We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lakeside patio dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Uxbridge, Canada
1 review
“Awesome lakeside patio dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A great hotel, but the best part was dinner on the patio overlooking the lake on 28 June. The views of the lake, ferries, and military college were stunning at sunset.. The menu was sufficiently varied and of excellent quality. I had the maple chicken with roasted potatoes, which was superb, and my daughter had chicken fettuccine, which she enjoyed thoroughly. Our waiter was excellent - he was welcoming, professional, and properly attentive. The hotel's location downtown is a real plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    188
    108
    54
    25
See reviews for
153
159
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our room overlooked the harbour and provided a good view - it was clean and functional with a king size bed, chair, desk, fridge but no safe, although deposit boxes are available from the front desk. We stayed on a Saturday night and we found the hotel to be quite noisy with doors slamming and loud voices in the corridors well into the night. On a more positive point, we arrived at 11:00am and we were able to check in with no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from stairs and lift if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Holiday Inn in Kingston has become an important part of our routine escapes from home. The staff are fantastic and the newly decorated rooms (I guess it's been a couple of years now) are extremely comfortable. Plus free wifi!

See you soon.

Room Tip: You want to be on the south side, over looking the boats, lake and Wolf Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a last minute getaway and was treated to wonderful service in a great location. The housekeeping department was soooo friendly with super clean rooms. The front desk people were very helpful with things to do in the area and having an afternoon drink on their outdoor patio was great. Will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is an excellent home base to see Kingston. Its lake view is great, and it's near the touristy spots. The choice of pillows (firm and soft) made for a good nights sleep and warm bathroom floor was a nice touch. The restaurant needs to expand its menu quite a bit, but is accomadating to late night diners. The cleaning ladies were friendly and the front desk staff were pleasant , helping with my request from getting a clipboard to late check outs. Unfortunately magnetized door keys are quite unreliable, I had to reprogram mine several times. Hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Hi and thank you for your review of our hotel. As a relaunched Holiday Inn, our guests are noticing the attention to detail (such as our special pillows among many other hallmark items) which defines our new brand standard.

We will definitely take your comments into consideration when we revise our menus to reflect our summer waterfront location.

Should your future travel plans include Kingston please contact me at 613-549-8400 x 2600 and I will personally arrange your accommodation and dining.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had our May 28th wedding (ceremony and reception) at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It was the perfect day. The waterfront Garden was beautifully groomed and set the perfect backdrop for our ceremony. The banquet hall was set up exactly how I wanted it down to the smallest detail.

These days, GOOD customer service is something I rarely find, however Staff at the hotel really went above an beyond!! Every person we interacted with was friendly and helpful. Catering management was phenomenal!! They literally made the day stress free!! They even accommodated VERY last minute food changes for a guest with allergies. Every small hiccup was handled in a prompt and professional manner!

I cannot say enough good things about our wedding experience with this hotel! I would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Hi Rebecka-

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences! We were honoured to be the host venue for your big day. I would like to extend to you a complimentary overnight stay for your one year anniversary, please contact me at 613-549-8400 to confirm your accommodation. See you in 1 year!

Regards,
Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed at this Holiday Inn 6 years ago and was shocked at how bad it was. Shabby rooms, horrible service etc. I returned to this hotel with my boyfriend in April and was totally impressed with an absolute transformation. Product is great, service is great and it is obvious the attention management has taken to ensure guest happiness. Best sleep ever!! I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear vdubgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do hope you will make Kingston a regular vacation spot and that we will have the delightful opportunity to welcome you back. I have shared your comments with our dedicated team of associates who are very appreciative as well. Please contact me personally at 613-549-8400 to arrange your next getaway.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario, 2 blocks from Queen's University (1.53km) and Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km), 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km) boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet.We are proud to present the DOX Restaurant and Lounge with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. The Dox features a delicious breakfast, perfect for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Why not make Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront your next destination for a perfect stay!Breathtaking vista views from your own private balcony will have you surveying Kingston like never before. Historic Kingston is just waiting to be discovered! Join us on Kingston's only TRUE Waterfront Patio, Dox Restaurant and Lounge. Sample our inspired menu creations, while enjoying your favorite beverage! Lakeside dining at the DOX is here and we can't wait to be the host with the most! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.