We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations on every level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kingston to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada (Alcan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations on every level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I usually painstakingly search out boutique hotels and charming inns. This time we decided to go for something more utilitarian as we moved our daughter into her college apartment- closer to the big box stores, the highway, while still being close to downtown.
I judge hotels by their soul and charm and even though this place is a chain, it had both!
The rooms were very nicely decorated and appointed. The lobby inviting. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fitness facility, pool as nice as many spa hotels we have stayed at. Guest laundry facilities with complementary detergent. Starbucks coffee delicious (I'd rather pay for a good cup of coffee than have a free lousy one). We had breakfast one day- simple oatmeal and dried fruit - again delicious and well priced.
Superb value all around- about half the cost of our usual historic inn.
If this place were transplanted to a large city centre, added a bit of glass art and put the staff in fashionable uniforms, this place would have the feel of a sleek modern city hotel.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    127
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
143
73
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times and always a positive experience. Beautiful rooms, courteous staff and great location. It's awesome to be able to walk out the front door and have shopping and restaurants right in the parking lot. So convenient to the 401 also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second stay and they have implemented a practice to not offer free coffee in the lobby in the morning. We found this disappointing as they want you buy coffee at their Starbucks restaurant.

The wi-fi internet was poor (intermittent and slow) in our room so I decided to connect with an Ethernet cable.
The jack did not work ( I tried 3 different cables).

The King room and the property are very nice, with a bit of effort the owners could make it an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: If internet is important to you, check it in your room before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Goodday and Greetings from Kingston!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write about your experience.

It is true that we no longer offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. This is the same for all Courtyard by Marriott hotels who offer Starbucks in the Bistro. The truth is, we do want our guests to experience the premium java and tea options available at the Starbucks. Starbucks is a premium product, just as Marriott is. We wanted our offerings to reflect that premium sensibility and found that offering the complimentary lobby coffee was watering down that aspect.

Understanding that not all guests are fans of Starbucks coffee, perhaps because of cost or it's just not their "cup of tea" so-to-speak, we do continue to offer complimentary coffee for brewing within your guest room and will always do so.

With regard to the internet concern, we had been made aware of some connectivity issues surrounding the dates of your stay that have since been resolved. We know how important it is for our guests to be connected and understand the frustration when it becomes a difficult matter. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, and will continue to monitor the concern on a close basis with our provider.

We hope to see you again on your next stay in Kingston.

Please, do not hesitate to message me directly the next time you're planning a visit to Kingston. It'd be my pleasure to personally oversee the care of your reservation.

Until then,

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was really impressed with this place. If you are driving its just off the 401. We arrived at 7:30 am in the morning because our friends were staying there already and we had an event to go to. We asked if we could check in and weren't surprised when they said we couldn't. They were so friendly though and explained that housekeeping hadn't even arrived. While waiting for our friend in the very welcoming,bright and spacious lobby a few minutes later they let us know that they had found a room for us and that we could check in!

There's a Boston Pizza within the parking lot and several factory outlet stores in the same lot. Every fast food joint you could think of in the area as well

Nice shower - I prefer this instead of a bathtub but those who wAnt a tub will be surprised. We had a great sleep and were not bothered by any noise. I think this is better than staying in downtown Kingtston although this assumes that you are arriving by car.

I would definitely stay here again. The staff so helpful at checkin,checkout. The place has a brand new feel.

Room Tip: There are only two elevators so a room on the ground floor isn't necessarily a bad thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Glad we stayed at The Courtyard Hotel by Marriot Kingston.The hotel was in a good location, right off the 401. We stayed for two days and hotel suited us just fine. The service was great at the front desk guick and easy
. The rooms were decorated very nicely and the bed was extremely comfortable.We were only a ten miniute drive to Princess Street and enjoyed our time there also. We would really recomended this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a very short stay here with the family after visiting relatives up in South Frontenac. Beautiful lobby and the room was very nice to look at as well. Man at the front desk was helpful with our very late check-in, even adding some humour which was nice.

The room itself fit my wife and I on a king and our two small kids on the pull out. Everyone had a good sleep, which is all we really wanted.

Fantastic hotel from the little we saw and did, but would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When I saw where the hotel was located, just off highway 401, I was disappointed but it quickly faded when we went inside. It's located at the end of a outlet strip mall across from Boston Pizza and Swiss Chalet and a mega movie-plex. It's a 15 to 20 minute drive to downtown.
However, it's a brand new hotel beautifully decorated in contemporary furniture and a colour scheme of red, tan, brown and blue throughout.
There's a tiny kidney-shaped pool popular with families because of the two story water slide. You cannot swim laps in here. The gym next door is very decent as the laundry room is adjacent to that.
Our room was immaculate. The bedding is clean and the same colour scheme as the lobby. Amenities included an empty fridge and microwave.
The window overlooked an industrial park and the coffee maker was an old fashioned drip kind with undrinkable coffee. Those were the only two complaints.
We didn't use the business centre or the restaurant in the lobby but it's an open concept so you see everyone and everything.
Off the games room/lounge, there's an actual courtyard with a nice 6 foot plus privacy wall and comfortable patio furniture. We sat out there before breakfast and enjoyed it.
The room, two queens, was $165 including tax . I noticed flyers for many promotions including a $50 visa card for the outlet shopping package and a $25 gas card. We were not offered any specials upon booking so I'd ask. They do offer a CAA discount..
We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay off the ground floor because it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Address: 103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Alcan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.