We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place - do not bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4024 Bath Road | Located on the Corner of Bath Road and Collins Bay Road, Kingston, Ontario K7M4Y4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful place - do not bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The name is deceiving! They cannot be described as suites in any shape or form!
The exterior is old and dirty - nothing like the website.

The room we had was very small - 2 double bed and no space for anything else.
There is only one chair but no table; on request they did provide more chairs.
The other one room units appear the same.

The toilet/bathroom appeared to be recently renovated - so its clean, but small. The toilet bowl looks new, but won't stop flushing.

The 'kitchenette' cannot be termed kitchenette. There is one small microwave oven - that's it.
The sink looks new but is so small that you cannot put a dinner plate in - it has to be tilted to be washed. Given that its a 2 double bed setting, there is only 1 knife and 1 fork an 1 spoon. THere are a couple of chipped plates.

Its next to a busy railway line.

This place is really awful - and its not cheap either at $69 + tax per night.
Don't bother!

Room Tip: My suggestion would be don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Upon speaking with the front desk staff, we were given the following details.

Firstly, when you checked-in, you were shown a waterfront suite and a regular room with two double beds. Upon seeing these rooms, you did not choose the waterfront suite because its price was not within your budget. Our waterfront suites are some of our busiest rooms which is why they must be booked weeks in advance so for that reason there are no issues with the pricing. You were fortunate to find a waterfront suite available on the day of your check-in. However, you did not choose this suite and instead decided to stay in the regular room with two double beds when it was shown to you.

Our hotel's name is 'Bayside Motel Waterfront Suites' because 6 of the 22 guest rooms in our hotel are waterfront suites. So the name, "Waterfront Suites" is 100% correct. In addition, we have 4 more suite-type guest rooms. What surprised me is that you criticized the 'suites' name when you did not personally stay in a suite. The waterfront suite room that was shown to you has a separate bedroom and sitting area so how is that not a suite in any shape or form. Also you did not stay in a kitchenette room so that is why there was no kitchenette in your room. It seems very contradicting.

Thirdly, you personally choose to stay in the regular room with two double beds at $69/night when it was shown to you so I am curious as to why the room size issue was not a problem at the time and why you choose to rent this room when you thought it was too small. Moreover, whenever you requested anything you needed, it was provided to you by our staff and you were very happy with our services which itself seems again very contradicting. For example, when there was a problem with the toilet running constantly, the problem was fixed right away. When you requested more chairs, they were provided right away. Once again, It seems very contradicting.

You also mentioned the exterior of the buildings as 'being old and dirty" and "nothing like the website". The pictures posted on our website are 100% correct and everything about the hotel is exactly as stated in the pictures. If you noticed this, we question why you did not take pictures as part of an evidence of your claim.

Lastly, the $69/night rate you were charged for this room is very economical in Kingston and I can personally guarantee the best price in the city for a comparable newly renovated room with brand new mahogany furniture, new pillow top mattresses, LCD tv, spa bath amenities, microwave, fridge, free high speed Wifi, and free in-room coffee/tea. If you find a comparable room at this rate for the same dates, we will personally reward you for bringing it to our attention.

Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    4
    7
    17
See reviews for
19
24
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean, with A/C, and to my surprise a small kitchen area which really came in handy as I needed to keep some food frozen. Also, the wifi was extremely fast and accessible over the whole property. There is a really nice view of Collins Bay Marina.

Everything you need is within walking distance if not right across the road (Tim Hortons, Gas station, Laundromat, Bistro).

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. My sailing class wasn't until 1:00 and they let me stay until the. In the room at no charge. I'm staying here again next weekend and really looking forward to it.

I recommend this small, family-owned motel to anyone staying in the area. You'll pay double for any big hotel chain and wouldn't get the same service.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you Shaun for your positive feedback. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Value for the money.. Tony, Cherly and Mark catered to us the entire time we were there. They are in the midst of improving the place but the stay was well worth it. Beds are conmfortable and we stayed facing the lake so it was vey nice. Doesn't look like much from the street but don't be fool by this!I highly recommend it..great value for the money.

Room Tip: Some room facing the water...well worth it to take one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I am writing this review to show how much appreciation we have experienced through the hospitality at Bayside. They took very good care of us from the moment we checked-in. For the price we paid, we got a traditional hotel quality room that was complete with everything we needed during our stay. They lent us a hairdryer and an iron with iron board which was very convenient as we had to attend a wedding nearby.

Greg and Karla
Miami, Fl

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello Greg and Karla,

Thank you for our positive feedback regarding our hotel and staff. We are always striving to improve our hospitality standards to serve you better so you always feel at home.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Neatly kept place and perfect to spend your vacation. The quick service was just what i needed. Trendy room with in-room coffee, extra pillows and best sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here at this motel. It was trendy and complete with all franchise hotel standard amenities and more. Will return in 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback regarding our property. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Kingston Canada was much colder here than the US, even though we enjoyed our time here for a change. This hotel was walking steps to everything; a coffee shop, restaurant, and a gas station to fuel up for departure the next day. Our room was at the back side of the motel near the waterfront rooms. Best part about our stay was our well appointed comfy and cozy room which was superbly decorated with lots of pillows and beautiful colors. We slept so comfortably. Coffee, fridge, microwave, and wifi were among other features we liked about this place all for $84 a night! Best value in the city by far.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites

Address: 4024 Bath Road | Located on the Corner of Bath Road and Collins Bay Road, Kingston, Ontario K7M4Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the shores of Lake Ontario and conveniently located just minutes from the historic Kingston Ontario downtown, Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites is a waterfront boutique hotel that blends a warm and relaxing ambiance of a lakeshore theme with accommodations encompassing a tasteful decor, comfort, and class- making it an ideal choice to stay in Kingston for business, leisure, or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.