We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Picton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great birthday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Recently I decided to put together a little getaway for a friend's birthday. I chose this hotel and we were not disappointed! The staff were very accomodating, especially those in the dining room and room service (they even found us birthday candles!). Our room was clean and comfortable (love the soft AND firm pillows) with a great view of the lake. Our only disappointment was that we were only there for one night!

This hotel should really have a spa ( and I don't mean hot tub)

PS The lifeguards were always smiling and had a great sense of humor

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear SunnygirlC,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your birthday getaway. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    169
    95
    46
    20
See reviews for
142
146
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My partner and I just returned from spending a night at the Holiday Inn, we were here 3 years ago and if anything it has just gotten better. Our room was ready when we showed up a little early and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.Our room was 451 and faced west towards the harbour, we prefer this because you get to watch the boats go in and out of the harbour and you don't have the noise from the pool, which is on the other side of the hotel.
The room was big and clean and being able to sit out on a balcony was heaven - as you got to watch the sunset and hear the waves against the pier.
The bed was perfect, the pillows were perfect and the bathroom was clean and perfect - it doesn't get much better than that! The walls are quite thick because the hotel was full but we never heard any noise from other guests.
In the morning we had room service for breakfast and it arrived exactly on time, steaming hot and delivered by a very awake and friendly staff person. The presentation of the breakfast tray was lovely, as was the coffee and eggs, bacon and toast, everything was delicious and I highly recommend getting breakfast room service so you can sit out on your private balcony and have a quiet breakfast overlooking the water.
Some people have complained about the $14.00 parking fee - but if you take the stub in to the front desk they validate it for you when you leave and you do not have to pay anything!
This hotel is the only one in Kingston on the water with balconies, and a restaurant outside by the water. It is within walking distance of lovely restaurants as well as the LCBO.
I recommend this place to anyone staying overnight in Kingston.

Room Tip: Choose the west side so you get to see the harbour and not hear the people in the pool on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear CanadaVirgi,

We appreciate your complimentary feedback regarding your recent revisit to the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are pleased you have enjoyed your visits over the years and are able to take advantage of the beautiful vistas our waterfront location and balconies offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great summer stay!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Pros are: perfect location for downtown shopping/eating (Kingston has a lot of good downtown restaurants), KROCK centre is really close if an event there is in your plans, both an indoor and outdoor pool, kid friendly. views are nice, balcony is small but very nice to have, in house restaurant is quite nice as well. Rooms were clean and place was quiet. Beds seemed nice.

Cons: Price - it seems in line with other hotels in downtown Kingston, but the prices are steep enough I have no interest in spending 2 or more nights there, in fact we had decided to drive home after the Wednesday night Fort Henry show rather than pay for another night at the hotel. No breakfast or parking included with room price. (Restaurant does offer free kids breakfast with adult meal purchase). Rooms are small for a family of 4. I would be happy to stay here on business.

Overall, I rate this as average as the entire cost of the hotel (room, parking,breakfast) was quite high relative to other downtown hotels in Ontario. The hotel itself is old and it shows in the hallways and room sizes. The staff seemed quite good all around. As others say, location is great if you plan to do stuff downtown Kingston.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Bigdaddy316,

Thank you for your detailed remarks. Your comments help us increase our learning and give us the opportunity to review our standards and levels of service. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future should your travel plans include Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a great stay here, beautiful view by the water and great accommodations. The room was very large for a very reasonable price. I stayed here for business and it was a very close walk to many restaurants and bars downtown. Clean, good service, good facilities.

Room Tip: Lakeside view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Kyle M,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront! We are pleased to have had you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great White North
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The lobby is quite bright and welcoming and the restaurant is just past the front desk.

Great location especially if you get a room with a view of the water. I believe the Ferry view side is better. You get to watch the hustle and bustle at the docks and it is quite fun.

I turned off the AC and left the balcony door open hoping to sleep with a breeze, but my stay happened to be just after Canada Day and there was no breeze in the evening and it was soo hot outside so I gave up and opted for the AC for a more comfortable sleep.

The location is it's greatest asset and there is a plethora of eating and shopping establishments up and down Princess Street. It was a nice evening for walking so we took advantage.

Yes, parking was expensive, but there were really no other alternatives. Thankfully, you didi have in-and-out priviledges plus I was also there on business anyway, so it didn't really matter.

I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Gnutter,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as our fabulous location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again for your next Kingston vist.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

As prior posters have said, this is a wonderful location, esp. on a sunny summer day.

We had a water view room, and enjoyed watching the boats.

The outdoor pool is very nice, best pool lounges I have every used.

We had the room with breakfast, the buffet was very nice. There was some confusion on the breakfast for the kids. i had called the hotel directly before booking as I was comparing prices iwth the two other waterfront hotels, and I was assured the kids breakfast (both under 12) was free. At breakfast the waitress said no, they were half price, so I paid that. On check out I pointed this out to the front desk, who very nicely adjusted my bill.

Overall I would recmmend this hotel, the beds are very good, linens are nice. Hotel itself is not new, but they are working hard to keep it up in good shape.

Room Tip: Water views either face the Wolf Island ferry side, or the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear WPCCAM,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I have used your comments regarding confusion with Holiday Inn's Kids Eat Free policies as a re-training exercise for our dedicated Service Associates. (Just to clarify, Kids 12 and under eat free off the Kids Menu!)

Thank you again for your detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel in the last few days. As others have written, the bed is comfortable, and you do hear noises, we had the room above us running the bath water for half an hour or better one evening. Also, the parking fee is tolerable, a lot less than the last time we stayed downtown Toronto. Being as we had a room with a view of the water, we took advantage of the balcony and did leave the sliding door open most of the time to allow the fresh air in, it wasn't that hot out. The "clean out" truck running at 6:30 in the morning out on the dock for the island cruise ferries was unexpected. Did use the outdoor pool one afternoon, lots of seating available on this day and the kids weren't too noisy. We did not use the restaurant as we like to walk about, and there are numerous eating establishments within 20 mins. walking distance. Had no qualms or issues with this hotel or staff. The cleaning crew were friendly every morning as they went about their tasks. Would stay again on our next visit to Kingston.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear brewers99,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to Kingston. It was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are continually striving to improve our delivery of hospitality and service and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario, 2 blocks from Queen's University (1.53km) and Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km), 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet.We are proud to present the DOX Restaurant and Lounge with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. The Dox features a delicious breakfast, perfect for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Why not make Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront your next destination for a perfect stay!Breathtaking vista views from your own private balcony will have you surveying Kingston like never before. Historic Kingston is just waiting to be discovered! Join us on Kingston's only TRUE Waterfront Patio, Dox Restaurant and Lounge. Sample our inspired menu creations, while enjoying your favorite beverage! Lakeside dining at the DOX is here and we can't wait to be the host with the most! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.