We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Earl Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada (Sydenham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location and view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We recently stayed at this property for one night with a family of 5 with a 2 bedroom unit. WE had an excellent view of the lake, RMC and Fort Henry. Check-in was fast. The room was clean and spacious. It is within easy walking distance to all of the sites downtown and to Queen's University. The Royal Military College and Fort Henry are a 10 minute drive at most. The breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Aldanmikol,

our water view suites are definitely something to write home about! Especially our premium water view suites. The view you're talking about is my favourite too. You can see the Wolfe Island Ferry commuting over the water (free to take!), and as you mentioned, Fort Henry and RMC. It's also kind of neat to see the LaSalle Causeway bridge opening and closing.

And to really experience the 1000 Islands, there is also the option to hop on one of Kingston's 1000 Island Cruise Ships for a more in-depth and catered experience!

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to our lovely city!

-David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    143
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
179
122
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed in room 315 and had occasion to use the pull-out couch. However there were no sheets or pillows available for this in the room and we had to call for them. We also ran out of toilet paper and there was no extra in the room. Had to call for that as well as another shampoo and bath towels. Also the toilet flushes from other rooms is quite noticeable. This is the second time we have stayed here and the first time in January was excellent so was a bit disappointed in the lack of supplies in the room. Love the location! And have booked for Thanksgiving weekend as well. Just make sure that everything is available in the rooms in case the couch is required.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Good day Msweeny59,

I'm terribly sorry that we missed the mark! Of course, our goal is to provide our guests with an outstanding experience. It seems we fell a bit short this time.

The feedback you've provided is most welcome and we are taking steps to correct these sort of short comings for future stays.

I'd like to request a message from you (if you don't mind) to my email account: gss.marriott2@gmail.com. This way, I can follow up in more detail regarding the room amenity issues that you faced.

Thank you again Msweeny59!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in downtown Kingston right on the water. Friendly helpful staff, great breakfast included, spacious clean comfortable rooms. Have stayed on many occasions and will continue to use this as my choice for accommodation in Kingston.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Michelle.

Thank you for the lovely review! We are always happy to welcome you back with us! Thank you for staying.

Michelle, when you stay with us, did you ever try the evening social buffet that we offer on Tuesday and Thursday nights? I'm usually a big fan of chef's soup creations!

Many thanks and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I am a big fan of Residence Inn and this one in Kingston was another pleasant experience.
The hotel is perfectly located in a beautiful quiet corner just in front of the water, at easy walking distance from the town attractions, shops and restaurants.
Everything looks new and nicely designed for the guest comfort.
As always in Residence Inn hotels, all rooms are actually spacious suites, equipped with a complete kitchen corner (with full size fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, etc., everything brand new and spotless) a living area (with table and chairs, an additional working desk, a sofa with small coffee tables) and a good size closet with ironing facilities. The only thing I keep missing when staying in a Residence Inn is a safety-deposit box...
Our bathroom was not big but functionally designed: we liked in particular the walk-in powerful shower and the fluffy towels. Extremely comfortable King size bed with soft linen and a wonderfully light duvet.
We stayed in room number 1011 and, even if positioned on the rear part of the hotel, we had a nice view of the waterfront (due the shape and the position of the hotel, I suppose that quite all rooms have great views, maybe ask for the ones directly facing the water for the best).
Free and easy-to-use wi fi.
A great buffet breakfast is included in the hotel rate: large choice of cold and hot dishes (choice of eggs, bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereals, fresh fuit, etc.)
The underground garage parking is a bit expensive (18$/day) but we noticed that there is also a private outdoor parking lot just on the rear of the hotel (not sure if they charge for it).
Another great staying at a Residence Inn, we can only strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the waterfront side have best views. Just avoid the "city view"
See more room tips
Green Features: Easy recycling bins, I liked the guest options for towels and bedlinen re-use. Maybe the air condidioning should be turned a bit lower..
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Stefi1970.

Glad to hear that you're a big fan of Residence Inn, did you know that Residence Inn just happens to be your biggest fan too! I'm glad you mentioned our location. You are correct, we are conveniently located within minutes from Queens University, Kingston General Hospital, and the downtown core.

Stefi, did you know that we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk? They are complimentary for all our guests.

Regarding the parking, just to clarify, after tax, it does come to $18.08 per night (with in and out privileges), and we do charge for the outdoor parking also.

Thank you for posting such a detailed and great review! It is much appreciated. I'm looking forward to your return!

-David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had an excellent time at this location; the service provided was great and the room was spacious, clean and nice. The staff cleaning, decorating and servicing these rooms obviously were not just trying to pass their hours but also put some thought and passion into their work.

The price was slightly higher than I was expecting from the city (judging based on location, not service/room size).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Good day Ryan,

Your words are very appreciated! We do try to reflect our passion for the industry and I am glad you recognized that!

Ryan, did you know that we also offer discounted rates and that all our rates include a hot buffet breakfast as well as two dinners (small buffet on Tuesday and Wednesday evening). Some of the discounts would be CAA, Senior, or Advance Purchase.

If you'd like to make your next booking directly with the hotel, feel free to fire us an email! info@marriottresidenceinnkingston.com

Many thanks and looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in a historic place and picked Kingston, Canada's first capital. We enjoyed our trip overall as we found the city and its people very welcoming and the old houses and buildings were simply marvellous. We stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott and were regularly welcomed and greeted by friendly and efficient hotel staff. We got a studio room that provided all the comforts of home which included a kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, dining table, work desk, and living room. Whether you're travelling on business or vacationing, alone, as a couple, or with family, the hotel seems to have facilities for everyone's needs. We certainly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody. Of course, the location, being right next to the water was a definite plus.

Room Tip: If you like the view, ask for a higher room at least a week before your arrival. I asked for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello JJPil,

I'm very happy to hear that you chose our lovely historic city to celebrate your wedding anniversary in! I am quite proud of Kingston and my fellow Kingstonians. Your kind words are not unheard! :)

My favourite rooms are also the studios. They have a spacious feel to them and come in 3 varieties;

-City View
-Water View
-Premium Water View

As Canada's 1st Capital, we also had Canada's 1st Prime Minister! Mr. Sir John A. himself! A bit of an off beat destination would be at the Cataraqui Cemetary to visit his grave.

Thank you again for staying with us and I'm looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were I town for a wedding nearby. Our travel agent had a booked a great deal for us. The 2 night stay included a large well equipped room overlooking the water, a free pizza and pop, breakfast, and great location.
There was even firework across the water from us one night.
The room has a great well supplied kitchen, separate seating area, king size bed.
Staff were cordial and helpful.
Breakfast was good, nice selection,and as the weather was nice we were able to eat it outside overlooking the water.
All in all it was a good, stay, only negative was the charge for parking out car, $16/night! Chintzy, this is Kingston, not Toronto!

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual regarding the towels. Throw them on the floor if you want them cleaned.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Gifford, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings LaHaZe703,
Thank you for your most recent feedback. I am happy to hear you got to take advantage of our Experience Family Package which includes and pizza and pop (2 night minimum)... Hang onto that travel agent as they got you a great deal!

Parking is always a challenge in any city and Kingston is no exception. Street parking is always available however most areas charge by the City of Kingston (even on Saturdays). We have tried to maintain a competitive rate in accordance with the other downtown hotels in Kingston. Thankfully this isn't Toronto; my most recent stay at a Marriott downtown Toronto cost me $40 for parking... but thankfully they parked it for me!

We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact us directly should you choose to share any additional information.
Kind Regards,
Matthew Gifford
Guest Service Manager
613-544-4888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge

Address: 7 Earl Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sydenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Kingston Water's Edge Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.