We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beautiful clean rooms, amazing resturants, great breakfast, wonderful service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Kingston
California USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous beautiful clean rooms, amazing resturants, great breakfast, wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We love the Fireside Inn. The decor in the Breakfast area and 2 restaurants is lovely.
Rooms are clean and very homey - each has a gas Fireplace, a wonderful way to relax.
It feels luxurious with old european charm. Tom's Place (in the hotel) has great burgers, soups etc. and Bistro Stefan has delicious dinner specials for $20.
Free Parking and Wifi is good. All the staff is very helpful.
There is full Grocery Store walking distance (2doors down) for any thing you need.
Very safe part of town, beautiful pool.
You do have to drive (about 5-10 min) to the downtown area, but that is very small price to pay for the comfort and luxury.
I believe this is the best place in Kingston to stay.

Room Tip: I found every room we stayed in was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
57
106
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Should not be rated as a Best Western PLUS. There are no pluses here. Carpets in hallways are filthy; phone didn't work property, heat lamp in bathroom didn't work; water in shower was luke warm; chips out of tub; funky smell in room; old, tired furniture. Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great atmosphere and friendly place to stay. Great meals at the restaurant, friendly & courteous staff. Easy to get to and plenty of parking. I have stayed at this hotel many times and will be back again. Short drive or cab ride to anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrea, Quebec
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent, yet another night in Kingston recently (it feels as though I am doing a tour of all the hotels there) and thought I would try this particular hotel.

I loved it. Its a very cool mixture of "country" and "nodern". I love, love the decor - which is basically lodge style but super comfortable - including a fireplace AND a HUGE whirlpool. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms were spotless.

Two tvs - a four poster bed and super comfortable beds.

We also spent some great time in the lounge with the great wing back chairs.

The only downside? I wasn't fond of the pillows (lots of them but kind of tiny) and the breakfast (free) was very, very average.

Otherwise, excellent.

Room Tip: If you are a member of the Best Western program you can request an upgrade and you will get it if av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent two nights here and could not have been more satisfied. The staff, guest room, restaurant and lounge/bar were all first class. I have no hesitation in recommending The Fireside Inn for a stay in Kingston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions and have always enjoyed it. We have stayed in the regular rooms, whirlpool room and even a fantasy suite. And have always loved it. However our last stay in August was very disappointing. This was a regular fireplace suite. When we first entered the room it had a bad smell to it. I finally pinpointed it to the bed. (Kind of the smell if you leave your clothes in the washer to long before drying). We were late arriving so we showered to head out to supper. I quickly stopped by the desk and mentioned the smell and asked if the sheets could be changed while we were out. I was told this wasn't possible because the maid was gone for the day. I then asked if we could get any towels for the morning since ours were used to get ready for that night. She said ok. When we got back to our room the towels were left by the door. I was surprised that the other used towels were still left in the bathtub. The next morning we got up to start fresh. When we got downstairs for the buffet there was a half an hour left but was hardly any food. Eggs were refilled but sausage and potatoes weren't. Not to mention there wasn't any bacon. Empty tables were covered with dirty plates still. We sat at one and had to wait a few minutes before a waitress made her way to us. I was pleased that when we returned back to our room early afternoon the smell was gone and the old towels were taken out. We then decided to relax by the pool. We were out there for two hours and only saw the waitress twice and both times she went to other side of pool to talk to someone and then went right back in never making her way to our side. The following morning breakfast food was no better. Althought I must say the service was better. There were clean tables this time and there was a gentlemen there who did refill the food even if I did have to wait a bit. I even had to ask for them to refill the orange juice container. But he was very friendly and accommodating. That evening we were taking a taxi downtown for dinner. We stopped by reception and I asked the lady to call a taxi. She did but wasn't friendly about it at all. When we checked out I was prepared to tell the reception how disappointed I was but she didn't even ask how my stay was and quickly dismissed me. I felt maybe she had something pressing to do so figure I would email my disappointment. However I could not find a contact email on their site and saw this instead and so I choose to voice my concerns here. As mentioned before I have stayed here before and have loved it. It was a long time ago but I figured it would remain the same. I was told when checking in that they had just upgraded the rooms and it did look that way and I was told they would be upgrading the A/C as well. The location is good. Close to 401 and midway between downtown resturants and uptown block stores. Maybe it was just a one time fluke but I can't see myself returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn several times and will continue to do so especially because of the first rate service and comfortable accommodation. On our most recent trip, we had just moved our daughter back to Kingston following the passing of my mother in law. It had been a hectic week both emotionally and physically. I had booked our room on the internet and was looking forward to going to Tom's Place for dinner (excellent food and service). Upon check in, to our surprise, she told us that the manager is giving us a complementary upgrade... to a "Fantasy Suite". We couldn't believe our good fortune! We decided on the Renaissance Suite and needless to say, enjoyed our time immensely! Thank you Best Western Plus Fireside Inn... we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We have stayed in many rooms within the hotel and all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario
Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#6 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms renovated in 03-04. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Best Western and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.