for one, but it would have been an appropriate gesture in my opinion.

Overall, we had a good experience at Hotel Belvedere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
40
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here one night for work. I had no say in where I got to stay. This is an older place – there’s no elevator, you get an actual room key, the bedroom furniture and washroom are dated and some rooms have an actual kitchenette in them. Some find this type of thing charming a it's got more of a b&b feel. I can’t say I feel the same.

Breakfast is included and served on the main floor right by the fire place. It was decent.

The service was ok as was the location. It's a relatively short walk to the area with restaurants.

However, upon returning home from this trip I had bites all over the exposed areas of my body. Thankfully, they were not bug bites, but some sort of other insect bite. And while I am not positive that they came from this hotel, I think it’s highly probable. As such, I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwbelvedere, Owner at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for giving us the benefit of doubt as we have never had a mention of an insect bite problem. We live in the hotel ourselves. The rooms have been thoroughly checked and we remain proud of our reputation for cleanliness, and of our charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well we were disappointed in this hotel (more like a B & B).. first of all the tree in front is so big it hides the sign. Inside... not too shabby..hotel clerk.. was accommodating but not overly friendly. There is no bell hop to help you with your luggage. We asked to be on the 3rd floor which the way the stairs are laid out was the 5th floor..? The room... yes it has character, creaking floors, small tubs, etc. but... no where to put your suitcase.. they go on the floor. Bed was great though i have to say.. they could turn air on a little or close the curtains so the blistering heat didn't heat up the room.. and it is a portable air conditioner which is noisy..(typical not their fault)... When we looked around it seemed to have some interesting furniture and pictures.. but just seemed to be lacking something..? We went into the B & B close by the Frontenac Club (I think it was called) and it was a similar type place but just had more wow.. about it - the guy gave us a tour.. even into one of the rooms and told us history of the place but not at the Belvdere. Breakfast consisted of two toasted english muffins, jam and butter and one slice of cheese and coffee... ok -but the other place had a full english breakfast? I think there is a lot of potential for this place. Good walking distance to downtown..... it's sad...actually.. would not go back the way it is!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the Belvedere for one night in July 2012. Showed up in the hotel and told the friendly staff we found the hotel on booking.com but wanted to save her the commission. This caused for laughs and we felt comfortable with each other immediately... ;-)

We were shown twoo rooms to choose from. One had a price of 159.- $ the other 189.- but we were give the price of the cheapest room which we had seen on booking.com: 129.- $. That's a nice "upgrade".

Rooms all had their individual style and interior, with old books, marble lamps, etc. Our's even had a jacuzzi bath tub. You could tell the history of the building. On the ground floor there is a "salon"-type lounge or reading room where guests meet. On the nice terrasse a "light breakfast" (english muffin, butter, preserves, cheeses, orance juice, coffee, tea) is served on nice days. Parking is availabe behind the house (limited number of lots).

Overall: very charming small hotel in a wonderful town. Would choose it again immediately...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pros: Nice location, historic building, friendly staff, comfortable beds.
Cons: Parking consists of about 5 spots in the gravel back yard and on street (when not prohibited by snow removal laws). Curtains were only sheers and light was streaming in the room at 5:30 am. No coffee maker in room. TV placed in an awkward position beside bed. Shower temperatures went from freezing to scalding. Killed one bee and two spiders after getting up.

The room is over priced for what you get. We were trying to find a non-bed and breakfast hotel that was unique and would provide a memorable stay as opposed to the sterile, cookie cutter hotel chain we normally use. We'll be going back to the more modern, reliable style of accommodation after staying here.

I booked the room for $159.00 on Booking.com and the bill I was presented was for $179.00. As you may guess from my review - I wouldn't highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of February 2012. It is a lovely large Victorian mansion that has been converted into a hotel. It is about a 10 minutes walk from the main downtown strip on Princess St.

The positives of this hotel are the decor, the spacious rooms with high ceilings, the light breakfast provided in the morning that consists of a toasted English muffin, fruit, orange juice and coffee, free wifi, a sitting room with a warm fireplace, comfortable beds, and free parking.

In addition the staff was incredibly helpful from giving directions and restaurant suggestions to letting me switch rooms because the first one was cold. They were friendly and courteous. It was a pleasure interacting with them.

That being said there are some cons to a stay at this hotel. My room was on the second floor and, as I had feared, the footsteps of the person above me on the creaking floor seriously disturbed my sleep in the mornin at around 6 am. It sounded like the person was packing, but the walking about went on for at least twenty minutes. In addition the rooms are heated by radiators which cannot be individually adjusted, so the use of a space heater is sometimes necessary (one is provided in the room).

That being said, the hotel is definitely romantic and I would consider returning for a weekend get-away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this place two years in a row now. This past October and the October previous to that. We were wonderfully surprised at how love it was and the beautiful atmosphere. It was exactly what I expected and we were pleased both times (hence our return).

The owner was very helpful to recommend us wineries to visit when we headed to Prince Edward County.

I see people commenting on the breakfast and I really don't understand it. You get an english muffin with butter and a lovely jam. A sharp chedder cheese, fresh orange juice and wonderfully brewed coffee or tea. There are also bowls of fresh fruit in the sitting room that you are welcome to. I think this is a perfectly adequate breakfast that is simple yet thoughtful with a great attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: 141 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere is well located near the downtown shops , museums and restaurants. Only 5 minutes from the Queen's University and the 1000 Islands Cruises. A complimentary continental breakfast can be taken in the lounge, on the terrace or delivered to your room. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Kingston
Hotel Belvedere Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.