We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for low price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel for low price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located just off the 401 so its very easy to get to. It's surrounded by some convenient fast food and outlet stores. A grocery store is across the street as well.

The hotel is clean and new (other than the leftover crackers under the edge of our bed). The rooms are not as big as othr holiday inn express rooms I've been in though.

Breakfast was what you expect for a hot and cold buffet. Eggs were salty, coffee was weak but overall it was okay (and included). The pancake machine wasn't working (much to the dismay of my kids) even though I explained this to them 3 times. For some reason they'd keep doin the same thing to fix it but it never worked. That was IF you could actually find breakfast staff.

Showers are set at about 5'5" so get used to ducking to shower if you are over that. There's also no fan in the bathroom for some odd reason.

The beds are also WAY to soft. It felt like I was sinking all night. The pool was freezing. I mean crazy cold for an indoor pool.

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is okay. Its about a5 minute drive to downtown waterfront restaurants. Its a lot cheaper than downtown hotels. its convenient. I'd possibly stay here again given the cost. I just have had much more friendly staff and better quality at other holiday inn express hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are happy that you liked our location and reasonable rate. I’m sorry that the eggs and coffee at breakfast were not to your liking and that your children were not able to enjoy pancakes on this particular visit. Most of our guests find our rooms to be very spacious however we do offer suites that might be more comfortable for your family if you found the standard rooms too small. All of our washrooms do have very quiet fans that are constantly running in order to keep the air fresh. Our beds are a Holiday Inn Express brand standard so the firmness of the mattress is dictated by the brand and is consistent at all Holiday Inn Express hotels. Our pool is set to 82 degrees Fahrenheit but we do have a hot tub if you still find to pool too cold. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    105
    25
    10
    17
See reviews for
132
82
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great place - clean, good service, convenient. Very quiet - didn't hear any other guests. Love the breakfast when travelling with a family. Access to the pool was a nice bonus. The suite was probably not worth it for family of 4 - opt for a 2 bed room instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks for the review! We are pleased that you and your family were able to have fun in the indoor swimming pool and then escape to the peace and quiet of your room. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here on July 21/12 for business. This hotel is very clean and the room was wonderful. There seemed to be a soccer tournament in town so the hotel was full of players and their families. Never heard a peep from anyone. It was great. Our king bed was comfortable and we will book this hotel again. (have stayed here a few times before, but never wrote a review.) The location is close to the highway and many restaurants are within walking distance.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

How do you think what is most important when you stay in a hotel? In my case, Clean is most important. I am a Japanese. I stayed here with my wife and my kids on July 17. I don't know when this hotel was built. Anyway, this hotel is very clean! The bed was very comfortable and cozy. This hotel has a pool. My kids enjoyed. But the breakfast room and the pool were cold for Japanese. The staff is very kind, If you need to drive for a long time and if you have some kids, I recommend you stay in this hotel. In my case, I had to drive from Toronto to Montreal. It takes more than 6 hours. Therefore I searched some hotel on Expedia and choice this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities as well and our housekeeping staff work diligently to ensure we have a spotless property. Our hotel is a very convenient stopover when travelling along highway 401, but we are also located close to downtown if Kingston is your destination. Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Compared to other hotels at the water's edge, this hotel is reasonable value. A few kms to town, but close to 401. And being part of a chain, you know what to expect.
However, the aircon was a puzzle - never figured out why it wouldn't work on settings other than high, which was a bit noisy for sleeping.
As others have mentioned, plenty of fast food outlets nearby. For a better meal, recommend driving into town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing this review. In the future, please never hesitate to let us know if there is anything you need assistance with and our staff would be glad to help. The comfort of our guests is our priority. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A newer hotel... beds and pillows leave a lot to be desired... Otherwise very good hotel. Nice breakfast and pool. Huge room. overall pretty good

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for this review. I’m sorry that the pillows and bed were not to your liking. Most of our guests find the pillows and bed to be very comfortable but I suppose it is a matter of personal preference. We are pleased however that you enjoyed our complementary breakfast, wonderful pool area, and spacious guestrooms and that you had an overall enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rooms are very clean, have a nice layout. The building is quite new, so, rooms are new and decor is up-to-date. The housekeeping staff always seem to be cleaning and are very busy - but are also inviting and nice. Breakfast is fantastic. Lobby is classy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Our staff do work very hard to keep our hotel looking and feeling clean and comfortable. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Alcan
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
BEST WESTERN Fireside Inn
#2 of 36 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydenham
Residence Inn by Marriott Kingston Water's Edge
Downtown Kingston
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Downtown Kingston
Delta Kingston Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.