We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Excellent Service, Recommend Highly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 36 hotels in Kingston
London, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, Excellent Service, Recommend Highly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn several times and will continue to do so especially because of the first rate service and comfortable accommodation. On our most recent trip, we had just moved our daughter back to Kingston following the passing of my mother in law. It had been a hectic week both emotionally and physically. I had booked our room on the internet and was looking forward to going to Tom's Place for dinner (excellent food and service). Upon check in, to our surprise, she told us that the manager is giving us a complementary upgrade... to a "Fantasy Suite". We couldn't believe our good fortune! We decided on the Renaissance Suite and needless to say, enjoyed our time immensely! Thank you Best Western Plus Fireside Inn... we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We have stayed in many rooms within the hotel and all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    93
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
74
134
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you planning a drive from Montreal to Toronto then this hotel is perfect! The rooms have everything you need... very comfortable with clean facilities. There is a nice fireplace in every room which heats up the room nicely.

Breakfast is great, they include waffles, eggs, sausages, hash brown, cereal, fresh fruit, tea & coffee, fresh juices.. lots of choice. Perfect way to start the day.

WiFi coverage is great throughout the hotel and hotel reception staff are always helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was really please for my one night stay at the Best BEST WESTERN PLUS Fireside Inn. The standar rooms feels like mini-suites. The Staff was nice at check-in / and out . The free continental breakfast is good , but not great! Best place to stay if you whant to cut our travel between Montreal and Toronto. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn on numerous occasions, both for business and leisure. I first at the Fireside Inn several years ago while on a business trip and I was struck by the charm, warmth and comfort of the Canadiana room decor. My wife and I later honeymooned at the Fireside Inn and this year, we returned to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary. The charm, warmth and comfort still remains in the decor. It is complemented by very friendly and helpful staff. The Fireside Inn remains one of our first choices for a romantic getaway location with it's choices of accommodations ranging from fantasy and whirlpool suites although the standard room is equally romantic as all rooms are equipped with comfortable beds, chairs and each has a fireplace.

Room Tip: Hotel is completely smoke-free if that is important. We prefer the west side, second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had two different rooms here in the first week of September while dropping off our daughter at Queen's.

The hotel itself is old. Its been maintained but it definitely shows its age. The rooms were clean, the towels were clean, the linens and pillows were good. WiFi was free as was parking.

The staff were very nice and were accommodating when we needed to check out a day early.

The breakfast that was included was better than a lot of the 'included breakfasts' you get at just about every motel these days.

Location wise this is a great place to stay if you want quick (5 minutes or less) access to Queen's.

I might stay here again - I might try somewhere else. It was fine but I think I'd be inclined to try some place a bit newer and fresher.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is located by Princess Street but way out of town. This would be perhaps its main drawback – you need taxi or car to get to downtown.

The venue is full of character and built as a lodge. The rooms are decorated in old-fashioned style yet this is part of its charm – the place has an intimate and friendly atmosphere. Unlike the soulless chain hotels by the lake.

Breakfast is reasonably varied – have a go at the waffle machine for own-made waffles. Over the two days, however, the menu has not changed so it could get monotonous over longer stays.

There is medium-sized outside pool and few lounges. Access is to the left of the bar.

There is free internet access for the guests.

We had a dinner at the Bistro Stefan at the hotel. The food was tasty and reasonably priced and the jovial atmosphere was greatly enhanced by bubbly Megan.

Try its wood panelled bar for a night cap and a great atmosphere.

If you are a light sleeper avoid odd-numbered rooms starting from 201 to 213 (presumably the same on the lower floor) for the constant hum coming from the engine building on that side of the hotel. In any case rooms on this side are smaller.

Room Tip: Room 200 has a huge king-size bed with a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this hotel, and had a very relaxing and pleasant experience. The front desk attendants were very attentive and helpful. Our room was very clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was okay - would have liked a vanity instead of just a sink - not a lot of room for toiletries. Pool area was quiet, and the waitresses were very attentive for food and drink. The pool was refreshing - not heated. The breakfast was very good - if you are only there for 2 days...after 4 days of the exact same menu, it was very boring. If they could change it every other day, that would have been acceptable. Not a bad stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms renovated in 03-04. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.