We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kingston to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada (Alcan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good place to stay. Had my 3 year old son with me. he didnt want to play in the pool. but I bigger kids had a good time in the pool.

I liked the gym very much- just enough stuff. not too much.

Located away from the waterfront. However we enjoyed shopping at the mall nearby. As all the eateries are in the vicinity, food was not a problem.

My wife liked the drinks and service at the bar.

All of us slept like babies. I guess this is a common review about this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    134
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
148
78
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week from 29 June to 6 July as we were waiting to take possession of our new house in town.

ROOMS: The rooms were excellent: spacious, love the microwave and coffee machine. The only negative is the poor quality of the signal on the tv. I don't understand how a brand new building has managed to get his wiring for cable so bad that half the stations are snowy (felt like when I was a kid and had to adjust the rabbit ears)

AMBIENCE: The hotel seems to be a big draw for families involved in sports tournament. I am not sure if the hotel is sponsoring these events but I was not fun to be there on the weekends. The kids were noisy, disruptive on the common areas such as the restaurant and the pool. The hotel staff seemed disengaged and would have appreciate a more involved approach. Don't get my wrong, we had my 5 year old with us and we all know that sometimes kids will be loud however I felt it was too much.

RESTAURANT: Outstanding food and very friendly staff although on the pricey side

POOL: Love the pool during the week, impossible to go on weekends due to teenagers taking over the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is brand spanking new- yes it is a little pricey for the location but it is spotless, everything is clean and new and looks great. Location isnt downtown kingston, instead though there is an outlet mall adjacent and lots of fast food places around (if thats what you want).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello!

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our location, as well as taking time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.
I appreciate and understand your comment regarding the room rate, however I am quite confident that should you shop rates for the downtown properties, you will find much higher rates as well as the inclusion of a parking fee.
We feel that we provide a high quality value alternative to our higher priced competitors and strive to ensure that each guest experience meets that standard.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to be your hotel of choice while visiting Kingston and hope to see you return soon.

Until then,

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Courtyard by Marriott in Kingston. We were allocated Room 123, a room adapted for the handicapped. We felt this made it extra spacious, so we were quite content. The room was very clean, very comfortable and there was free Wi-Fi available. As well as coffee making facilities, there was a fridge and microwave, which we found useful. (The location of Room 123 was next to the ice making machine which was quite noisy on occasion however). We drove downtown from the hotel to eat which was no problem. There are numerous fast food eateries on the complex but nothing of real quality. The hotel is a magnet for families and there were lots of children staying whilst we were there. Some were quite excitable which we understood and coped with, but what did annoy us was that when we were trying to print off boarding passes for our flight home, on the PCs in the main reception area, all were manned by children playing computer games! The staff on Reception were extremely helpful and all in all our stay was a reasonable one,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while in town for my brother's wedding. It was a busy weekend, so we weren't in the hotel itself other than to sleep and get ready.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by friendly staff in a large, modern lobby. The rooms were decently sized, and quite clean and modern. The bathroom was very clean.

I ate breakfast there one morning... again, extremely friendly staff. It's just a little cafe with several menu options.

This was great value for what we paid and we'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Greetings from Kingston!

We are extremely happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expections during your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us! We hope the wedding was a success and that we'll be able to see you return to stay again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have just stayed there for one night. It was nice and clean. Staff were helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast.

Room Tip: Check out the swimming pool which is chlorine free and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great lobby with large screen TV where we watched the fifth game of the Stanley Cup final, great pool with waterslide, large double/double room, very clean, free parking, outlet shops in adjoining parking, many restaurants available and box stores all within walking distance. I do not understand why other reviewers provided a four rating. This hotel is a definite five for it's category. Service was also excellent. Thank you for a great and restful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome. We stayed on the main level near the pool and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We are going to have to agree with your statement that "this hotel is a definitive five for its category" :)

We do strive to be not only the best hotel in Kingston, but the best Courtyard by Marriott in North America (as of right now, we sit at #18 out 828 hotels!).

We appreciate you taking time to submit a review and the kinds words you wrote about us and your experience here.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Until then,

Safe & Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston

Address: 103 Dalton Ave., Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Alcan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.