We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice pool and waterslide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
gta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice pool and waterslide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight while in Kingston for hockey. It is an easy trip to the Invista Rink.
Check-in was quick, and we were very happy to find our room was available before the stated check-in time of 4pm.
It's a short drive to downtown, not much in the area right around the hotel. Also there are train tracks that run right by the hotel, but I only heard the whistle once while we were there. I didn't notice it through out the night, and I am usually a light sleeper.
The pool area and waterslide are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    112
    72
    27
    13
See reviews for
119
89
14
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rooms and hotel are about a 3 star but they do have a nice pool, water-slide, sauna and hot tub area which attracts many young families for a weekend away. We have stayed here at least three times on business over a Saturday and Sunday night and the place is always crawling with young families who really seem to be enjoying it. The restaurant in the front of the hotel is about a 4 star and features a wonderful buffet breakfast on weekends including a made to order omelette station. The Monday morning menu was also very good minus he buffet. If you have a young family and are looking for a reasonably priced weekend away where the kids can have some fun this might be it!

Room Tip: Unfortunately there is a train that goes through a couple of times between midnight and dawn and wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This Resort has very fine accommodations and friendly and helpful staff.
My room was very comfy and the restaurant ( piano bar) was very appreciated. The food is very good and the ambiance very relaxing and pleasant. Being a member of CAA gave me a good reduction also. I will return when I am in Kingston, ON

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed overnight here so family could enjoy the pool and water park. Check-in was quick and seamless. Pool area was nice and clean with two lifeguards. Kids play areas was great. Unfortunately, it was the last day of summer hours so we didn't get much time in the pool. Room was basic but clean. Overall was good value for price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I checked in to this hotel late one August night and was looking for a wheelchair accessible room with two beds and a roll-in shower. Luckily, after checking many other local hotels, this place had a room with that description.

The front desk staff was very friendly and booked us in.

The hotel is decorated modestly, and entering our room it was noticeably small for a wheelchair accessible room. The two beds took up most of the room and there was one location to turn a wheelchair around. It was inconvenient. The bathroom however was fine, with a normal sized roll-in shower. The entrance to the shower however had a substantial lip of three or so inches. A very difficult slope to navigate, and somewhat dangerous.

The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

The quality of stay was average. We didn't use the extensive amenities, so I have no comment on them, but I understand they are great.

If staying in Kingston again, I would consider staying at the Ambassador Hotel again, but only if there were a larger wheelchair accessible room available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here on route to Quebec for summer vacation. The check in was smooth and the rooms were clean and large. This was nothing fancy, and mostly suitable for families as the waterpark would have been good for kids. The hotel was close to the highway and we paid $100 including tax for the room. Recommend going to the Kingston Brew Pub for the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
#7 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.