We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value good comfort and convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value good comfort and convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is not the best hotel nor the most modern in Kingston but it is an excellent value. We live outside the country but do sail for a month in the summer. That means every year we need to rent a room until the boat is floating. Thus we need comfort and convenience a good restaurant a good sleep at an excellent price. Price is especially good for "seniors" who get a preferential rate. Already good becomes excellent and it is really close to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Tom H. Thank you for posting your review. I appreciate the fact that you consider us to be comfortable, convenient and offer good value. I would relish the opportunity to discuss with you how we can make your experience with us that much better. Feel free to contact me at your leisure.

Best Regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    101
    56
    23
    10
See reviews for
104
75
14
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

From the excellent efficient reception with an early check in for rooms with kids and crib,the stay was great. Not a luxurious Hotel by any stretch of the imagination, however the indoor Waterpark thrilled our 3 grandchildren for many hours,thegameroomwasgreat after dinner and the food in JW Restaurant was perfect for our hungry family . We did not move our car for 2 full days.
The flea market across the road was fun to visit for the kids and adults.
Can't wait to meet our family exactly halfway from Montreal and Hamilton.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Lenny.. thank you for that glowing review. We truly do appreciate your comments and are delighted that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us and your visit to Kingston. ~

Please check our website for some great package deals this summer. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon .

Best Regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I travel to Kingston on business twice a month. The service and hospitality that I receive is second to none. Everyone is exceptional at what they do. Restaurant has great food to compliment it all. Rooms are ok, somewhat dated.
Thanks to Jonathan and his team.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Guy..thank you for posting your comments we do appreciate you taking the tjime to express your opinion. I am very glad that your overall experience was very positive. If you plan to visit Kingston on a regular basis we have a Frequent Visitor Program that you will find may well suit your needs for future vistis.. I urge you to contact me directly to explore this option for you.

I hope you have a wonderful week ahead

Best Regards

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was very clean and quiet. It was a little on the dated side but very comfortable. The price was a little steep compared to competitors. Town was full due to Shriners convention and international rugby match.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Good morning Papapd; thank you for posting your comments and we are pleased that overall you were delighted with your visit to our hotel and Kingston.

We look forward to having you come back again. Please check our website for special offers and packages available this summer. A lot of great events happening in Kingston.


Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was there for a 2 day conference this week, and I must say that I'm completely unimpressed. Upon check-in, we were informed that there was no water until after 3:00, and that the pool was only open from 5-9 that night (turns out that was every night). Hot tubs were also empty, as they were being cleaned. When we got into our room, it was dated and worn - paint is needed everywhere, and our bedside lamps were hanging off of their frames. Just a small thing, but in this day and age it's a little silly that there aren't any outlets at the nightstand for people to plug in phones/computers. We had to unplug the lamps and alarm clock in order to power up our phones. As for the beds...ugh. My bedding was atrocious - when I pulled back the bedspread that first night, there was what resembled a giant fecal stain on the underside. I pulled it off the bed immediately. Bedskirt had thick black streaks on it, as if they had been run over with a dolly. Well before 7:00 I asked at front desk for our beds to be completely stripped and re-made, and described the issues. Went back to our room at noon for a small nap - still unchanged. By 2:30, the bed had finally been changed, but bedskirt was still the same (took another few hours to get this fixed). I'm seriously not a picky person, and for the money I paid I didn't expect the Ritz...I did, however, expect clean linens, and expected that I would be able to use the room when I wanted to. It's amazing that the sign outside advertises renovated rooms, when there was no chance that this room had even seen a coat of paint in many years. Food and service at lunch for the conference was great - in the dining room, mediocre and dated menu, accompanied by lacklustre service. You might also inform the person who enters the information onto your electronic sign out front that they should probably check their spelling before they post..."Dorothy your 90 today" was flashing each time we stepped outside (will admit that I'm nit-picky about that one).

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Melissa... thank you for posting your comments.. I am truly disappointed that your experience was not what you would have expected. I am very sorry that we checked you into a room that was not up to the standards that we set . I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the conference.

I would like to make this up to you and would ask that you contact me directly at your leisure.

Sincerely;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently had a weekend "gathering" at the hotel and were absolutely delighted with everything the hotel had to offer. The rooms were terrific, the staff most helpful, cheerful and just couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant ran their feet off as we had about 330 people staying at the hotel and eating there as well. We had two meals that were included but the other meals were taken in the hotel restaurant. It was absolutely wonderful and we did not hear one negative comment from anyone and that doesn't really happen very often. Our weekend was a huge success and the hotel contributed greatly to its success. We would like to thank Judy for all of her efforts on our behalf and to all of the staff. Bravo and thank you for a job well done. Highly, highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Julie R... What a wonderful review.. Thank you very much. Your comments are truly appreciated and will share them with our entire team as each one of them work very hard to ensure all of our guests leave delighted.

I hope that you will consider us again when you are planning future conventions.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was recently involved as a member of the organizing committe for a 2 day AGM that was hosted at the Ambassador Hotel that involved approx. 200 guests. The service we received for those two days was second to none from all staff involved. I would like to thank the Ambassador for helping to make our AGM the huge success that it was. Everything was excellent; the accomodations, meeting rooms, banquet room and the meals. We received many compliments over the two days regarding the facility. This event was 1 year in the making and would not have gone so well had it not been for the advice and guidance provided by the Director of Catering and Conference services. I would not hesitate in recommending the Ambassador Hotel to anyone considering hosting a future meeting or conference in the city of Kingston.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hello Grandpamac. Thank you so much for posting those wonderful comments about our hotel and our service team. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated staff to ensure our customers are well taken care of. We are delighted that you hosted your event with us and hope to see you back in Kingston in the very near future.



Best Regards;


Venicio (Vinnie ) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#6 Family Hotel in Kingston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.