We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel - Great location for Highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel - Great location for Highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a three year old hotel and in excellent shape. Things are new and run smoothly. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. There is a small pool, hot tub, and workout room. There are only a few machiens and limited weights but it works for 1-2 nights. The hotel is 4 stories and the elevators run slowly, so I was on the second floor and sometimes just took the stairs. The first night I heard the noise from the highway but did not notice it the next two nights. The bathroom was large and simple. The bed was fine but the pillows a bit cheap. There was a continental breakfast included and it was average. Located next door is a Denny's with excellent breakfast. The hotel is just off the main highway 401 and a 10 minutes drive to the core. I could walk across the street to Shoppers Drugmart and Starbucks, and more fast food places then I could name.

Room Tip: The north facing rooms might hear the highway noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. You are correct; our hotel is quite new and modern. Our property isn’t huge but we offer a variety of amenities including a pool, hot tub, fitness room, as well as a full complimentary breakfast which includes everything from bacon and eggs to pancakes to yogurt and fruit. We also have the advantage of being ideally situated near highway 401 and close to numerous restaurants. We hope you will decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    84
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
107
71
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is located not far from the highway, near an intersection, in a commercial area (but it's ouside the main area and is not noisy). It's 4.5 kms from downtown.
The hotel is modern and well decorated. So was the room we stayed in (312). The suite was big, consists of 2 parts - a living room area, which is connected to the bedroom. The bedroom has a king size bed, very comfortable. In the living room the sofa is folded into a bed. This folding bed wasn't very comfortable.
The suite is well designed, has 2 big flat screen TV's, a good docking station for the iphone. Bathroom is spacious. Gives you a good feeling to stay there.
Parking is free. Wi-fi is free and good.
Breakfast was regular - a hamburger and omlette, philadelphia cheese, toasts, buns and the usual. It's held in the modern lobby, which has a fireplace and decorative 'waterfalls' running down glass windows.
Staff was very kind and helpful. Helped us get directions to Lemoine Point Conservation Area - a park, which is very enjoyable to visit.

Room Tip: Liked the suite in room 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. Our hotel offers a variety of standard guestrooms with one or two beds and numerous spacious suites. All of our rooms are quite modern and we are glad that you enjoyed our abundant in-room amenities as well as our complimentary breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was part of a group that was required to stay at this location for a seminar in the early part of October 2012. I had booked 2 rooms and was given 1 reservation number. The seminar was cancelled and the block of rooms in total were released. I called in plenty of time to cancel and provided my reservation number. I was given a cancellation number and told there would be no charges on my credit card. A week after the scheduled event, low and behold there is a charge on my card. I call the reception desk to request an adjustment and BiBi the Manager advised me I was SOL. In short, it was my responsibility to identify that 2 reservation numbers needed to be cancelled. (I was given only one but that was my fault not theirs)?? In short, I had to go to Holiday Inn Express head office complaints to which they did agree the hotel was at fault and have agreed to pay the amount charged. Its too bad it could not have been dealt with at the desk level. I will never entertain a night or more, nor will I host any events at a Holiday Inn Express in Kingston. Way to go BiBi! : (

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are very sorry that this incident is your only impression of our property and that you’ve never even had the opportunity to enjoy our numerous features and amenities. We do understand, however, that good customer service is one of the most important features a hotel can offer and I assure you that this situation is not indicative of the service we provide on a daily basis. We believe that this situation was caused by a misunderstanding and miscommunication. We are relieved that the issue has been rectified and regret that it was not done so in a timelier manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a great stay here in September. Very clean, excellent breakfast, easy checkin out. Quiet, great nights sleep. Pool area was clean. Overall very impressive. Located beside the 401 but still very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are only satisfied when we are able to exceed our guests’ expectations and it is good to know we have exceeded yours. Please be sure to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've stayed here on two separate occasions and we'll definitely be returning. It's convenient (just off the 401, very close to gas stations, Shoppers Drug Mart, Tim Hortons), clean, modern and staffed by the friendliest people around. The breakfast area is beautiful and the pancake making machine is just too much fun.

Room Tip: We've even had the room right by the elevator and it was quiet as can be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Welcome back and thank you for deciding to stay with us again. We are thrilled that you enjoy our hotel so much and we look forward to providing you with comfortable accommodations, friendly service, and yummy pancakes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to the Maritimes. It seems to be quite new and is spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are surprisingly large. Wifi is free. The location is convenient depending on what the purpose of your stay in Kingston is. It is just off the 401. There are lots of amenities nearby, including Starbucks. However it is quite far from downtown and the university. My only beef with this hotel is the breakfast. It is mediocre at best. The only fruit available was overripe bananas. There is instant oatmeal, no freshly made. Breakfasts are much better at some of the other chains. All in all though, a decent place to stay for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for posting this review of our hotel. It is good to know that you appreciated our clean spacious guestrooms, free wireless internet and wonderful staff. We are surprised to hear, however, that you did not love our complementary breakfast. We generally received very positive comments about our large selection of both hot and cold items, including: eggs, bacon or sausage, cinnamon rolls, pancakes, toast, bagels, English muffins, oatmeal, yoghurt, bananas, apples, and more. We do thank you for staying with us and we hope that you had a successful trip out east.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel has good location. The rate that we got via hotwire was more than reasonable and included breakfast. The hotel seems to be newly built or recently renovated. The decor is very nice. Breakfast was sufficient. This is how 3 star hotels should look like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for this review. Our hotel is only a few years old and remains very clean and modern. We are pleased you enjoyed our complementary hot breakfast. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.