We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Pub-Style Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Burbs Pub & Eatery

The Burbs Pub & Eatery
501 Hazeldean Road, Kanata, Ottawa, Ontario K2L1V6, Canada
(613) 435-8833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 137 Restaurants in Kanata
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Above Average Pub-Style Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have dined here several times and found it to be a little above average for the selection and quality of the food. Service is sometimes poor and other times okay. Pretty good selection of beer including some local craft beers.

Be sure to try the BURBS Dirt Pail dessert - but only if you have someone to share it with.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    7
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Service on Wednesday Nights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went solo and sat at the bar. The Burbs was quite busy, as Wednesday is when the have many 2-for-1 "specials" on appetizers. The wings are have price all day Wednesday, and they are delicious. A real deal! They are available in all the usual flavours, mild, medium, hot, suicide, barbecue, and honey garlic. 2 pounds are $10.00 on Wednesday, if you buy a beveridge, which does not have to contain alcohol. All of their appetizers are half price after 8:00 pm on Wednesday nights. The best "pub food" I have ever had, although not the best meal, as compared to ALL restaurants.
They have hired a few new servers, and the service was good, although I did have a bit of a wait for the cheque. The food appeared in about five minutes, after the order was placed. I will be back, for sure! I really like the food and the staff who introduce themselves to patrons, by first name. Attentive and friendly bunch. A different and "better" crowd now frequents this eating place, than under either of the two previous owners. A huge improvement in the neighbourhood!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good beer selection. Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great beers on tap. Terrible slow unattentive service. Wouldnt go back because of it. It's a shame....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a restaurant in Kanata, near Ottawa - went with our family, each ordered a different meal
servings were a good portions, slightly over priced but well prepared and very tasty.
It was a little noisy as some patrons enjoyed their beverages and the restaurant filled up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of beer as a good Pub should have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've been a couple of times to Burbs, but this review is based when we went to the Burbs after work for a beer and some dinner. They have an awesome selection of Canadian Micro beers, from Kreemore, MIllstreet, Beau's, Broadhead among my favorites. Was even able to sample a few unfamiliar brews until I tasted the hoppy Broadhead....yumm. The fish and chips are fantastic... saw the waitress hand a pitcher of beer to the cooks to make beer batter for the Haddock. The fries are absolutely the best chip wagon fries I've had, great alone or with a decent poutine. The burgers were as good as any burger joint in the city, except they didn't have horseradish for my dijon... oh well. The waitresses are eager to make your dinner an experience by being friendly and eager to serve. While they don't have a huge screen to watch sports, they do have a large number of screens so everyone should have a good view. I will go back again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burbs Pub & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to The Burbs Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burbs Pub & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.