We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staff are lovely, rooms are lovely and the location is perfect.

I run a business in town and frequently have people come to visit. When they do, I tell them to stay here. Consistently wonderful. We have used them many times and will continue too. I even used it as a night away for my fiance and I. Beautiful spa in the room and great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    109
    65
    26
    12
See reviews for
115
88
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On business, stayed for two nights, fifth floor suite, room was very nice. Only problem was the new movie system resulted in remotes that were unresponsive. One call to the front desk and a service man was there with universal remote that solved the problem. Food was excellent, as was the staff, in particular the front desk crew. Work desk was large, chair was adjustable and comfortable, not the usual the case in most hotels, and easy access to wireless service which was another plus.

After many years of staying downtown, the free parking, and the proximity to my destinations was a bonus.

Had all the amenities we needed, and then some.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The fifth floor rooms come with fridge included the room rate, but don't stay in the rooms that face the pool. There's no window to the outdoors, and you're a victim to the noise of the pool and any banquets/weddings happening on the concourse below the rooms. And bring a power bar - all the available outlets are already in use with lamps. The furniture and linens were new and nice; the carpet needed a really good vacuuming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were visiting and even though all hotel rooms are always very expensive anytime, we chose the Ambassador this time as our favourite place was booked. We stayed on the 6th floor in a king room that was said to newly updated. Well it did not feel that way. While some of the furnishings were, there was stains on the carpet, dust hanging off the vents and it had a used feel about it. Yes the checkin was friendly and there is lots of parking, but security is not the greatest. You are supposed to swipe your room card to gain entrance to the 6th floor but that aspect did not work in the elevators. In fact one, maid said it seldom works. The entrance doors and there are many to the place, are open to everyone so people off the street can come and go. On saturday morning at 7:30 the fire alarm was set off by a child. The hotel was full of sports teams. So we had to go down 6 flights and that is hard when one has disabilities. Upon inquiring on checkout saturday, what the cause of the alarm was, the person at reception did not even apologise, just laughed it off and said I was I kid hater. Then stated - be glad you know the alarm works. I was not impressed with his arrogant and insulting attitude and will not go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for letting me know that you were not completely delighted during your recent visit to the Ambassador.. Please accept my sincerest apology. I hope that you will contact me at your leisure so that I can make this up to you on your return visit.

Hope you have a fantastic week!

Yours truly;

Venicio Rebelo
General Manager
613 541 4676 Direct Line
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed two and a half nights at the Ambassador last week while attending a College reunion and was very satisfied. After a 12 hour overnight drive we were able to check in at 4 a.m. and were charged a 1/2 day rate. Thanks to the front desk staff who suggested this option when I called after a change in travel plans! Room was small (I believe it was called an "Economy Queen") with 1 Queen bed. All was neat and clean. Attended a banquet in one of the conference rooms and buffet food was very good. Lots of free parking. Impressed to see an electric vehicle recharging station! Didn't use any of the other amenities but the indoor water park seemed to be very popular!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight while in Kingston for hockey. It is an easy trip to the Invista Rink.
Check-in was quick, and we were very happy to find our room was available before the stated check-in time of 4pm.
It's a short drive to downtown, not much in the area right around the hotel. Also there are train tracks that run right by the hotel, but I only heard the whistle once while we were there. I didn't notice it through out the night, and I am usually a light sleeper.
The pool area and waterslide are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rooms and hotel are about a 3 star but they do have a nice pool, water-slide, sauna and hot tub area which attracts many young families for a weekend away. We have stayed here at least three times on business over a Saturday and Sunday night and the place is always crawling with young families who really seem to be enjoying it. The restaurant in the front of the hotel is about a 4 star and features a wonderful buffet breakfast on weekends including a made to order omelette station. The Monday morning menu was also very good minus he buffet. If you have a young family and are looking for a reasonably priced weekend away where the kids can have some fun this might be it!

Room Tip: Unfortunately there is a train that goes through a couple of times between midnight and dawn and wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
#6 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.