We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended motel on Collins Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites

Save Saved
You added Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4024 Bath Road, Kingston, Ontario K7M4Y4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 hotels in Kingston
Woodlawn, Ontario
1 review
“Recommended motel on Collins Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This motel is owned and operated by a family who were so friendly and willing to help in any way to make our stay enjoyable. They have been working hard in upgrading the rooms. Ours was recently renovated and tastefully done. Very clean room, beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was a bonus. The property is on the edge of Collins Bay, so we were able to watch the boats go by and others fish as we sat in their Adirondack chairs. The price was reasonable. Wifi was appreciated. We will be back if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Ann,

On behalf of the hotel team at Bayside Inn and Waterfront Suites, we would like to thank you for being our guests and allowing us to accommodate you in Kingston!

We are glad you enjoyed our rooms and services during your stay, especially the ambiance of the Kingston waterfront! Since the beginning of 2013, we have been slowly revamping the place to make guest experience as optimal as it can be.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Tony Rehman
General Manager
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    3
    6
    13
See reviews for
14
20
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a small lower end motel situated on Collins Bay in Kingston with nice water views - if you are in a room with a view. Its some distance from downtown Kingston and there are chain motels within walking distance of Queens and downtown. The prices are reasonable but not particularly cheap for a motel in the area. The glowing reviews that have appeared lately seem quite overstated, other than in the friendliness of the staff (but perhaps they got the best rooms). There appear to be a few rooms occupied by long term residents who sit outside smoking. Much could be done in terms of sprucing up shabby areas of rooms and grounds and thorough cleaning would help especially in slightly less visible areas such as under beds and telephones. Walls are thin. Excellent wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi,

We appreciate the time you've taken to give feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We are glad you liked our staff and found them friendly. Aside from the positive views, lets review two negative points you raised because they are very important.

Firstly, you mentioned about the rate of your room. Our rates are very competitive with local hotels in the Kingston area. Yes there are motels with lower rates than ours but I can personally guarantee you we have one of the highest repeat guests in the area and there is a reason for that. We are particularly savvy when it comes to adding details to all guest rooms such as quality of bedding, cleanliness, and the overall guest experience.

Secondly, some of our rooms are better than others. We have the following room types available: standard, deluxe, suites, and waterfront. There is no doubt that guest experiences can be better in some rooms versus others. However, I will look into the room you stayed in to further investigate the issue.

As far as cleaning is concerned, I am truly sorry that you did not find our cleaning adequate underneath the beds and on our phones. I have already spoken with my cleaning staff about this issue and I assure you will never come across any room cleanliness issues again.

Lastly, you are absolutely correct about the overall look of the grounds and maintaining them better. Please understand that we are slowly revamping the place to make your experience even better the next time you visit us. By this summer, we will complete the launch of our new bedding system, luxurious bathrobes,and waterfront fireplace suites.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you in Kingston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, a kitchenette, and a beautiful tile job in the kitchen and bathroom. The price is good at $85 per night, even though we were quoted $79 when I made the reservation. Not complaining, mind you. The amenities are worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Dave,

We appreciate the time you've taken to give feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. Firstly, let me say my sincere apologies for the reservation mistake of your room rate. As such, I have instructed my front desk to give you a 10% discount on your next visit.

Secondly, I am glad to know you found our amenities worth every penny and liked the features of the room. We base our hospitality on delivering maximum value to our guests. In all honesty, we are doing our level best to ensure every guest has the best experience and sleep possible at our hotel.

You will be glad to know that we are slowly revamping the place to make your experience even better the next time you visit us. By this spring, we will complete the launch of our new bedding system, luxurious bathrobes,and waterfront fireplace suites.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business. Very clean, newly renovated rooms, friendly staff. The only downside was the trains passing across the street. The lady offered me earplugs and I hardly heard them at night. Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi,
We appreciate the time you've taken to give feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We are glad our staff made your stay with us as homely as possible.

I am glad to know you found our complimentary signature earplugs useful during your stay with us. There are a number of hotels in Kingston where guests continually experience noise issues, some controllable and others not so. Trust me, we are doing our level best to ensure every guest has the best comfort and sleep possible at our hotel.

You will be glad to know that we are slowly revamping the place to make your experience even better the next time you visit us. By this spring, we will complete the launch of our new bedding system, luxurious bathrobes,and waterfront fireplace suites.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The lady running this place is extremely nice and friendly. The view is very nice. There are trains running all night long, so if you read the reviews you are fore warned. The rooms are comfortable and the suites are big. The only negative I have is they need to sweep under the beds. However they try. It may be difficult with high turnover, but the beds do move. There were spiders and cobwebs in the room. Beds were okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi,
We appreciate the time you've taken to give feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We are glad our staff made your stay with us as homely as possible. Aside from the positive views, lets review two negative points you raised because they are very important.

The first issue being noise from the train. I am sorry to hear that it caused you disturbance. Should you visit us again in the future, please mention to the front desk for requesting a quieter room near the south end of the property. Alternatively, should a quieter room not be available, you will feel no noise disturbance from our complimentary signature earplugs provided by the front desk. There are a number of hotels in Kingston where guests continually experience noise issues, some controllable and others not so. Trust me, we are doing our level best to ensure every guest has the best comfort and sleep possible at our hotel.

There is no doubt a high turnover to deal with a small hotel as you mentioned. But you will be glad to know that we are slowly revamping the place to make your experience even better the next time you visit us. By this spring, we will complete the launch of our new bedding system, luxurious bathrobes,and waterfront fireplace suites.

For the second issue, you mentioned sweeping under the beds and the beds moving. Our rooms are always cleaned thoroughly when cleaning is performed, however, when rooms have not been rented for some days, dirt can build up. So our standard of cleaning is not due to the high turnover of the business. I will still raise this cleaning point with the cleaning staff. As for the beds moving, I am currently resolving this as we speak so it never happens again.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This property definetly needs a facelift from its outside appearence no doubt. Yet, we noticed renos happening while pulling into the hotel which was surely a plus point. While checking into the hotel we expected an older,typical motel-type place but that was no where close to what this place really was. It was absolutely impressive the moment we checked in. A very nice lady greeted us with a big welcome smile and showed us the jacuuzi suite which was the only room available at the time. She mentioned they are doing some big facelifts to the place and will be adding more amenities this spring. A nice thing to know.
Glady we picked this room because it was perfect and the price super! Not anything like we had originally expected. The jacuuzi suite was an amazing experience, comfortable and with all the soaps, shampoos and vaseline lotion for us to use. We will most surely return to this hotel the next time we are in the area and would love to try out their new amenities in the future.

Room Tip: Jacuuzi suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Based on a friend's refferal, I booked this hotel on this easter weekend. As he mentioned, the location was absolutely beautiful and it was. The place had a cottage-like feel which was really nice especially as the weather is starting to get better. It was a smaller hotel than I had imagined but the room was very clean and cozy. You get a nice view of the lake from the room from your bed. Plus, everything in the room seemed new, including the mattress on which i had a great night's sleep. Coffee in the morning was a great way to start my day back home. Altogether a very good stay and would rate it 8/10.

Room Tip: Book the waterfront rooms on the top floors with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites

Address: 4024 Bath Road, Kingston, Ontario K7M4Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just minutes from the historic Kingston downtown area, Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites is a waterfront hotel that combines a warm and relaxing ambiance of the Kingston waterfront with accommodations encompassing comfort and style - all designed to provide guests with the best value on their stay in Kingston ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.