We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Ambassador Conference Resort. We found the staff all very friendly both at reception and in the dining room. We enjoyed two meals at JM's dining room and the food was excellent. Our room was spacious and very clean. And we appreciated the email confirming our reservation and looking forward to our stay that arrived two or three days before the date of our stay. Excellent customer service and attention to detail. Can not think of anything negative to report except our stay was too short.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your (short) stay with us. Please contact us next time you are planning a getaway to Kingston and one of our team will let you know what is happening in town.. such as a performance at the Grand Theatre or a concert or Junior A Hockey Game at Kingstson's Aware Winning KROCK Centre located in the heart of downtown Kingston.. A short drive from the Ambassador.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon .

Best Regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhote.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    200
    138
    52
    24
See reviews for
260
115
19
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. It was our first time away together since our marriage 3 yrs ago. We found the hotel extremely pleasant and comfortable. The pool, steam room and sauna were added amenities that made our stay so enjoyable. It was a nice surprise that on our arrival they staff had upgraded our reservation to the king size bed at no cost. It was so beautiful. It was our anniversary and my birthday. We will definitely consider staying here again. Must bring our god daughter next time. The waterpark and fitness area are amazing. Arcade was nice but it would have been nicer had all the games been working.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are delighted that we were your choice to celebrate your Anniversary and were able to enjoy our facilities. I am sorry that all the games in the arcade were not working. We do our very best to keep them up to date and fine tuned for everyone's enjoyment.

We hope that you will consider the Ambassador again in the near future.

Best Regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct LIne 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

History at the Ambassador, Kingston: January 2006 - Oct 2010....1 to 3 nights almost every week to 2 weeks.
My purpose: accommodation (and comfort) while on business.
Assessment in real terms: Staff was exceptionally and consistently courteous to me and to other guests.
The facility: Common areas, bright, clean and in good repair.
Rooms: Equally clean and in good repair. If anything did need attention, front desk staff always attended to the issue quickly.
Food services: Excellent. Prices were in line with other local establishments however the food quality and wait staff were always very efficient, attentive and would take in interest in making dining pleasant, either in the main dining room or in the bar area.
Further, I noticed food staff looking after families' needs very well. Kids can be a handful sometimes but the staff seemed to roll with it very well.
I did use the conference portion of the facility. The conference planning team were professional and knew the business very well.
Since a job change in 2010, I have since continued to make the Ambassador my/our only place of 'refuge' when in Kingston which happens a few times a year. The whole staff continue to be ever so kind.
Regarding family and/or group services: I have observed numerous families and teams use the facility. During my many visits, I have talked to some of these folks and learned that they too hugely appreciate the Ambassador.
PS: Lots of parking, huge indoor pool activity area. Close to the 401 and/or the local train station.
Decent fitness facility and right beside a wetland....a naturalist's delight.
For further info, feel free to get in touch. I happily recommend the Ambassador to everyone.
Note: the travel date below is only one of many. I had to pick ONE or I couldn't submit this review.
John Forster,
London Ontario

Room Tip: Rooms on the 'back' overlook the wetland. Rooms on the front overlook the parking lot but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
HI John.. thank you for your comments.. It was a pleasue to have you as our guest and allow us the privilege to serve you during your many nights with us. I am delighted we were able to make you feel comfortable and welcome.

We do hope to see you back again very soon.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ambassador Inn for a 2 day business meeting. The staff is fantastic, meals were excellent, rooms are very clean and spacious. I can not say enough about Lucy and her catering staff who went out of their way to make our stay a great experience. - Neil

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
HI Neil..thank you very much for your comments. We are very proud of the work and customer committment of our entired team here at the Ambassador.. I am delighted that they "Delivered" once again to make your meeting a success.. We hope to have you and your colleagues join us again sometime soon. We are the largest conference facility in Kingston.


Best regards;



Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Ambassador on our way thru Kingston. My husband booked a beautiful suite on the 6th floor . WOW! We've stayed at several different hotel chains and privately owned hotels--but this was the best! The suite was spacious and beautiful and was filled with lots of "extra touches"--such as bottled water, coffee, and personal care itens not normally found at other hotels. The jacuzzi was huge! We had drinks at the bar and the staff was helpful recommending sites and other options around Kingston. I wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the pool and waterslide. But we will be back....soon! Thanks so much! Look forward to coming back for Valentines!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

We hope to see you back on Valentine's..


Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently attended our second Christmas party at the Ambassador and we cannot say enough about the fabulous evening we shared with our office staff and friends. The room was beautifully decorated for the season and the ambiance created was amazing. The food was very plentiful and delicious with a great array of choices. Of course, the desserts were out of this world and you had to try more than one choice !!!
We have enjoyed working with Judy and the staff for the past 2 years and will definetly be returning again next year. If you are a small office, this party is such a great way to have a Christmas party and be with a large group of people.
Congratulations to everyone who helped create a Winter Wonderland.

Transport Canada Marine Safety, Kingston

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your Christmas Event here at the Ambassador. We host many small and large groups here over the Christmas season, in fact, many of them have been repeat guests for years.

We hope to have you and your group back with us again in 2013..

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Every year, our company attends the Christmas party at the Ambassador and books several hotel rooms. Without fail, the rooms are always clean, very spacious, and the service is over-the-top!! Some of my co-workers bring their families and the children really love the pool and water slide. The pool area is also very large and clean. Always! The hotel is very family friendly and close to all amenities. Not to mention, the party is always a TON OF FUN and we all look forward to it every year!! Thank you to all the staff at the Ambassador for making it such a pleasant time for us all :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.. I am delighted that we were able, once again, to make this a memorable event for you and your guests and we hope to have you come back again in 2013..

Best regard;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhote.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.