We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Ajax
1 review
“A Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We now stay at this hotel whenever we visit Kingston. We like its proximity to the 401 - convenient and easy to locate - and there are lots of stores and eating places in the immediate area. The hotel is clean and all the staff friendly and helpful. Guests receive water and nutribars on checking in - (a nice touch!) – although we wish the hotel would return to the hard nutty nutribars they used to dispense; the current soft ones are not nearly as tasty and crumble too easily. We particularly enjoy the complimentary buffet breakfast bar where the food selection is good and the area clean and comfortable. We'll be returning!

Room Tip: 1) Prefer rooms on higher floors and at the back overlooking the 401. We find them much quieter. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for this very kind review. A home away from home is high praise and exactly what we strive for. All of our wonderful staff members work very hard to ensure that our guests feel right at home and we are very happy that you are so comfortable at our hotel. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    88
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
108
74
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently spent a week at this hotel. It is new and immaculate. Staff are helpful and polite and our room exceeded our expectations. The included breakfast included a number of hot items -a nice departure from the standard continental - and was more than adequate. Our new favourite place to stay when we are visiting Kingston!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are very flattered to be your favourite place to stay when in Kingston. We’re so glad you found us and we can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in August/Sept 2012. I did not expect much since I had read some reviews before making the reservations. For me and a family member, it was excellent. Front Desk service rivaled that of higher star hotels. We had a two queen bed room and the sleeping was terrific.

There were 4 pillows on each bed, 2 firm, 2 soft and marked on the pillowcase. Nice touch. The room was clean and smelled clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was typical in my opinion. It had a lot of room and the general condition of repair was excellent. Everything worked. I am all for saving water, but the water saving shower heads are somewhat weak. However, I managed to stay clean.

There was a mini-fridge in the room. The TV was relatively new and digital.Channel selection was good. Wireless internet was free of charge.

I felt the breakfast area and food selection was top-notch for this type of hotel. It was well organized, well stocked, clean, and there always seemed to be enough room. I don't think the staff get enough praise for their hard work in these breakfast areas. I find people tend to be slobs when the word free is added. It is easy to be critical but you can't argue with the value. The hot selection changed everyday and there were the standard items such as cereals, toast and so on.

The parking was also free but given it is so close to the 401, I never left anything in the car. The back parking area was well lit but I trust no one.

There is a lot of development in the area and new restaurants and hotels seem to pop up every now and then. I frequented Starbucks but there is also a Tim Hortons nearby. Typically, I go into Kingston anyways for the restaurants and the university town vibe.

All in all, I had a great stay and the staff made it even better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised during your recent stay with us. Our hotel offers many great amenities at a very reasonable price. It’s so great to read your kind words about our wonderful staff. We hope you will keep us in mind on your future visits to Kingston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable and spacious. Had a king room which had a small dining table, mini-fridge, microwave, sofa and work desk. The bathroom had lots of storage space and lots of washcloths and towels.But from here on things headed downhill. The lighting in the bathroom was very poor. Husband had to shave and I had to put on makeup using the mirror in the room. The room only had basic cleaning done; the shelves in the bathroom were very dusty as was the night table lamps, there was some noticeable lint on the floor in front of the desk which was still there when we checked out. We found food in the fridge that was left behind from a previous person.On the first morning we were there we didn't receive our wake up call. We were in Kingston on business and had a meeting that morning, luckily we woke up on time to get to it. Will not be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing these comments. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We often receive very positive comments about cleanliness of our property and we are sorry that you found your room to be anything less than spotless. I have passed your comments along to our housekeeping staff so that they may ensure your concerns are addressed. We hope you will reconsider and decide to take advantage of our comfortable, spacious and well-equipped guestrooms again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

excellent hotel, wonderful front desk people, very nice staff and very clean. would always stay in this hotel when i return to Kingston. the only suggestion is that the pool remain opend until 11 instead of 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us whenever you visit Kingston. We look forward to seeing you next time and thank you for sharing these positive comments about our property and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while on business here for a few weeks in July/August (stayed only on weekdays though) and was very pleased with my stay. Everything about this place is modern and up-to-date (it's a new building, so I hear). My room (king size) was extremely clean and comfortable; the desk was just big enough for me to do work and the bathroom was spacious and you get a lot of towels! There was also a mini kitchenette (mini fridge, sink) which was very useful for me. TV channels froze up occasionally which was annoying, and there was not a lot of lighting near the couch. Sleep quality was good - there were the occasional kids who ran loudly down the hall or huge trucks passing by, but that was about it.

The gym is quite small (one treadmill/elliptical/bike, free weight section) but sufficient. You may get unlucky where someone is using the machine you want when you get in, but most of the time I was the only person in it. Towel service was a nice touch. Didn't use the pool. Breakfast area was nice but small (I can foresee it being too crowded on the weekend); wasn't too picky on food options but good enough for free! Front desk staff were always courteous and helpful.

I've found the wifi always stable and the LAN telephone was working good here. I stayed at a different hotel prior to this one and the wifi there was always flaky and the phone connection was awful (very important as a business traveler). Also, the fridge here is cold enough to store food (other place the fridge cost extra and was only cold enough for beverages).

Around the hotel - 24HR Shoppers Drug Mart (very convenient. They have a food section too), lots of fast food places, gas stations and even a No Frills and Canadian Tire. If you want better food options you'll have to drive into town (but only ~10min drive). I also found the hidden gem of the outlet shopping center on the other side of Division St!

Overall a great place to stay - will definitely stay here again for business or vacation.

Room Tip: I heard a lot of trucks go by. If you're picky about noise, ask for a room not facing Benson St
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for this thorough review of our hotel! We are so glad that our hotel provided everything that you, as a business traveller, required for a comfortable and productive stay in Kingston. We’d love to have you back anytime, whether it’s for more business trips or just to relax and enjoy our hotel and city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here with my family (incl. 2 young kids) in August 2012. The place is easy to find (right off Division St., near the 401) and the front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. They gave us complimentary bottles of water and Nutrigrain bars upon check in, which was a nice touch.
The room looked great, the beds were pretty comfortable, and although we didn't need them, it was nice to note that there was a fridge and microwave in the room. The TV was also of the modern variety and I believe it had HD programming.
The bathroom was clean and there were no problems with the plumbing.
The breakfast room wasn't crowded when we went down (0715 or so), but I can see it being too small to accommodate a larger rush of people. The breakfast mini buffet was just OK (realizing that it's included in the room rate and we weren't expecting the world here). It would have been nice to have the omelet ingredients listed somewhere. I wound up having to eat a second after my vegetarian wife discovered there was meat in hers. They have a pancake-making machine that requires only the push of a button. Much cleaner and infinitely more idiot-proof than the waffle irons you see at many hotels at this price point. Anyway, the kids really thought that was cool.
The indoor swimming pool and hot tub area was spotlessly clean and there were plenty of towels.
The only downside was that our car was broken into during the night into in the hotel parking lot. The thieves made off with the kids' seat-back DVD players (and some home-made snacks!). Not much the hotel staff can do about that, though.
This was a great hotel, and we'd stay here again, making sure to bring everything up to the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for the review. We were very sorry to hear about you vehicle. Our parking lot is generally quite safe and we’re sorry this unfortunate incident happened to you. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed the rest of your visit though. Our hotel has lots of great amenities for individuals and families alike, many of them you noted in your review. We are happy to hear that you will be back to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.