We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves in Parking Lot - Hotel Doesn't Seem to Care” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thieves in Parking Lot - Hotel Doesn't Seem to Care”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We've stayed at this location once before. This is a nice, new, clean hotel but.......

We arrived late to the hotel after a long drive, got in just before 2am as a stopover on the beginning of our 2 week family holiday. Anxious to get to bed, we left our bikes locked to bikerack on back of our van. Parking lot is behind hotel.
Somewhere between 2-8am - someone had taken boltcutters, cut lock, and stolen my son's bike off of the back. He's 13, and it was a birthday present. Luckily they left the other 2 bikes. Seems to me that the parking lot was definitely being targeted, they knew what they looking for, and came prepared.
I told the front desk clerk about situation as soon as discovered - she was quick to point out that they weren't responsible. I was very surprised that a rear parking lot had no video cameras or other security. Other than that, hotel staff didn't seem interested in getting any other details from me or in making any kind of report. Not holding my breath that they will do anything to improve their security.
I'm a member of their Priority Club - and next day I got an email asking me to make a review of my stay. Umm, ok - I put in the details just as I have done here, their response was that they were glad I enjoyed my stay other than the bike incident and invited me to fill out a report with the Kingston Police. Wow, what compassion and customer service. I was going to let it go, but their response seemed so canned and uncaring that I figured I should write my review here as well.
Yup, clean and nice - but they don't seem too interested in the security of their guests and their property. Guess I'll have to find another stopover hotel when passing through Kingston. Adding a $500 bike to the $129 I paid for the room gets a little pricey!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry for what happened to your bicycle while you were staying with us. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please contact Brian Kish the General Manager at the hotel directly 613-546-3662 ext 151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    89
    23
    8
    14
See reviews for
110
74
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Was too tired to make it to Toronto so stayed in Kingston last minute we got the last room which was on the first floor and it was clean large great bathroom close to front desk close to highway food and shopping staff was very accommodating great stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am glad we still had a room left for a tired travel in need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently stayed overnight on the way from Niagara to Montreal and I couldn't fault this hotel. Large airy rooms with fridge and microwave etc (not that we used them). The bed was large and very comfortable, and the breakfast was fine, good pancakes! The staff at breakfast were great, busy, but still able to have a bit of friendly banter and made us feel welcome. The staff on reception were also very nice to us, friendly and informative. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am glad we were able to make your stay so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We came for the soccer tournament and enjoyed the stay. Clean hotel, comfortable beds.
Front deak staff not very friendly or wow service. But it's a great place to stay. We love to come back.
Thanks for the clean room!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found our location convenient and the rooms clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel. We couldn't find any fault whatsoever and in fact, we have just booked for a third visit in August. It had everything we needed - large room, microwave, fridge and many more amenities. Loved the pillow selection and the beds were extremely clean & comfortable. The staff were wonderful. Every staff member we encountered greeted us pleasantly and always with a smile. Staff seem very happy which speaks volumes to us particularly when they are in the service industry constantly dealing with complaints and sometimes not so very nice guests. Loved the location - Shoppers Drug Mart, Dominoes pizza, Dollar Store and many other stores across the area. We were able to pickup some groceries at Shoppers (nice selection) without having to drive around town looking for a grocery store. Very nice that it's right off the 401 and easy access to the hotel. Downtown is a short 5 minute drive. Swimming pool was great and the hot tub, hot! Nothing more we could have asked for at this hotel. Very pleasant experience. Pat & Diane North Bay Ontario.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we will look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My daughter, grandson and I stopped here on the way from Quebec to Niagara Falls. This is a very clean and modern hotel. The room was very large and comfortable and breakfast was just fine. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a small shopping center directly across the road with a 24 hour drug store which also carried groceries. Very handy.
Hotel was quiet even though there were several girls soccer teams staying there. (well behaved ladies).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you and the children enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-lac, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the high standard of rooms here. Well equipped with fridge and microwave and a spotless bathroom. A nice indoor pool and a tasty hot and cold free breakfast. The perfect place to stop halfway between Montreal and Toronto and just off the 401 motorway.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to having you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.