We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 6 name and price, Euro style and feel, and a sense of humor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Kingston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Kingston to your Saves list
Motel 6 Kingston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1542 Robinson Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Montreal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Motel 6 name and price, Euro style and feel, and a sense of humor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A few years ago, I read an article in the New York Times that Motel 6 was trying to upgrade its image in North America with 200-count sheets, and other boutique-hotel-y-like things. Apparently, the prototype for this type of Motel 6 is called "Phoenix" and the Motel 6 in Kingston is the first such hotel built in Canada.

And this is definitely a different Motel 6. To be honest, the look and feel of this Motel 6 is closer to the Hotel Ibis, a sister chain in Europe and Asia from parent Accor Hotels. The lobby is small, functional, clean, bright, and Euro looking. No security windows like in a parking lot.

Rooms feature platform beds on Pergo floors (simulated hardwood), flat screen TVs with plenty of channels, and free Internet. The beds aren't the most comfortable in the world, but for the price, I don't expect the Westin's heavenly bed. Bathrooms are modern and functional.

The hotel provides free coffee and granola bars in the morning, and has a cheery vending area where guests can eat them. The vending machines were my favorite part of the hotel: they had the most outrageous sayings painted over them, like "mouth-watering preservatives." (Don't know about you, but I appreciated the sense of humor.)

Located just off the highway, the hotel would be easy to find--unless you use Google maps to find it. Their directions sent me on a wild goose chase.

So if you need a place to crash in Kingston, crash here.

n sister chain, the Ibis

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear SAC-from-Montreal,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I'm glad you liked the signage in our breakfast area, those signs are amazing and I’m happy to hear they are being received in the spirit that we intended!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    104
    33
    9
    10
See reviews for
71
70
30
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Well I'm usually staying at much nicer hotels, we stayed here while getting work done in our home. It is a basic motel with coffee and granola bars for breakfast. Right off the highway for tired drivers. TV channels suck! Clean rooms comfy beds. Nuff said

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear CullenOCD,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I'm glad we were able to fulfill your temporary lodging needs, and congratulations on the home remodel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is definately a good hotel just to stop for a night or two on your travels. The room was clean and very spacious, and the bed comfortable. It puzzled us as to why there would be a small fridege and microwave in the room, but no in room coffee maker? A MUST as far as we're concerned, and unusual that there wasn't one.
This was not quite the "budget price" that we had expected from reading other comments either. We arrived on a Friday evening, my self and my husband, the cost of the room was $90. plus taxes for a total of $101, for a room with one queen bed. For a hundred bucks I'd have expected the coffee maker to definately be there, and a bit of a breakfast bar in the morning with perhaps cereal and fresh fruit. There was coffee and tea in the lobby and some Nature Valley single pack granola bars, at the front desk.
One other small issue was that there was some mold between the bathroom tiles, which we did not expect to see as the motel it's self seemed to be fairly new construction.
Over-all however, we were provided with a comfy place to sleep with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear JPC-ontario,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review!
At Motel 6 there are no coffee machines in the rooms which cuts our operating cost in which we are able to offer lower rates to you and our other guest. We do have free coffee in the morning and I hope you were able to try some.
Unfortunately the night you stayed with us it was a very busy weekend in Kingston and we were still $30-50 lower in price than our competition that provide breakfast and coffee machines. We at Motel 6 would rather save you money on your reservation and let you decide where you would like to spend your breakfast $. With the other hotels you pay for the breakfast if you eat it or not.

Thank you again,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of this hotel. Excellent value for your money! I would highly recommend to friends and family and those who are looking for a "no frills", clean and unique room decor.
Staff were very pleasant and the overall experience was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Bob W,

I am very excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at M6 Kingston!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As the building is relatively new, there is a good feeling - the place is clean and well kept. This is budget accommodation so don't go expecting "full service" hotel atmosphere and product. For what you pay and what you get there is definitely good value. Nice sized room, new furnishings, quiet building, friendly staff.

Room Tip: If highway noise will keep you awake (it doesn't for me) then maybe request a room on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Doug C,

Thank you very much for posting your review!
We will leave the light on for you!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the many new motels the chain has recently built in Canada. Very simple, very modern and very clean. There are few frill, such as seven useless pillows per bed. Bathroom was modern, almost new and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and the service was good. One thing was new in my motel/hotel experience: they are switching to hard floors. It is a good idea because it gets rid of the "old carpet" smell, but may increase the noise level, yet we found the place very quiet. A great value in Canada for about $70 per night for tourists passing through.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PerryMunson,

Thank you for posting your review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the new décor.
Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first stay in Kingston form the weekend and we booked at the motel 6. As usual, I always do my research on TA and this time was no exception. Having never stayed at the Motel 6, we honestly didn't know what to expect, as we do not usually stay at such a "basic hotel".

We were very pleasently surprised we paid 79.99 per night for a weekend booking...incredible in my opinion. The room was IMMACULATE, and the decor was not the typical "hotel" decor but we loved it!!!! Very modern, no carpet (great idea) and great color schemes, comfy bed also.

Staff was friendly, and the room had a fridge and microwave...what a bonus! We had a flat screen tv, with more channels than i think we've ever gotten in a hotel.

The lobby had a seating area with tables and chairs, vending machines, and free coffee and brand name granola bars for breakfast. Very basic, yes, but great nevertheless. Best hotel coffee I've had.

We were a bit leary of the pets policy.......as we do not have pets, and were a bit worried about the room cleanliness, however we did not see any pets during our stay, nor was there any sign of uncleanliness either. Again, we were impressed! This hotel does accept pets.

One thing that did disappoint us however, was the fact that we ran out of toilet paper at about 2am, and called down to the front desk to ask for another roll. We were told by the front desk staff, that we would have to come down and get it...........We had never heard of having to come down and pick up items ourself, the front desk girl stated she was alone and could not leave the desk? ....really how busy is the front desk at 2am.

We informed her that we had absolutely NO toilet paper, tissue etc, we finally convinced her to deliver it to the room, as the room info stated ..if we do not resolve your issue within 30 min the night is free.

After 20 minutes of waiting we called back down, and the girl informed us that she had delivered it to another room....not quite sure I believe that storey. The next day we called down and spoke to the manager and he informed us that due to the low pricing and no frills type of hotel it is, the rates are cheaper, so the staff do not provide these types of services....we even had to carry our ironing board up to the room upon arrival.

We would suggest that the 30 minute policy be clarified a bit better to provide a better experience from a customer service perspective, however this did not ruin our stay.

In addition, had I been a single traveller | would not feel safe going down the elevator at 2am.

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurants in site. this hotel is in an industrial area, restaurants less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6kingston, General Manager at Motel 6 Kingston, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
CanadianGirl30,

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay at M6 Kingston!
I am sorry you were not familiar with M6 standards with regards to ammonites and delivery of those amenities to guest rooms but thank you for your understanding.
Thank you very much for posting your review!

Sincerely,

Lorne Hansen
GM
M6 Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kingston

Address: 1542 Robinson Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off Highway 401, the Kingston Motel 6 is the first motel in Canada to be built with the Modern Rooms look! This inn features a coin laundry facility and free wireless internet. Micro-fridges are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.