We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stay for reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hotels in Kingston can be expensive. Waterfront hotels and hotels right downtown are only for those with large wallets. With cheaper ($100 a night average) hotels (read: EconoLodge) you risk sacrificing cleanliness. Going a bit further from downtown and the water is your best bet - you can stay in a nice hotel without breaking the bank.

The Holiday Inn Express is right off the 401 highway - which is really great for those travelling by car. It's on Division street, which is a straight shot to the start of downtown (an easy drive, but it would be a long way to walk). The price is extremely reasonable: for about $150 a night we got to stay in a very clean hotel with comfortable beds, a shower with good water pressure and temperature, a decent sized pool and hot tub, and a complimentary hot and cold breakfast that was available until 10 AM. When considering the amount of money we could have spent each day on breakfast (for three adults, we had been spending about $50 at other stages of our trip), the real value of this hotel becomes clear.

I highly recommend this hotel for any travellers to Kingston who will be driving during their stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    88
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
108
74
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This easy to find well appointed property is a great place to get a comfortable evening to rest. The clean lobby and friendly informative staff were appreciated. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom had extra features like a electronic makeup mirror. Even with the close proximity off the 401 it was quite. The continental breakfast was more than usual with bacon, sausage, eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, fruit, cinnamon rolls, oatmeal, multiple juices, coffee and an array of flavoured tea. When we asked how to get to local attractions we were offered not only a map but also pamphlets of the points of interest. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: facing the front of the hotel may be a bit quieter than the rear which faces the 401. An upper level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express because it was reasonable priced for our needs and the location was perfect it is very close to the 401 but far enough way and position so there's no traffic noise from the highway. We arrived early to check in but the gentleman on the front desk checked with housekeeping to make sure our room was ready which it was. Now this was around 12.noon. We had booked king suite and it was just what we needed just inside the door was sofa bed, side table, desk and a large screen tv which our son thought was cool. Off the hall was the bathroom and fridge & microwave down the hall was our kingsize bed a easy chair, desk & another flat screen tv the pillowtop mattress was very comfortable and we all slept very well. all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our son love the pool and spent a lot of time in it. I did find the machines in the gym outdated. the breakfast the usual hot & cold hotel fair. There is one thing that I did find that I've never found in any other hotel I've stay in and that is the HOT WATER was INSTANT. Overall our stay was great and would highly recommend this hotel.

Sincerely

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel was in a great location. Close to the 401. It has a lot of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Small plaza across the street with a Shoppers Drug Mart. There is an outlet mall a short distance away (about a 2 minute drive). Starbucks, Tim Hortons and 2 gas stations are on your doorstep. Morning breakfast is really nice. Gym and indoor swimmimg pool are available (we did not use them but they seemed very clean and well maintained). Staff are friendly. Rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Every room has a refrigerator and microwave. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean. Our room was quiet and well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was the reason that I only gave the hotel an average rating. We were there for three breakfasts and it never improved. The eggs were not hot any morning and they were rather tasteless.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your room and found it clean and comfortable. We will review our breakfast procedures with the staff to make sure the eggs are being served at the appropriate temperatures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaTi, Northwest Territories
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the August long weekend while my husband went on a Scuba Diving day trip. The pool and spacious rooms plus walking distance to a large play place made it fun and easy to entertain two children under 5 without a vehicle.
As usual, Holiday Inn Express had friendly check inn, and clean spacious rooms. Breakfast had hot and cold options and the hostess gave my daughters colouring sheets and crayons! The pool was large and fun. I would suggest that the hotel get a fan for the work out room as it was quite hot while running on the treadmill. Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found the staff so helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel decor is new and nice. Cleanliness was great. Staff was friendly and the rates were comparable to other hotels in that area. Used the pool which was fine. The hotel has connections by the desk (HDMI, S, etc) which I am assuming you could hook up your computer or another device and play your entertainment off the TV. I couldn't test this out as I didn't bring any cables with me. Also the wifi speeds seemed really good. I usually stay at the downtown Holiday Inn but I may start staying at this location instead as it is cheaper.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side if you want a city view vs the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for the great comments, we hope you do consider making us your hotel of choice while in Kingston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.