We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it to stay elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge City Centre to your Saves list
Econo Lodge City Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1G3, Canada (Sunnyside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Liverpool, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth it to stay elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The room size was small-but After all you only need it to sleep right? The lamp shades were dented and rusty. The pillowcases on the pillows were too small and half the pillow was uncovered.
The worst was the bathroom-I went to take a shower and noticed pubic hair from the person who stayed in the room before us-I was so grossed out I refused to take a shower. The bathroom was low on toilet paper with no extra in sight. When we checked in the desk person didn't even grunt a hello-perhaps she didn't speak English of course since she didn't say anything-I'll never know.
I will never stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    24
    10
    13
See reviews for
18
26
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you just want the basics for 1 night this is OK. It was a hot day & our room cooled down shortly after turning on the AC. However, all of the hallways stayed very warm well into the night. It took me awhile to find the ice machine on a different floor from what I was staying on. Everything in our rooms worked well to include the wireless internet. But the paint was peeling from the ceiling in our room & the whole place looked like it needed a face lift. The staff was friendly, but spent a lot of time smoking on the front steps of the hotel. All of the breakfast items were cold, but that is what was advertised. This may be OK for some people, but this was the first time that I had stayed at an Econo Lodge & it will be the last.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were somewhat skeptical booking into this hotel but the sign said newly renovated so we did. The room was small but clean and the king bed was very comfortable. Free breakfast was a bit scarce but if you want a cheap room this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Before we settled in Kingston, my wife and I stayed overnight to meet a housing agent the next day - so, we wanted a clean but super cheap place to lay our heads down after a long drive from Vankleek Hill where we had been living. I liked the idea of Kingston as a retirement town because of the hospitals and the University (Queens), Fort St.Henry and the fact that way back when I visited there had been One (1) Indian restaurant and I love Indian cuisine!. Plus my wife's totem/avatar thingy is water and Kingston is right at the mouth of Lake Ontario! This is where we wanted to retire. Me, because I'm 65 and disabled (arthritis and other chronic pain) and she wanted a good job where she didn't need to speak French ( she's a South African).
We settled on the Econo Lodge Centre City because it was very reasonable $ wise and it was right in the centre of the town.
Now, it is a typical square box reception room with a long stretch of rooms reaching back away from the noise of the main drag, Princess Street. It offered a steaming pot of dreadful coffee in the lobby with sugar and pretend milk stuff - we paid up and walked back about 4 doors to our room. My back was aching from the car so I lay down on the bed right away and EUREKA! It was a real mattress! I checked and it was one of those hellishly expensive posture orthopedic luxury jobs! We had the best night's sleep in years! But, before that, we wanted to know where was a good Indian restaurant nearby. Lots of Indian restaurants nowadays in Kingston! The receptionist said that we should try Darbar about four blocks south on Princess Street. Well, it was a miracle place with terrific food and friendly service and very reasonably priced!
It was only one night but it was the most comfortable I've ever had. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels and little bottles of shampoo. We left refreshed the next day. We didn't bother with the free coffee...

Room Tip: Get a room furthest away from the main Street, Princess Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rooms are clean and the location is good. The price is a bit high $89 if you don't get CAA discount and so on, comparing to the others in the area.

The breakfast was a really fast one and a bit croweded...too small area for all guests...

Room Tip: Rooms close to the exit ...ie...101 as otherwise you got to walk in a corridor for a while to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The place is a 30 minute walk from the waterfront or 10 by car. The staff is friendly and helpful. The place could be a little cleaner but is still clean. At the price we paid 80$ with caa it was not expensive.

Room Tip: You pay the same price for a queen or a king, might as well get the king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night and got the room through Hotwire. The hotel is barely average. It was clean enough and the bed was comfortable but there was an odour in the room that suggested it used to be a smoking room. It was fine for one night but we did feel the rate we paid was $20 to high for what it is.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Wireless was stable but unsecured. The complimentary breakfast was basic. Couple types of cereal, toast, muffins, juice, coffee and some fruit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Centre

Address: 840 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge City Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge City Centre Hotel Kingston
Econo Lodge City Centre Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.