We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofa king great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Walrus - CLOSED

Whistling Walrus
Upper James, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sofa king great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great place - wide range on menu - servers were very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fergus
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable place to eat and visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have eaten here a couple of times. The menu has a good selection to choose from and the prices are reasonable. The atmosphere is suitable for couples and families of all ages for dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If I could use more than 5 stars for rating, I would.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My fiance and I were out at the mall & decided to go to the Walrus. Her last visit was 10yrs ago & I've never been there. The service was excellent. The food was well priced. The food was great. There were a few patrons at the bar, talking & joking (I felt at home there). Can't wait to go back again. I will definately recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere and Food...HORRIBLE Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I just returned from the Whistling Walrus with my husband, and felt the need to voice my review online because the manager was not AT ALL concerned with our complaint. We were in for fish and chips (which were great) and my husband ordered a double order but being a Wednesday was recommended the All you can eat fish and chips for the same price :) He was brought out 1 piece of fish, and after finishing we had to wait quite a while before ordering his 2nd piece as part of his deal. 15 minutes after ordering, still no fish, and a hungry husband. Did not want to wait any longer as I had finished my meal. We approached the bartender (later found out she manages the place) and explained that the service was very slow for his 2nd piece of fish and would like our bill. I explained that we should only be charged for his ONE piece of fish. She gave us the bill and still charged us for the full all you can eat meal expressing that his ONE piece of fish was larger than mine and has to be charged full price. After a few minutes of trying to explain that all my husband wanted in the first place was TWO pieces of fish, she was EXTREMELY rude and would not allow anyone other than herself to be right. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGEMENT!!! Anyway, I love Whistling Walrus, but its very unfortunate that one wrong mistake on the part of an employee of this restaurant will cause me and my husband to never return...and never recommend to anyone again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I've had good experiences with the food here, I love the coconut shrimp! But be aware that it is a popular 'singles...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

I've had good experiences with the food here, I love the coconut shrimp! But be aware that it is a popular 'singles' bar, and often for 30/40+, the bar will be packed on popular evenings and you will be pushing past older men on your way to the washroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistling Walrus also viewed

Stoney Creek, Hamilton
 
Waterdown, Hamilton
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Walrus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.