We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
141 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada (Sydenham)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of February 2012. It is a lovely large Victorian mansion that has been converted into a hotel. It is about a 10 minutes walk from the main downtown strip on Princess St.

The positives of this hotel are the decor, the spacious rooms with high ceilings, the light breakfast provided in the morning that consists of a toasted English muffin, fruit, orange juice and coffee, free wifi, a sitting room with a warm fireplace, comfortable beds, and free parking.

In addition the staff was incredibly helpful from giving directions and restaurant suggestions to letting me switch rooms because the first one was cold. They were friendly and courteous. It was a pleasure interacting with them.

That being said there are some cons to a stay at this hotel. My room was on the second floor and, as I had feared, the footsteps of the person above me on the creaking floor seriously disturbed my sleep in the mornin at around 6 am. It sounded like the person was packing, but the walking about went on for at least twenty minutes. In addition the rooms are heated by radiators which cannot be individually adjusted, so the use of a space heater is sometimes necessary (one is provided in the room).

That being said, the hotel is definitely romantic and I would consider returning for a weekend get-away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
55
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this place two years in a row now. This past October and the October previous to that. We were wonderfully surprised at how love it was and the beautiful atmosphere. It was exactly what I expected and we were pleased both times (hence our return).

The owner was very helpful to recommend us wineries to visit when we headed to Prince Edward County.

I see people commenting on the breakfast and I really don't understand it. You get an english muffin with butter and a lovely jam. A sharp chedder cheese, fresh orange juice and wonderfully brewed coffee or tea. There are also bowls of fresh fruit in the sitting room that you are welcome to. I think this is a perfectly adequate breakfast that is simple yet thoughtful with a great attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a beautifully restored historical property. The rooms are charming and the common rooms are relaxing and lovely. A light breakfast is included. Friendly, service-oriented staff.

Room Tip: Visit this hotel in any but the hottest time of year - this is a historic property and they depend o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Wonderful, small cozy hotel, conveniently located close to Queen’s University and downtown Kingston. Each room is charming and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My wife and I have stayed several times over the past 20 years and it is like a home away from home.

The parking is free, and as we can walk everywhere in this historic and walkable city, the car stays in its place until we leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Not exactly a B&B, or Boutique Hotel, per se. Best descibed by us as a home converted into a hotel for antique collectors. It has been kept as such for many years, but could use some "updating" and color. Breakfast could be a little more appetizing or have a bit more of an an offering, considering the cost of the rooms. The big plus (es) are the walking distance to lake and downtown and the lovely patio for relaxing, reading, breakfast in good weather. Parking was easy too. Staff very accommodating as well.

Room Tip: When we asked about drinking our own wine...glasses were immediately brought to our room. Breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

A total delight, rooms well appointed and staff friendly and generous with their time and assistance.

Room Tip: I saw our room and 2 on the main floor - they were all well appointed, don't think you can go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We arrived late and asked for sparkling water. The desk clerk brought it to our room with an ice bucket and lemon slices. Our room was large with a slightly zany, but clean and servicable bathroom. The bed linens were first class and the bed very comfortable. Our room was huge (#204).

Breakfast was on a fragrant, shady terrace. An insulated carafe of coffee, generous glasses of juice, toasted English muffins.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Sydenham
Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
#1 of 36 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Downtown Kingston
Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Kingston
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Green Acres Inn
#2 of 36 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: 141 King Street East, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sydenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere is well located near the downtown shops , museums and restaurants. Only 5 minutes from the Queen's University and the 1000 Islands Cruises. A complimentary continental breakfast can be taken in the lounge, on the terrace or delivered to your room. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Kingston
Hotel Belvedere Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.