We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for all spots touristy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Handy for all spots touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We booked directly with hotel while enroute to Kingston. Phone reservations handled very smoothly. Upon arrival, smooth sailing at front desk, and we were given a quiet floor (4th) upon our request (a bus load of Germans were coming in - party party party). Room was very nice. Furniture/carpet abit roughed up, but overall, main thing is the bed. Comfy.

Continental breakfast in AM was interesting. Due to perhaps the bus group. Staff were taking the heat from other customers and I believe understaffed - which isn't fair to the staff. We winged it on our own (got coffee from reservation desk area) - grabbed a plate - did our own thing. Sadly, we were never seen to by a server ourselves, which often is the case with us in hotels. We seem to blend in with the furniture. <lol>

Great outdoor swimming pool - if you're not into swimming - pull up a lounge chair - and just stare out into the lake and pretend you're on a sailboat :)

Many thanks to the room cleaner, who when we came back from breakfast to discover we'd forgotten our pass key - asked us a few questions to verify who we were - and viola - she let us in (left her a nice tip!!!). Some places might not have done that due to security.

Overall - would come back if the price was right - and maybe not in the busy season for a change of pace. You couldn't ask for better location to see Fort Henry, hop on the ferry to Wolfe Island for a day trip, or check out the open market when it's happening, along with shops, restaurants all within hoofing distance.

WARNING: parking is an extra $25/day - which we had not known about at the time of booking BUT the complimentary welcome drink at bar when we arrived / breakfast - made up for that little surprise!

Room Tip: Request the top floors - if possible - near at stairway (that way you only have one other wall to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear FatCatAnna,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We take all comments into consideration for improvements and I appreciate your detailed notes. We hope to have you back again soon for your next Kingston adventure!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    171
    99
    48
    20
See reviews for
143
150
14
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights (July) and again on Aug 13 & 14th, are rooms were clean we had a nice view of the waterfront. The staff were very friendly and provided us with exceptional customer service. We plan to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear K A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay with us. We appreciate when guests come to this site to do that. I’m glad you had a lovely stay and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed one night (July 26) at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. This was the second time we stay at this hotel. We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly. We booked online the "all-in" rate that includes buffet breakfast for two and parking. The only add in cost was the $35 pet fee.

Check-in was a breeze. Kyle from front desk was warm and friendly. Our dog also got a cool gift of DocuPet QR coded ID dog tag from the hotel.

Our room was the pet friendly room on the ground floor with sliding glass door towards the grass for the dog. The room was on a smaller side, felt dated but clean and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus. The only downside was the noisy wall mounted AC unit. Location of this hotel cannot be beaten, close enough to be able to walk to many Kingston's attractions and nice restaurants.

Overall this hotel was good for our short stay in Kingston. We will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear travelbug292,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us. I especially love hearing that you thought Kyle was tremendous. We love to hear about our staff and their effect on our guests. We strive to make those expectations for ourselves and feel grateful when guests notice it! Thank you again for being our guests, and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Holiday inn Kingston, Ontario.
Booked here for a 3-night family holiday, very disappointed on first impressions. It seems like it's not been updated since the 80's. We had 2 queen beds- very comfy. But the room was musty, aircon archaic just like the pokey bathroom. Coffee from the in room machine tasted disgusting.
The balcony was absolutely filthy; looks like it's not been cleaned for years. The balcony door security was down to a drop pin as the locking mechanism was broken. Indoor pool had a scum mark all around the perimeter, the outdoor pool was cleaner!
To cap matters off, on our last day we had mouldy bread.
On a positive side the staff are very pleasant.
Best advice, if you like comfortable rooms, book somewhere else.
This is my first post, I regularly travel with work and don't make posts but we we've very disappointed and hope Holiday Inn take the opportunity to undertake a major overhaul of this hotel, it lets their brand down.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jon G,

Thank you for commenting on your stay, I will share your observations for future improvements.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel in the perfect location. Our room was clean and had a nice view of the waterfront. There is a cute park a few feet from the front door and everything you could want was walking distance, from restaurants and ice cream to walking tours. We were happy with the stay and do recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly and attentive. We got the breakfast package, but would not recommend this. The food was okay, but there were many fun, reasonable options just a few blocks away. The only concern was that the indoor pool could use a cleaning. There was this green stuff on the pool walls. It is important that I share that it was with great hesitation I booked at a Holiday Inn. The last two times we stayed with the chain we had nightmare experiences and now usually stay at nothing less than a Hilton or Marriott brand hotel. I was desperate for a great location in Kingston for particular dates. There was a big event going on, so rooms across town were limited. Happy ending to the story is that we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Melarose,

Thank you for commenting on your stay. I am glad to read you enjoyed your visit with us and will return!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here while
Visiting friends. We had some issues with our daughter being ill and this one front desk clerk named Ashley was absolutely fantastic...she brought us new sheets , towels, and tucked my kids back into bed. She was fantastic! Would stay here again. But hopefully with healthy kids!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Irwinj77,

Glad to read Ashley assisted you - she is a great service ambassador. Hope to see you and the family again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We loved our 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn. We managed to get a Harbor view room and being balcony people it was exactly what we wanted, Generally speaking, the hotel staff, amenities and condition was excellent. I could not see anything dated or needing repair. The only issue was all the spider webs we encountered on the balcony and the spiders that were lurking under the chairs. We ended up buying a can of bug spray at the local store and taking care of it ourselves. I guess we could have asked management but wanted to make sure it was done right. I highly recommend they make cleaning the little critters off the balconies as part of their regular room cleaning. The only other complaint was the buffet breakfast. I really don't like the standard tasteless scrambled eggs on buffet. If they offered an omelete station that would have been ideal. Our package included the buffet breakfast but we only tried it once and barely touched it. The other two vouchers went unused. I was disappointed it could not have been used for an a la carte breakfast because I might have gone back for the eggs benedict. The waitress said it did not apply towards the a la carte though.

For those two reasons I can't give it a full rating but we plan to go back again anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for water view farthest from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear PandBtravels,

Thank you for commenting on your stay. I am happy to read you found the hotel in proper condition. I also appreciate you assisting with our spider web challenges - definitely a continuous battle to keep on top of! I am also speaking with our Director of Food & Beverage to review your egg suggestions for possible improvements.

Thanks again, I appreciate your feedback.

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario, 2 blocks from Queen's University (1.53km) and Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km), 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet.We are proud to present the DOX Restaurant and Lounge with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. The Dox features a delicious breakfast, perfect for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Why not make Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront your next destination for a perfect stay!Breathtaking vista views from your own private balcony will have you surveying Kingston like never before. Historic Kingston is just waiting to be discovered! Join us on Kingston's only TRUE Waterfront Patio, Dox Restaurant and Lounge. Sample our inspired menu creations, while enjoying your favorite beverage! Lakeside dining at the DOX is here and we can't wait to be the host with the most! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.