We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in an 'ordinary' room for that hotel for our anniversary, took the romantic getaway package and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and breakfast in bed (the latter was part of our package.) The service was great, they know how to make sure you enjoy your stay. Very much enjoyed the meals and the Friday night oysters. Another couple usually stay there for their anniversaries and they showed us their Tranquility Base room. Wow! We have to do this again! And the hotel is not far from the 401 highway, gas at low prices west along Princess Street (highway 2) and the Via station if you don't wish to drive. Downtown is easy to access along Princess Street but you need a car or taxi. Don't know about transit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    93
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
74
135
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good hotel overall. Be careful with the swimming pool if you have children. There is a suction pipe where the children can get hurt if they get close to it. It is on the wall of the swimming pool and it is easy for them to touch it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only one night, but I wish it could have been longer. The hotel has a fireplace in each room, Fantasy Rooms that have to be seen to believe, a huge bar, outside swimming pool, a Bistro and this all included a free breakfast of hot and cold items. Superb. Our room had a huge King Size bed and very comfortable. And the room was huge. The wonderful decor and ceramics in the room gave it the super finishing touches. We will have to go back again and I would love to choose a Fantasy Room. The hotel is approx in the centre of the City and close to everything, shopping, boat tours through the Thousand Islands and Dinner Cruises as well. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and all in all I would definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for making our short stay there a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had Suite 200 overlooking the pool and you also have the bar access from the pool. Very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A super hotel in the middle of the City of Kingston. Close to everything. The hotel has a Bar, Restaurant, Outdoor Swimming pool and a choose of some Fantasy Suites which I am sure I may chose the next time I want someplace special for my wife and I to experience in a very friendly city. Close also to many different type of boat tours and dinner cruises among the Thousand Islands. Over all a great hotel and friendly and courteous staff. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Normally, I would stay at the Marriott or the Holiday Inn Express but they don’t take pets. I guess they don’t want stinky rooms.Traveling with a pet limited my options. Kingston is a funny town. The hotel prices are unreasonably high for a middle class person trying to save some money on vacation.However, the hotel had an extended stay price so that helped. I got the obligatory $10 pet charge per night but that is expected. Plus the free breakfast is an added bonus.

I don’t think this hotel has my perfect combo of price and quality. I wish there was more supply in Kingston to bring prices down a bit. I could take cheaper accommodations but I don’t like to travel like that anymore.

The Fireside Inn has been around a long time and it’s showing its age. However, everything was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was OK but the entrees never changed the 6 nights I stayed there. I had a pet and was kind of locked in. It was good I could get breakfast in the hotel. It made that one meal easier with the pet, plus my dog loves eggs.

The King size bed was very comfortable and the room had a sofa for lounging around. The room was short on space as was the bathroom. Everything was clean and the furniture seemed to be new or at least, recent.

The cleaning staff were very friendly. They loved my dog so that made my stay even better. It’s amazing how many more people you meet and talk to when you have a pet.

I think the location is perfect but you need a car. I imagine most people arrive in Kingston via car so the distance from downtown really doesn't matter. Parking is free and there seems to be enough space. If you stay downtown, it's almost certain you will pay a daily rate for hotel parking. So there's always a compromise.

Overall, the stay was comfortable and it was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved the hotel. It has beautiful bed and fireplace. It is well lit and the pool and gardens are lovely. I swam and lots of chairs around the pool. Staff are friendly and helpful. I had friends to my room and they said it was visiting someones house. Nice tv and the bed was so comfortable. I could have stayed for a few night. It is close to Food Basic and church and malls. A cab ride is @11.40 to down town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morriston, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Comfortable room. Liked the country style decor and brick fireplace. Amenities included a small fridge and a small safe. Comfortable bed. A large assortment of pillows, which I always appreciate. Quiet room. A little outdated but still quite cosy and charming. Really nice free breakfast in a restaurant setting - scrambled eggs and sausages were a nice addition to the usual breakfast fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3EI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms renovated in 03-04. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;