We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Kingston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great find in Kingston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews and am not disappointed. The decor of the hotel is very country home style and the room with a fireplace continued the theme. The room was one of the cleanest I have been in and well appointed. Nice comfortable King Size bed (although it is quite high off the floor and could be a problem if a person had mobility issues) and a separate sitting area with a small couch and chair. Did not feel a person is in a bedroom only. If on business travel this is a nice feature. The staff was very friendly and helpful right from check in to throughout the stay. This hotel is not in the centre of activities so a person would need a car to get around but there is a grocery store right next door and the hotel has two restaurants so there is no need to go far except for sight seeing and shopping. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Kingston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    85
    29
    11
    11
See reviews for
66
119
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Casselman, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed there 2 weeks ago for our anniversary. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We decided to eat at the hotel "Stefan Bistro" We asked for a quiet table by the fireplace. The maitre D called a short time later and suggested another quiet table as the table by the fireplace could not be guaranteed to be quiet. We arrived and he greeted us by our names without us introducing who we were. We had a great table. and a great meal. The waitress was excellent. Friendly and a smile at all times. Excellent place to spend an anniversary!! Definetely return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Easy to locate hotel, close to highway and only minutes to downtown Kingston. Free parking, included breakfast, clean and very comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff. Fair price. Will definitely stay here again and also recommend it to friends visiting their kids studying at Queens.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were looking for a place we could stay over with our dog...as we like to bring her with us whenever we travel...We were Very Impressed with our room ..especially since they allow dogs..Very clean and comfortable.Friendly Staff...the only downfall was.. the fan in the bathroom didn't work ! Will definitely be returning whenever we're in Kingston. !!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Unique, Clean and Quiet fantasy room with lots of room to move around. Good rest and comfort in bed. Low noise in room. Hot tub is a perk. TV's in Bathroom along with two TV's in room is a perk. Small Fridge. Location is near central Kingston. Parking is a bit busy with parking in afternoon but less to no spots at late night. Breakfast Buffet was good. Dining area pleasant. Regular price for Fantasy suites slightly higher but overall not a bad spot to stay over night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hard to tell why this is a 'Plus' hotel. Hasn't been updated since built in early 70s. Low ceilings, old carpet - starting to get musty, lots of wood panel, old furniture, dark hallways, room carpet worn. Bathtub and shower controls are old fashioned, toilet didn't flush properly. Bed is very high, short people have to climb up. Pool and gym are separated, hard to find.

OK breakfast included. Staff are polite. Heat controls in room worked properly.

You can probably get better value for money elsewhere in Kingston.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we picked this location because my son is at university in Kingston and it was fairly central... I try to stay with BW as we have had more positive than negative experiences... We had a couple of small issues with this location and nothing that needed to be escalated, but the desk staff on check out were helpful and took the information to have corrected for the next guest ...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms renovated in 03-04. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.