We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Only hotel left with rooms during the annual poker run and boy are they pricey. The room was ok but getting to the room and parking was something else. Would recommend staying out of Kingston and coming into town to visit the venues offered in the city. Overall not pleased with the customer service. They offered a CAA discount then when I mentioned the dryed up washcloth on the shower rail they gave me a discount and took away my CAA discount. Oh well, live and learn. This hotel is alright just too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Due to lots of bookings the wifi took several tries to log on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience with us at The Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre. Your feedback is so important to our continued improvement and success. We share your comments with the entire Ambassador Team so that we can evaluate our performance and facilities.

We certainly hope you will stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    198
    135
    51
    24
See reviews for
257
114
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The bed was great. The staff was very friendly from the maid who wished us a happy stay to the servers in the restaurant. When we went for breakfast I had a pleasant surprise, Rose, our server told me that they had gluten free bread. Very unusual but very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Do not choose 256, near a dumpster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent experience with us at The Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait for you to come back and stay with us again soon.

Your comments have been shared with our entire team to congratulate them on all of their hard work.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
613-548-3605, ext. 2100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Sorry but I will not return to this hotel. When we first arrived my husband was about to lie down on the comforter of our bed. Looking at the unhealthy piece I told him to sleep on the sheets instead. As soon as he turned down the cover he saw a live spider in the middle of the bed. I know it's not the end of the world but after seeing the stained carpets in the hallway and bedroom and worn furniture everywhere I was quite discouraged. If it had not been that all the hotels were already booked I would have asked for a refund. The front desk also had an attitude which left you with a sour taste as well. Of course probably not all the staff is like that but that's the first person we met when we arrived. The breakfast was much better I must say. I nice choice, not great The price is way to high for this hotel which is actually not more than a 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: No such thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre. Your feedback is important to our continued improvement and success. Your comments have been shared with our team so that we can assess our performance and facilities.

Our goal, as always, is to have you leave with pleasant memories and plans to return in the future. We strive to build long lasting relationships with our guests. Please do not hesitate to advise us during your stay, if you are not satisfied with your accommodations and we will do our very best to ensure your stay is enjoyable while you are here.

We value your continued business and would ask that your next stay be reserved through myself, personally, in order that we can follow up on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We've been to this hotel a few time when we have visited Kingston. I must say even though there are some brand hotel names around Kingston, this hotel would not be a disappointment. It has as much if not more than the brand hotels. It has clean rooms and friendly staff. A little bonus for the kids or kids at heart would be the pool area. A nice little treat in winter months.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. Your comments have been shared with the entire Ambassador team to congratulate them on their hard work. Your feedback is so important to our continued success.

Looking forward to your next visit. Come back again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Rooms were lovely! Clean, well decorated, convenient.
Friendly, helpful service.
Speedy check-in & check-out!!
Great water slide for families. LOVED the steam room (although you'd wonder why it's called a "Eucalyptus" steam room...can't smell anything).
Will stay there again as it was reasonably priced for the service & room.
Thanks for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: the room with single queen bed is facing a dumpster....request one on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Wow...we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with everyone. Our goal is to offer you the best hospitality and have you leave with pleasant memories and plans to return soon. Thank you for letting us know we have succeeded!!

We can't wait to have you back!! See you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact @ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked this hotel the day before we left to Kingston and we did not regret it at all! The staff was very kind, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean and the water park was a lot of fun! If you ever get a chance to go, ask for Jonathan at the reception. He recommended some great restaurants and touristic attractions around the area. The location is also very ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you!! Your kind words mean so much and we hope you will come back again soon. It is good to know we have exceeded your expectations.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

After first booking online at the EconoLodge just up the road and leaving that disgusting hotel, we weren't sure we would find a place during the hog rally. We were pleasantly surprised that the Ambassador still had rooms available and by the more then reasonable price. The hotel is clean, staff very nice and with the amenities they have appears to be great for families, we did not use the water slides, pool or hot tub so all I can say is that they have them. The lounge and restraunt are also reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are so proud of our excellent facilities and customer service and will be delighted to welcome you back again soon.

Your comments have been shared with the entire Ambassador Team to congratulate them on a job well done.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.