We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kingston to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada (Alcan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Clean and Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Recently, we spent one night at this hotel,just off of the 401 at Kingston. The hotel seems relatively new and very clean. Our room was large with two queen size beds. The bathroom was very roomy and also very clean. We took a 3 hour cruise on the St. Lawrence through the Thousand Islands, which was windy but lovely.This hotel was not downtown, but it was very convenient and easy to get to town and the harbour. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    126
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
139
72
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is an excellent 401 hotel. Front desk staff were very helpful. The room was great. Loved the huge walk in shower rather than a shower in the tub. They actually had glass drinking glasses and real coffee mugs rather than cardboard. Very good gym open 24h.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

One of the nicer Courtyards I have stayed but why shouldn't it be for its only four years old. However, the entrance floods each time it rains and if there is more than one car present you may need to wade through to or three inches of water. The check in could have gone better as the welcome staff was aloof and unfriendly and were not hired for their personality. This was reconfirmed when we subsequently ask for tea in the room instead of coffee and were told they did not furnish tea and we should go buy it at the Bistro. Not withstanding their attitude the rooms were well maintained and very nice. This is a good place for a kids for the hotel has a nice pool with water slide (See Photo). A large IMAX theater across the street. The hotel also has city trolley service to the waterfront on Friday - Sunday so you do not need to pay for city parking. A couple restaurants are located nearby and breakfast is served at the Bistro for $10 which is reasonable for Marriott prices. I would stay here again inspire of the surely staff. A small outlet mall is located next door.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
Green Features: Bathroom card explains towel reuse policy which contributes to the environment for less water and energy use
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

You know what to expect when you come to a courtyard. This place is exactly what you would expect.

Clean room and comfortable bed. except for the old tea bag in the coffee pot.

Located real close to 401 in a outlet mall. It is a few km from downtown.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The room could have been cleaner, the pullout couch in my room had popcorn, chips and a marble underneath it, the rug was dingy looking. There was something wrong with the toilet and it didn't always flush. BUT.... There was a copy of the globe and mail outside the room daily. There was a bar fridge and micowave in addition to the standard coffee maker most hotels have. The staff was helpful and vert nice. There is also a great outlet mall just next to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for staying with us!

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of your stay.So sorry to hear we needed to improve on our cleanliness and the maintenance matter of the toilet. We certainly do not expect anything less than the best for our guests, and we certainly did not provide that for your stay.

We are happy to hear that overall we are in the positive, though we certainly could have improved on that. Please accept our apologies.

We hope you will revisit us on a future stay in Kingston and give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Yours in hospitality,

The Courtyard Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel, which is in the low-to-middle brackets for cost. Brand-new and sparkling clean. Excellent room design. Good friendly service; various refreshments available. A Starbucks cafe that seems to be open 18 hrs a day and serves a hot breakfast. Complimentary newspaper in the lounges and at the doorsteps of rooms. The water slide wasn't open-- a drawback for families. Two small complaints. First, the clerk frowned when looking up my reservation, perhaps, because I had booked online through an agency. When I was departing, a second clerk requested I call the hotel chain before booking anything through an agency, to "obtain the same price." She then said the hotel could "suggest a range of options," which sounded like the hotel would push for you to upgrade to meet the original room price. This was awkward and strange -- can't remember the last time a hotel groused about a booking at reduced rates. Secondly, the hotel is very hard to spot in the surrounding streets when you exit the highway. It needs either a large, illuminated sign on top, or very visible street signs, right at the exit ramps. Right now, all you see when you come into the actual street is the cheaper and older motel by the restaurant strip -- don't be tempted by that choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a new offering in hotels in Kingston. As such it was clean and fresh and an overall great place to stay. Rooms were spacious. Fun shopping, dining and entertainment within walking distance. And just off the highway for easy traveller access.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Address: 103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Alcan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.