We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Allegra Ristorante

Piazza Allegra Ristorante
180 James St S, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4V1, Canada
(905) 777-8970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 943 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Almost Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visiting friends in Hamilton we went here for a meal. The service was excellent and the food was good too. The antipasto for two (which five of us struggled to finish) was excellent. One of our friends particularly enjoyed his Osso Bucco. I would describe it as Italian style rather than Italian, but enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, very mediocre pasta dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

our appetizer was very good, we had the calamari done in a pesto so we thought we were well on our way to a very good dinner. Our pasta dishes arrive (3 of us this evening) all having different dishes and not one of them was worth trying again. Very bland and almost dry (I had a cream sauce dish) with chicken that tasted dry and over cooked and shrimp which were nice and a nice size. My dinning parteners said the same about their dinners and we all agreed it's not worth the price to go back to for a dissapointing dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

the pasta was excellent, the staff was friendly, the prices may have been a little high for the fare, but it is a safe bet

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek,Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We will Never go back !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

There was only two tables with people in the restaraunt. We waited a long time before anyone came to the table. We finally ordered our food and the waiter came back 10 minutes later telling us that they had no meatballs.An Italian restaraunt at 6:30 ona thurs.nite with no meatballs. We had to ask for bread. We had a table of eight and two of the pasta plates were not cooked. When we got our coffee they had no white sugar. When we were in the hall putting our coats on and chatting my husband went ahead outside to push the button to start our Van. The waiter followed him out and said "Was there something wrong with your food?" Husband replyed No...Why? The waiter said "You didn't leave me a TIP ! My husband said yes I did and its on the table. The waiter said another woman waiter said there was no tip on the table. My husband said well you better go back in and talk to her as I left a tip! That was the last straw, we will never go back to this restaraunt. Not very organized or smart with their actions.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
2 reviews
“delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have eaten here a number of times after hosting a family gathering back in October 2010. The big event was very well coordinated with the chef, who was more than attentive to our needs (we needed to accommodate children and picky adults). On the day of the event, the staff was wonderful, the food was excellent, and we left very happy.
Now it's a place we go to relax, share a wonderful meal, and finish off with a tasty dessert.
Will continue to go back!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Allegra Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Allegra Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Allegra Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.