We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Once again the service and accomodations were Fantastic. I highly reccommend the Best Western Fireside in Kingston whenever you are in town. Freindly staff, great rooms & great food. Try one of the Fantasy suites!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    102
    35
    16
    11
See reviews for
81
143
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for only one night last week, but truly enjoyed the experience. Our standard room was large (queen sized bed, sitting area, fireplace), clean, and very nicely appointed. Amenities demonstrated the hotel's attention to detail: ironing board and iron, wall safe for valuables, large flat-screen TV, clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer. The bed was comfortable - great mattress, lots of pillows and extra blanket - free parking, free breakfast (eggs, waffles, yogurt, cereals). Great location only minutes to just about anywhere in Kingston. We'd definitely come back!

Room Tip: We belong to the Best Western club and asked for an upgrade, but one wasn't available, so we set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 4 nights. A good place if you drive as parking is free, but it is not really near anywhere interesting within walking distance. Well-staffed. Nice gym.

Breakfast is simple and ok. It gets pretty boring after a couple of them as nothing changes.

Staff service is ok. Nothing memorable - be it good or bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We love the Fireside Inn. The decor in the Breakfast area and 2 restaurants is lovely.
Rooms are clean and very homey - each has a gas Fireplace, a wonderful way to relax.
It feels luxurious with old european charm. Tom's Place (in the hotel) has great burgers, soups etc. and Bistro Stefan has delicious dinner specials for $20.
Free Parking and Wifi is good. All the staff is very helpful.
There is full Grocery Store walking distance (2doors down) for any thing you need.
Very safe part of town, beautiful pool.
You do have to drive (about 5-10 min) to the downtown area, but that is very small price to pay for the comfort and luxury.
I believe this is the best place in Kingston to stay.

Room Tip: I found every room we stayed in was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Should not be rated as a Best Western PLUS. There are no pluses here. Carpets in hallways are filthy; phone didn't work property, heat lamp in bathroom didn't work; water in shower was luke warm; chips out of tub; funky smell in room; old, tired furniture. Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great atmosphere and friendly place to stay. Great meals at the restaurant, friendly & courteous staff. Easy to get to and plenty of parking. I have stayed at this hotel many times and will be back again. Short drive or cab ride to anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrea, Quebec
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent, yet another night in Kingston recently (it feels as though I am doing a tour of all the hotels there) and thought I would try this particular hotel.

I loved it. Its a very cool mixture of "country" and "nodern". I love, love the decor - which is basically lodge style but super comfortable - including a fireplace AND a HUGE whirlpool. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms were spotless.

Two tvs - a four poster bed and super comfortable beds.

We also spent some great time in the lounge with the great wing back chairs.

The only downside? I wasn't fond of the pillows (lots of them but kind of tiny) and the breakfast (free) was very, very average.

Otherwise, excellent.

Room Tip: If you are a member of the Best Western program you can request an upgrade and you will get it if av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms renovated in 03-04. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.