We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey team travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada (Alcan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 37 hotels in Kingston
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hockey team travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A newer hotel next to the 401 sharing a parking lot with outlet stores and restaurants with a new cineplex being built across the street. A terrific weekend. The staff, rooms, hotel, location, city were all excellent. We had a team in for a hockey tournament and everyone was singing the praises of our visit. Rooms are large and quiet. The Bistro area in the lobby serves a decent quick breakfast and is also licensed. Only minutes from downtown. Kingston is a very nice city and this hotel makes me want to visit more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings from Kingston, Towelboy!

Thank very much for writing about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that our facilities and services met the needs and expectations of you and your group.

We agree wholeheartedly with your statement that Kingston is a very nice city. We hope you will come back for a visit and look forward to being your hotel of choice during your stay.

Thanks again for choosing us as your hotel during your torunament. We hope to see you back soon.

Until then,

Safe and Happy Travels!

Matthew P. Fry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    98
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
112
59
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

New hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Very condusive to Business travel. If you are travelling and want an east off and easy on hotel, this is the one. While the hotel has it's Bistro, there are many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stay here before two time and everytime i visit this hotel the service get better and better.
The room are always clean and the staff is very friendly. The made to order breakfast is second to none. Great value for the money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings Rick C!

Thank you very much for choosing us as your place to stay while in Kingston.

We are happy to hear that you enjoy our hotel and the services we provide. It is always our goal to continue improving and we are thrilled to hear you have noticed some improvements between your visits with us.

We hope you will continue to choose us as your home when you visit Kingston and look forward to your next visit to town.

Until then,

Cheers!

Matthew P. Fry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night on my way to Ottawa and found it to be my favourite Courtyard stay yet. The property is very new and still maintains its near perfect newness. The beds are amongst the most comfortable I have slept in when travelling--nearly rivalling the beds at The Plaza in NYC. The hotel also gives Marriott Silver/Gold Platinum guests free beverages from The Market, and the free coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the mornings is also quite welcome. There are also many restos nearby (Swiss Chalet, Arby's, McDonalds, A&W, Dairy Queen, Denny's, Starbucks, Harvey's, Tim Horton's and East Side Marios) within a short drive or goodly walk. A quality property with great staff!

Room Tip: I was in 401 at the end of the (top floor) hallway and found this to be a quiet room with a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello NYUCanadian!

Thank you very much for being a loyal Elite Marriott Rewards Member. We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott Family of hotels and are happy to have had the opportunity to have you as a guest at our Courtyard.

We appreciate you taking the time to write about our hotel and sharing your experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Have safe and happy travels until then,

Matthew P. Fry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here one night with a girls basketball team while participating in a tournament in Kingston. The service was great! Hotel has very well insulated walls as we didn't hear a thing at any point in time. Located right beside an outlet strip mall... perfect for a girls basketball team. Also a Boston Pizza is in the same parking lot. Perfect for the coaches to enjoy a beverage!
Breakfast that was included was very tasty and served very quickly. Only complaint is that it is a wee bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Simply put "I love this hotel!"
This is a newer hotel located just off the division street exit of the 401 in the outlet shopping mall plaza. It has all the amenities from a water slide for the kids, to a microwave, and seating area in each room with free parking on site.
I travel here all the time for business, and have even starting using the facility for meeting room space. (The hotel offers amazing room rates for groups ranging from the affordable $109-$129 per night, and offers meeting space for free if you do a block of rooms!)
Although this hotel is not in the downtown core, it is a short and cheap cab ride away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same at this hotel the only variance is whether you prefer two queens or a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Erin!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your stays with us, be it our with our guest rooms or our meeting facilities.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor, and especially so for continuing to be a loyal guest of ours.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Kingston.

Until then,

Cheers!

Matthew P. Fry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I feel the need to start this review by mentioning the fact that this hotel likely has the single most comfortable mattresses (my opinion) in Canada. Other than that, the hotel is quite new and clean, conveniently located and offer has great promotions. In addition, the value for the price can't be beat. The main reason I have held back from a perfect score is the front desk staff. Although they are quick to get you checked in and out, they aren't overly willing to help you out too much. Often I am suggested to "just Google it" or "use my GPS". I will certainly continue to stay at this hotel regularly when in Kingston, ON. Last week was my 6th stay in 4 months...

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly equal at this hotel. You can't really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings from Kingston,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you find our beds so comfortable. That is, afterall, a very important part of the hotel expereince.

I am sorry to hear that our Guest Services Associates were not overly helpful when it came to your requests. I can assure you, this is not indictive of the high level of service that we strive to provide each and every guest. It is quite disappointing and disconcerting to hear that a guest request was handled in this unprofessional manner.

As a direct result of your comments, we have taken the effort to re-train all of our Guest Services Associates in a one on one scenario on how to properly and professionally respond to all guest requests. While we do train our staff on a regular basis, it seems that we had temporarily forgotten why we are here. That is, to service our guests.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. It allows us to improve on our shortcomings and make every guest stay as great as it can be, continuing to secure our placement as a top Kingson Hotel.

We do hope to see you return, and please accept our promise that our high level of service execution will match and exceed your expectations.

Until next time,

Safe & Happy travels.

Matthew P. Fry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Ontario
Address: 103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Alcan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kingston to your Saves list