We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wierd pillows can be replaced if you ask.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 36 hotels in Kingston
toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Wierd pillows can be replaced if you ask.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a King room. I thnk it was on the 5th floor. I was quiet and there were no issues with the room except the pillows. There were 4 of them, each about the size of a throw cushion on a couch, mayabe 16" square or so. They are useless for sitting in bed, and annoying flor sleeping. We asked, and they replaced them with conventional pillows, but I feel we should not have to go through that step. Conventional pillows should be located in the room, or else we should be asked at check-in if we want them.

However, we did not experience any of the issues about which other people have sometimes complained here.

There is a charge for parking, which is outdoors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear loo,

Thank you for supplying feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Your comments are extremely important to us and we are in the process of re-evaluating our pillows to ensure guest comfort and enjoyment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    138
    79
    39
    17
See reviews for
122
120
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for three days and was served by helpful and cheerful staff. They didn't give me the side-eye when I asked them to not make up my room during my stay.

The buffet breakfast had good variety and you can be in and out very quickly.

The location can't be beat! It's right on the main drag in Kingston; Princess Street.

The room was average, the king size bed was really soft with four pillows. The bathroom is not disgusting. The walls are thin but it was actually quite quiet.

Internet speed isn't fantastic but bearable and there was a fridge in my room as well as an iron and board.

My balcony overlooked the lake - nice and I could actually open the door and go out there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RikThurnheer,

We appreciate your patronage and for taking the time to review our property. To better serve our valued guests, we have embarked on an Internet upgrade plan to install Fibre Optic Service. This should address any instances of slower Internet Speed.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed here a few times while on business in Kingston, as I prefer to stay downtown when I am there. Have been quite happy with the service, the rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Enjoy having a balcony overlooking the water and being close enough to walk to my favourite restaurant. Buffet breakfast is included and can usually get a decent deal on rates. Enjoy the pool, sauna and hot tub as well, and free wifi unlike downtown Toronto!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear weistk,

We are happy to hear that all aspects of your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront were enjoyable! We look forward welcoming you on your next trip to Kingston. Should you wish to set up an annual corporate rate with us, please contact me at 613.549.8400 ext 2600 and I will take care of that for you.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stay at this Hotel every week and have done so going on 3 years now. Therefore I expect a clean room, great internet service, friendly staff, and parking close to the main entrance of the hotel. This hotel offers every item I have mentioned. In addition the beds are the most comfortable ever and you have a choice of a soft or firm pillow. Breakfast is a good hearty Canadian breakfast with everything you would expect. I cannot say enough about the staff and by that I mean ALL of them from the chambermaids, to the parking attendants, to the restaurant servers, to the front desk staff, the maintenance staff and management who are out and about ensuring all is well. The guest is top priority here and that keeps me coming back every week. They recognize and greet Priority Club Members on many occasions by name. During the week when I stay there it is a quiet business, family and your mix of guests. Always hot water for your shower. Dogs are relegated to the main floor only so they have easy access to the outdoors. The floors are quiet at night. Check in and check out is quick and friendly. The location is right downtown close to all amenties including shopping and yet is still situated right on the waterfront.
It is an entirely smoke-free Hotel that I appreciate. Rick R.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water offer a better view however all rooms have been refurbished and every room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear vegasguys,

Thank you again for your great feedback on your experiences at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

We look forward to your next arrival.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed one night on the way to Niagara Falls and we had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel. As others have mentioned, the location is tops, numerous restaurants and pubs and tourist attractions are a short stroll away. The hotel directly faces the lake, providing a beautiful view of the water, city and Wolfe Island.

Our room was a corner suite with a balcony with chairs directly over the water and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the many boats on the lake, it was very peaceful and the view at night was lovely also. Our room was very bright, spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable and easily as good as those in more expensive hotels. The check in was a breeze and the staff were very pleasant. We purchased the romance package which included wine and chocolates which were in our room as promised after we returned from dinner.

I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 as the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment at the hotel. While the staff were very pleasant, and the restaurant was airy and bright, the buffet breakfast was quite plain and limited in choices. They also forgot to bring us our coffee, it was eventually delivered but we had already finished and were ready to leave. But overall the stay was great and the hotel gets a full thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear RoxyRoadTrip,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I have noted your comments for immediate improvement to ensure we get the 5 out of 5 we strive for!

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This waterfront hotel has a great location.......walking distance to the harbor, visitor center, restaurants, downtown, city hall, but you pay the price! We felt it was unnecessarily expensive for a Holiday Inn. Also, be aware that breakfast is not automatically included unless you book it that way.
I thoroughly enjoyed the swim in the fitness center that extends out over the water!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear WashingtonTraveler60,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the wonderful sights of historic downtown Kingston that are just steps from our door. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the waterfront views our fitness centre.

We hope to have you return on your next trip to Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaceburg, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great Location. The rooms were well appointed and clean. It is well located in downtown Kingston within walking distance to various attractions. We enjoyed our stay. We did not eat in the hotel and thus can not comment on the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear TheoneandonlyCT,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are glad you chose to stay with us and are very happy you had such a nice experience in downtown Kingston.

We look forward welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Holiday Inn Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario
Address: 2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kingston
#9 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario, 2 blocks from Queen's University (1.53km) and Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km), 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet.We are proud to present the DOX Restaurant and Lounge with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. The Dox features a delicious breakfast, perfect for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Why not make Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront your next destination for a perfect stay!Breathtaking vista views from your own private balcony will have you surveying Kingston like never before. Historic Kingston is just waiting to be discovered! Join us on Kingston's only TRUE Waterfront Patio, Dox Restaurant and Lounge. Sample our inspired menu creations, while enjoying your favorite beverage! Lakeside dining at the DOX is here and we can't wait to be the host with the most! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.